We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury AND Natural Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
219 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Luxury AND Natural Setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

What a beautiful place! Close enough to Tamarindo to enjoy the restaurants and stores but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. I've put down other hotels in my adoptive country for not being Costa Rican enough, but this place is the real deal! Incredibly lush, tropically-landscaped property where nature was respected, not destroyed. Two semi-tame howler monkeys roam the property, plus raccoons and Guanacaste jays who eat from your hand at breakfast. Right on the beach. Huge zero-entry free-form pool with kiddie pool on one end. Large, comfortable elegant rooms with covered patio/terrace. Great full breakfast with all kinds of homemade breads. The resort is small enough but big enough. Pet-friendly (with some restrictions). The best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    220
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
344
641
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alpharetta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had been to the Osa Penninsula, Monteverde and Arenal and wanted to wind down at the beach before returning home. Did not want a 5 star beach resort that involved getting in elevators to get out on the beach. Cpt Suizo was a great choice. We had bungalow 5 which is closest to the beach with a 180 degree beach view and enjoyed specatular sunsets. Great surfing right next to the property as well. Very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and liked getting the beach towels as well as regular towels

The breakfasts were just O.K compared to some other hotels we had stayed at but the dinners were probably the best of our entire trip. Seafood was so fresh!

We loved the animals on the property, particularly Lola and Linda- the 2 resident capuchin monkeys. We had been under the impression that there was one resident racoon but realized after seeing some babies that there were probably 10 racoons along with a baby porcupine.

I would highly reccommend this property and would love to go back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank eyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for a week at the Captain Suizo and were captivated by the surroundings and well-taken care of by the attentive staff. The hotel combines first-class accommodations with natural surroundings right on a secluded corner of the beach. The owner is on site and hands-on to make sure the visitor experience is outstanding. You will see more native species here up-close than you will at many nature preserves (monkeys, turtles, racoons, iguanas, birds, porcupines). During our visit a Ridley sea turtle laid eggs on the beach right outside the hotel and the staff immediately erected safety enclosure (by the way, they should be hatching in 45-60 days!). The owner and staff are dedicated naturalists who truly care. Breakfast is included in the room rate and sumptuous. We enjoyed all of meals there, which were some of the best in Tamarindo. GO, you won't be disappointed, only enchanted.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I had an amazing honeymoon. This was our final destination on our Costa Rica trip and it was our favorite. Although we had stayed in much nicer rooms prior, we had nothing to complain about. The rooms were beachy and comfortable. We stayed in a bungalow actually and loved it. We never ran the AC and we never saw a spec of sand upon arrival- extremely clean. The highlight besides the bar and serving staff, were the friendly animals. Particularly an orange cat who loved to sit with us on our front porch and the two little howler monkies that live there named Lolita and Linda. They were so playful and it never failed each day for them to crawl up your arm to be held or sit in your lap while you wait in the lobby. It was an amazing experience. Everything from the people, the atmosphere, the beach and the food. We had a great time. IF you go, make sure you get Max to serve you, he's the best! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Any place this close to the beach is going to have a few bugs, and this hotel is also a shelter for animals, so monkeys, dogs, cats, birds and, I imagine, a few reptiles, are all welcome in and around the property, including the dining area. The widow of the founding couple is still running this show and it's a wonderful one at that. The place, overall, is about 3.5-4.5; I'm no good at comparisons regarding accommodations. However, I'm an accomplished gourmand! We tried a couple of other places in Tamarindo, on the recommendation of friends, and wouldn't go back to them, thanks anyway. However, the included buffet at the restaurant here was great, but nothing compared to the restaurant! Everything was done to a 'T' and the service was prompt but never rushed. Even if you're not staying here, try to eat here, especially for dinner. One the day we left we wanted the 'special' from the previous night, not on the menu, and lo and behold, we received it!

Art Lenhardt

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWLSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is the prefect distance out of town to get an isolated feeling, but close enough for a nice walk down the beach to get into the center of things. The bungalo was wonderful, i especially loved the outdoor shower. Watch out for the Magpie's, they will steal your food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Capitan Suizo helped us have the perfect wedding. They thought of many small touches to make everything as nice as it could be. We had the wedding and reception on the beach in front of the hotel which was not only beautiful, but it made it easy for everyone to get ready in their rooms and walk out to the ceremony. The food was consistently delicious and the service was always friendly. They also made the trip easier for our guests by helping arrange transportation. We look forward to going back and enjoying their hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martybecker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing