We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical location for our dream wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical location for our dream wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Capitan Suizo helped us have the perfect wedding. They thought of many small touches to make everything as nice as it could be. We had the wedding and reception on the beach in front of the hotel which was not only beautiful, but it made it easy for everyone to get ready in their rooms and walk out to the ceremony. The food was consistently delicious and the service was always friendly. They also made the trip easier for our guests by helping arrange transportation. We look forward to going back and enjoying their hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martybecker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    219
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
340
632
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Capitan Suizo is a great little hotel in a good location. The staff is warm & welcoming - service was great. This is an echo-friendly hotel which we love - but there was little to no hot water. I admit I am spoiled & miss my warm showers! Other than the lack of a few luxurys we would recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellojelloTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

the location cant get better right on the beach, close to tamarindo but at the same time private, the gardens of the hotel are like a tropical paradise!!! very good service!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralfwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests who were staying at our hotel during the last weeks and who took the time to write their holiday experiences on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your kind words about our beautiful beach location, the relaxing atmosphere, our tropical gardens and comfortable rooms. We are very happy to hear that you liked our service and helpful staff, that you enjoyed our restaurant and of course also that you enjoyed the wildlife in and around our hotel. It would be our pleasure to have you all back as guests of Hotel Capitan Suizo very soon. Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We just had my daughter's wedding here, with 25 guests, and it was fabulous. The hotel is maintained impeccably, decor is simple and elegant, beach is terrific, food excellent, and the service is so warm and friendly that we felt we were guests of a well-staffed personal friend. The baby howlers in the lobby, and the wild howlers in the trees, added an extra touch of nature in the midst of all the creature comforts we could desire.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29556Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear 29556Dian..Thank you for your great review of Hotel Capitan Suizo. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and hotel and are very happy that you enjoyed your daughter's wedding and your vacation with us. Our staff work hard to keep our guests happy and we are pleased when the effort pays off. We are pleased to hear that you liked and appreciated the howler monkeys as much as we do. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a positive review about our hotel, we appreciate the praise and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

The service is better than the Four Seasons, everyone is genuine in resolving your requests. A great place to combine work and relaxation.
The internet area is close to the reception. We found this grand as it allowed us to escape the business of our day-to-day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just got back from Costa Rica and spent the first 4 nights of our trip at Capitan Suizo. We had read a few bad reviews on trip advisor so we were a little hesitant but thankfully booked it anyway. It was one of my favorite places that I've stayed. Very relaxed. Beautiful scenery. Gardens were spectacular. The beach was beautiful. The location, perfect. A 5 to 10 minute walk into town on the beach.. The rooms were very comfortable, plenty of room, updated, air worked great, lovely balcony. Service was great. And of course the resident monkeys, iguanas and racoon were so much fun to watch. Not one complaint. Can't imagine anything to complain about.
Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psmsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 6 nights and we really liked it. We stayed in a room without a/c, and the fans were good and it was cool enough at night. Overall it was nicer than expected--bathrooms were good, rooms were big, pool was great, and service was excellent. Breakfast was great each morning, lots of fruit and different types of bread/pastry. Everyone working there was very nice also. We really don't have anything negative to say about the hotel at all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolawynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing