We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Macondo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas Macondo to your Saves list
Villas Macondo
Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here first for one week, checked out and visited some other areas, and then came back and stayed for another two weeks. It is a perfect low key place to hang out that actually feels authentic while staying in Tamarindo. The hammocks on the individual patios are amazing, and the computers, library, and communal kitchen were very nice. Close to the grocery store and a ten minute walk to the beach... Loved the pool and garden setting. Great all around!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie_lee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    82
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
93
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of their apartments for 4 nights earlier this month. The apartment set-up was perfect - 2 floors, full kitchen and big fridge, futon for sitting downstairs, queen bed upstairs and good-sized bathroom with shower (albeit sans curtain which made a big mess). And in the center of the complex is a fantastic pool!

Now on to the cons - the ants and mosquitoes. The hotel is surrounded by lush landscape so that doesn't come without the price of having bugs. As mentioned in other reviews, this place is right down the street from Voodoo Lounge and depending on the night, the music goes well into morning hours. Also, this hotel is about a block from the beach and the walk is uphill on a dirt road - kinda annoying since pretty much every other street in the area is paved.

I think overall their regular room rate is well priced, however the apartment rate is a bit high. There aren't a ton of hotels in the area, so I definitely consider this one. It's certainly not the best out there, but if you're willing to overlook a few things it can work just for for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmart820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Pros: Has a community kitchen (OK minus the ants) with gas burners, fridge and charcoal bbq; Location is in the center of town, but a bit off the main street which is good; The employees are friendly and helpful; The super market is only a few doors down; Rooms have a small fridge and an Air Conditioning unit (a must have for the hot nights); free internet room and wifi; felt safe as a solo female.

Cons: A lot of Ants and spiders in the room (had the room sprayed); mosquitos kept me from enjoying the hammock at night; Tues night is Voodoo Lounge night (a few doors down) and it sounded like they were in my room - the party lasted from 9pm - 4am - not a night for sleep at all.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Huminbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Tamarindo. The hotel itself consists of small cabinas which are basic but at the same time pleasantly designed: they are airy, colorful and don't have the crazy decorations that are sometimes favourited by the costa rican hotel owners :) Each place has a small veranda with a hammock where you can enjoy the book and talks with the other guests. All rooms are located around the pool which is a great place to spend the afternoons with plenty of sun and shadow depending on your preferences.
The location is also pretty nice, it is about 5 minutes walk to the beach and right next to the super market if you would like to buy your own food. There is a communal kitchen area with coffee and other necessities available. The restaurants and bars are also very close.
All in all a lovely place with a nice atmosphere and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I chose Villas Macondo for 3 nights, reserved it over internet and highly appreciated the cozy atmosphere, the small but well kept swimming pool and the easy going relaxed management. I went alone and met nice people, we ended up sharing often dinners and talks around the pool, it was the first time that I found such an atmosphere during my lonely short trip in CR. I would happily stay longer, but unfortunately my holiday had run out!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omnidrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I were so overly impressed with Villas Macondo and the staff there were extended our stay from the planned 6 days to the full 2 weeks of our vacation. The staff gave us places to drive to for day trips (including tico beaches), helped us with finding local places to eat and numerous other things that were above and beyond. Our room (12) was kept clean every day by the hard working maid and the grounds were meticulous including the pool even with the heavy winds each day. The price can't be beat, we thought we got more than our money's worth!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I recently stayed in the room with a fan for 3 nights and I was happy with my choice. There is a kitchen; internet and a pool for all the guests to use. The hotel is close to the beach, supermarket, ATM and different restaurants. The staff is very helpful and the place is really clean. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petulkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Macondo

Property: Villas Macondo
Address: Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villas Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Macondo Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing