We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luamey
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Colina(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zullymar Hotel(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
221
20
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
20
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningprivate terracesurf classbarefoot restaurantpura vidacosta ricawalking distance to the beachpatio tablehour lessonsurfing conditionssurfing classesunforgettable vacationrooms are beautifulbreakfast choicesbook activitieslovely boutiquehotel is centrally located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 247 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I found Hotel Luamey exploring the area. We stopped in to look around since it wasn't open on our previous trip to Tamarindo. Both Luis and his wife Myriam are excellent hosts. We stopped by for breakfast and lunch both were very incredible. We highly recommend the Caesar salad dressing which will exceeded expectations. If you are looking for a great breakfast or lunch as well as a very nice place to stay we highly recommend Luamey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Luamey, Manager at Hotel Luamey, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Jordanelle13,

Thank You for your comments !! we are humbled since our home made cesar salad dressing continues to amaze !! Thanks for joining us and we hope you visit back Tamarindo soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Home away from home is the best description for this place. The owners Luis and Miriam are the most genuine people ever.The rooms are newly renovated and clean. I highly recommend this place if you want to stay in heart of Tamarindo but hidden in your own little oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Luamey, Manager at Hotel Luamey, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank You for your comments !! we are happy to host and make our guests feel at home in our little paradise !!!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We could not have made a better choice when deciding to stay at Hotel Luamey on our trip to Tamarindo over New Years Eve. Luis and his wife make the place feel like home. The grounds are gorgeous, peaceful, and private while also close to town, providing access to the beach and nightlife without a car. The room felt newly furnished and very comfortable with great A/C. The room also had a porch overlooking the pool where we enjoyed our complimentary breakfast of Tico Rico (eggs and rice and beans) with a cup of coffee and juice; a perfect way to start each day. The staff were very helpful in booking all activities as well as giving recommendations for local restaurants and shops, and I would highly recommend taking surf lessons as well as going out on a catamaran for a sunset cruise. If you're coming to Tamarindo skip over the flashier resort-like hotels and come to this gem.

Enjoy Hotel Luamey!

-Liz and Jason

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Luamey, Manager at Hotel Luamey, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Liz, Jason,

Thanks for your nice comments !! we truly appreciate you staying with us and were delighted to host you !!

Come back soon !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stumbled upon this quaint little place while combing the town for a place to stay after a long drive and really feel lucky that I found it. The owners run the hotel and are on site at all times, they're really working hard to make this a great place - it's only been open a few months.

Clean, cozy, very friendly, and the price was right (during high season and holiday). Nice pool, free surfboards, and only a block walk to the ocean - but feels like you're a mile away in the jungle. Did I mention the family of howler monkeys that visits every morning?

Free breakfast from the menu (not a continental). You can't go wrong here. I don't think there's another place like it in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanRuedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Luamey, Manager at Hotel Luamey, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Juan Ruedas (wheels)

Thank you for your nine comments !!

We hope your last leg of the journey ended up as good as the rest !!

Now you know the entire coast and know where to stay !

but now we are only a flight away !!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great spot!! Located right behind Hotel Diria! Safe and secluded. Luis and his wife are unbelievable! You may also get a surf lesson on top of all of the hospitality! Don't hesitate to book this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GArcement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Luamey, Manager at Hotel Luamey, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

G Arcement,

Thanks for your comments !! we will wait for your next visit !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews