We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay near the coast”
Review of Hacienda JJ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda JJ
Ranked #4 of 47 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay near the coast”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at JJ. The grounds and pool are fantastic as are the rooms. It's close to the beaches but far enough away to escape the touristy tamarindo. I highly recommend this place if you are thinking on coming to the coast.
We will be back in three months
Ryan

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RyanMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    25
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
94
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We enjoyed HJJ so much - our first visit to CR. It was quiet and comfortable, a nice pool and friendly guests. Julie, our hostess, was most considerate and kind - and extremely helpful in advance of our visit but also in searching for the next place as we moved on. Strongly suggest GPS for a visitor. An interesting, secure place, no insects!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful experience! I love this place because it is its own hidden paradise and has everything you might need to enjoy a relaxing and luxurious vacation. At hacienda jj, it is always a welcoming and exciting atmosphere, the property is beautiful and the Javelle family who owns it are such awesome people! It's only a short drive to Flamingo, Playa Grande and Tamarindo and all the great surf spots and beautiful beaches in between. This is a place my family will come back to time and time again! We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haderer_everafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hacienda JJ B&B has always been my #1 choice when I travel with family or friends to this fantastic area of Costa Rica. The owners have devoted lots of attention to detail and the overall experience couldn't be any better. Just minutes away from Playa Tamarindo where surf, great food, phenomenal views and nice people are the norm, Hacienda JJ B&B offers the best of the best in one single location.

This B&B is safe, clean, extremely comfortable and relaxing. All attributes which have drawn my attention since my first stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federicor410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everytime i stay at Hacienda JJ, i had a great time!
This amazing (private) place owned by beautiful people was the perfect place to relax after long surf and beach days. Just few minutes by car you are in Tamarindo to get everything what you need at the store or just to party.
It is also close to other beautiful beaches like Avellanas, Negra, Flamingo, Conchal.
The best part was the tranquility at Hacienda JJ. The big pool and the outside deck was perfect to enjoy great barbeques. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful place close to costaricians party town Tamarindo and to some of the best Waves of the World!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MichaBB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

3 Amazing days in an exceptional place. I felt welcomed right away with great service for a reasonable price. The place is private and perfect to come for a business trip or with families and friends. I didn't want to leave the pool, what an amazing pool and time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for a couple nights and loved it! It was super clean and people were so nice and polite. Its located near many beautiful beaches to which you can drive in 15 minutes and 5 minutes away from beautiful beach town of Tamarindo. Beautiful and relaxing pool as well. 100% recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
4.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,479 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
5.6 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda JJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda JJ

Property: Hacienda JJ
Address: La Josefina, 7 min from Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda JJ 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda JJ is a private room vacation rental that offers great comfort in a hacienda style of villa, located between two masterpiece golf courses and the most beautiful beaches of Guanacaste, with world class surfing breaks. ​Feel at home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda JJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing