We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint but fun”

Green Papaya Taco Bar
Ranked #15 of 187 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Green Papaya Taco Bar & More We bring our uniqe style to Tamarindo with Good food & Great Music to create the perfect atmosphere for a good dinning experience.Our goal stands on low budget , clean , fresh healthy and tasty food with casual comfortable vibe You can eat inside with AC relief or outside with our Costa Rican nature. We open LUNCH & DINNER , or you can visit us Just for a great fresh COFFEE break.OPEN Tuesday - Sunday 11am -10pm See you soon :)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“quaint but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

A nice little restaurant with good food, and service. Unusual features - like the long table with swings for seats.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    261
    71
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Green Papaya has great food, a great atmosphere (the hanging chairs were so fun), and a great staff to go along. Too bad we didn't find it until the day before returning home! We definitely will be in for seconds if we are ever are back in Costa Rica (hopefully). I highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwright97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Holy cow this place is great. The swings are fun to sit on, the tacos, burrittos and chips are fantastic, the magaritas are cold and it's very reasonable for the quality of food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenadove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super yummy tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved this place! We went there twice. The food was great, not the cheapest, but you certainly get a lot of fresh and tasty food for your money. The place is so cute, with great seating, including swings! Don't forget to try some of their drinks from the bar, especially the lemonade ginger drink.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LalaSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Okay but not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stopped by in attempts to find the best fish tacos in Tamarindo. Unfortunately we didn't find them, and we paid more than we thought was reasonable. The atmosphere and setting is really cool but the food was a let down. Additionally they do not accept any card payments.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya Taco Bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Green Papaya Taco Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing