We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tight”

Green Papaya Taco Bar
Ranked #16 of 189 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Green Papaya Taco Bar & More We bring our uniqe style to Tamarindo with Good food & Great Music to create the perfect atmosphere for a good dinning experience.Our goal stands on low budget , clean , fresh healthy and tasty food with casual comfortable vibe You can eat inside with AC relief or outside with our Costa Rican nature. We open LUNCH & DINNER , or you can visit us Just for a great fresh COFFEE break.OPEN Tuesday - Sunday 11am -10pm See you soon :)
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tight”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Owned by a trio of surfers, this taqueria is one of the best restaurants in the area. Love the chilli sauce and whole wheat tortilla chips. Fish is freshy fresh and the coco loco dessert is slamming! Ate here 3 times during our week stay in Tamarindo. Less touristy than the usual beach joints on the playa strip.

Helpful?
Thank Vivthebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    262
    71
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
1 review
“So delicious! Don't miss it!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Green Papaya has delicious food- breakfast, lunch & dinner! Their breakfast burrito is so great, my boyfriend and I refused to eat breakfast anywhere else for the whole week that we were in Tamarindo! They make their own tortillas and tortilla chips--- best I've ever had, and I've been to a lot of Mexican restaurants being a New Yorker! Their hot sauce is amazing-- we wanted to take some home with us! Not to mention, the owners are super nice and friendly. Don't miss this place while you're in Costa Rica!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for a Post-Surf Lunch or Dinner!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We dined here as a group twice because it was just so good! First visit we ate tacos (shrimp,beef,mahi-mahi) and burritos and their lovely margaritas for lunch. I have dairy allergies and the owner/server kindly accommodated my request that the aioli not be added to my tacos. They make a special firey hot sauce in house that will set your taste buds a flame - we couldn't stop adding it to our tacos. Tacos come in two per serving and can satisfy one person as a meal. The second visit we tried the chili con carne, which is a spicy spicy dish not for the faint of heart served with white rice. Definitely a must try in Tamarindo - its located off the main strip close to the Hotel Pasatiempo. Free Wifi as well, which doesn't hurt if you want to check in w/ family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaz334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favourite in town”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are a family of four with kids aged 15 and 9. We ate here three times during our stay in Tamarindo. It's a great place to go as a family but lots of other patrons were without kids, so don't feel as though it is a kids place.

Everything we had was excellent, including lattes, tacos, burritos, Mac 'n Cheese (from the kids menu) and desserts. My wife especially appreciated that it was very clean. It has a great atmosphere with funky music, the outdoor seating area offers swings as a seating option, and really cool tables and stools or benches made from local wood.

We even were able to get pancakes for the kids early afternoon one day. They both gave them an enthusiastic thumbs up.

The staff and service were great each time we were there. Had we stayed longer in Tamarindo I'm sure we'd have gone back for a fourth time, and we tend to like to try new spots, so that's saying something.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great quality, clean, healthy, and tasty food in Tamarindo”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went here during our stay in Tamarindo New Years 2014. The coffee drinks were probably the best in Tamarindo and a good value with Cappuccinos for $2, an Afogato for $2.60! The fish tacos were quite good, we ordered ours with the aioli on the side. Salads large and good, ask for extra dressing though. Burritos and drinks are not as good of a value in our opinion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya Taco Bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Green Papaya Taco Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing