We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tamarindo
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely the BEST in Tamarindo!

This was my 3rd time on Antares and I have loved it each and every time. I highly recommend it for... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Carolyn1987
,
Edmonton, Canada
via mobile
Great day sailing!

Amazing day sailing, great food, open bar and awesome sunset sail back into Tamarindo Bay. Candy... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jimmyzel
,
Bend
Read all 646 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tamarindo
from $90.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $97.44
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
584
39
8
1
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
584
39
8
1
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bean bags gourmet food guitar player sunset cruise noodles costa rica set sail amazing afternoon beautiful sunset crew members snorkeling spot small boat boat ride fish the entire trip paddle boarding making sure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

2nd time we've done this in 3 years. We were very hesitant to do it again because it was so perfect the first time. But we were not disappointed.
Less crowded than the larger tours (about 25 people) which spread on the ship was sparse.
The crew was very attentive with constant serving of beverages (yummy Pina coladas) and food was most amazing. 5 courses of fresh and tasty food. They meet your needs if you have allergies or preferences.

Live music for much of the cruise.

Snorkeling half way through near a nice private spot. Lots of fish and got to see some stingrays too.

Bonus feature... Whales and dolphins as we sailed out.

10/10 again. Competitively priced.
Highly recommend

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank homermedic2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The boat tour starts when you board the sailboat and are greeted with a glass of rum punch. The sailboat is lined with comfy bean bags for us to lounge on. The tour was about 15 people so there was plenty of extra space. Some spots were shady others in the sun so everyone was comfortable. We had a musician from Honduras play awesome music as we sailed along the coast. Our drinks were never empty (they brought us a variety of drinks from pina colodas to beers to vodka sodas, whatever we requested). The first three courses came on our way to the snorkeling spot. All healthy and gourmet. They had lots of noodles and snorkel gear for swimming and we could jump off the roof of the boat into the water. On the way back we had delicious shrimp curry dish, I almost licked my plate. We got back to Tamarindo’s beach in time for sunset which was so breathtaking.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank kirstenb430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

The boat itself is not in pristine condition but the staff work their butts off and it's a great trip. There were only 13 people the day we went and it's a really big, classic boat so there was tons of room to spread out and chill. The staff serve food and drink constantly. There's nothing better than being out on the water in the sunshine with cold drinks. I agree with one of the other reviewers that it may not actually be "sailing." We were under motor power on the way out and under partial sail with motor on the way back. It didn't detract from the enjoyment of the trip, but if you actually want to be sailing you should check first to see if that will be the case (we were told it has to do with the winds on that particular day.)

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candy Q, Propietario at Antares Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Hi, thank you so much for your review.
We need wind to sail, however, too much wind....or very gusty weather, is also hard for us.
Your safety is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

We were on this boat with about 70-80 other people and we were a little worried how tight it would be but everything was AMAZING and the boat was super comfortable with a bean bag for everyone! It is a family run boat the staff was so friendly and accommodating. They were walking around serving DELICIOUS food made right on the boat it was extremely fresh and they were walking around serving drinks the entire time. Nobody got sick at all the boat is very smooth and the scenery is amazing. I would definitely recommend this boat over and over again!

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank michaelashane4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candy L, Owner at Antares Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you so much....happy new year!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019 via mobile

At one time in her past, the Antares 47 may have been a stunning beauty of a sailing yacht, but that time has past. And while the owner, captain and crew provide a splendid experience, the old girl has seen better days. Maybe I'm too picky, but it was billed as a sailing adventure. And as a career mariner, I don't think the state of the rigging would stand the test of even a light breeze. So, that being said, if your goal is to sail before the wind, then look elsewhere. But if simp!y getting out on the water with great food and superior service on Jack Sparrow's boat is your aim..... "welcome aboard matey".

2  Thank Eddy333MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews