We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Day of the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Action Tours

Action Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
ATV Tour at Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer the ultimate off-road all terrain vehicle tour that will allow you to experience Costa Rica's Gold Coast. You will ride your ATV for 2.5 hours through a series of trails, mountains, rivers and beaches with awesome views of the North Pacific, enjoy natural beauty and see local wildlife like monkeys, pizotes, armadillos, iguanas and birds.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Day of the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We started the day out by taking the ocean kayaks out to Captain Island. It took about 30 min to get out to the island. Once we were there Brian guided us as we walked around and pointed out crabs, fish, star fish, and all sorta of animals in the tidal pools. We then went snorkeling and saw a large variety of fish. The snorkeling was a lot of fun and they have nice, brand new equipment. Paddling in was an adventure, it took about 15-20 more going in because of the wind. We knew ahead of time but went ahead with the tour. We had lunch at our condo then did the 3 hour ATV tour. It was worth every penny! We had a blast and Brian was a great guide and was a true professional. The terrain was varried from steep inclines, smooth paths, paved roads, and everything in between. We took a break at a beach and were able to rest up and play in the waves. Let Brian know you want to take pictures and he does a great job of taking them. Kasey and Brian are awesome, highly highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Jdanielsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    20
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Playa Negra Vacation Rentals set up this great tour for us. Our family of five, ages 13-44, had a great time doing the extended ATV tour. Great touring of countryside, beaches (stopped for drinks and ceviche!), wildlife and finished up with a spectacular view of the entire coastline. Bryan was a great guide and took some memorable photos. Highly reccommend it makes your bucket list before you leave CR!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ATV Tour in Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our Family of 4 took a 3 hour ATV tour on December 21st. Kasey (the Owner) greeted us warmly and taught us all how to operate the ATVs. We all had Hondas and they were in wonderful condition almost new! We rode on trails, roads, and beaches. Brian our guide was wonderful and stopped along the route to show us wildlife (Turtles and Howler Monkeys), and take pictures of us. The scenery was breathtaking and we highly recommend taking this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour - Definitely a MUST DO in Tamarindo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I took the 3 hour tour plus snorkeling and we had a blast! We got to see small, local towns and private beaches. Our tour guide was wonderful at pointing out things along the way and taking pictures for us! The owner was so helpful and knowledgeable about the town and offered a lot of recommendations of things to do and places to see. And to top it off - he was the best priced! We highly recommend checking these guys out - you won't regret it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaNative88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I did the 2hr mountain tour and halfway thru it started POURING rain...which only made things even better. Huge creek/mud crossings where the water was over the ATVs' tires. They were fast, nice tour guide that took pictures for us, saw a beautiful sunset view above Tamarindo. Saw local towns and friendly people along the way. The owner was great to deal with, and the place was walkable to from anywhere in the Tamarindo town. This was definitely one of the highlights of my trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasey C, Owner at Action Tours, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the review hope to see you down here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Action Tours also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Action Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing