We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheap owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zullymar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zullymar Hotel
Save
You added Zullymar Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were a little surprised by the cheap mentality of the owner. After 3 days of cold showering we (again) complained about it and the son of the owner told us that they had shut down the warm water because they had a large group of clients and this way they could avoid high electricity bills!! After arguining about this behavior he turned on the heat again...also the internet connection seemed on a budget, it was more offline than online while in the other wifi spots everything worked fine. The pool is nice but generating a lot of noise from other guests and that at 10pm. Security is good, friendly staff. No hablan ingles, si tiene que hablar espanol. Close to the beach and restaurants. Noisy during the nights because of the bars. Very old mattresses on the beds, not nice for a three weeks stay. It was ok but no 'wow' effect....

Room Tip: Speak spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here because for two people it was only $70 each for 2 nights. The hotel itself was not so bad from the outside. The pool area is pretty nice. And the rooms look like they would be as well. The people here speak absolutely no English so if you can't understand Spanish its very difficult. Our room was on the top floor. The door was extremely hard to open. The bathroom was gross. Every noise outside seemed to magnify inside the room. The balcony was the only nice part. The wifi worked alright. But only on the balcony. Not in the room. the slider door had the lock removed, so at night it was not comforting with a somewhat interesting night life outside. The fridge was not working. The shower barely squirted out water. The cold faucet worked on the sink but not the hot. I chose to sleep in my sleeping bag instead of under the covers. Overall I would rather find a nicer place that I felt comfortable staying in rather than being nervous to go to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blswirsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamarindo hotels

Cypress, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have stayed at Zullymar 3 times in the past 3 years. Each time my stay was at least a week. The location is right in the center of everything and only a 2 minute walk to the beach. It's not right on the beach, but might as well be, just cross the two lane road and before you know it you'll be walking on sand.

There are a number of options for rooms. So use your best judgement with the descriptions they give of these rooms and the price. If you pay for the cheapest, don't go in thinking you're getting some 4 star resort. The rooms are very simple, they include the bare essentials and it's all you really need. Beds, night stand, fan, lights, fridge, tv, shelves/closet, and a basic bathroom. The fridge is great to have, we just go to the local grocery store to purchase beverages, snacks, and sandwich supplies. All great for taking to the beach. I believe all of the rooms have a patio with patio chairs and a table. I always request a poolside room. The pool is awesome, with lounge chairs, outdoor shower and an area for bbqing (complete with bbq). I also love the layout of Zullymar, there is room for parking. A security guard is there in the PM through the early morning manning the entrance/exit. I really like this aspect because I feel safe coming and going and have had first hand experience about security not letting random people onto the premise.

Never had i had problems with staff, as a matter of fact I think they are great! Some of the front desk staff may not speak the best English, but you are in Costa Rica so learn some basic Spanish before you arrive! Gaby the owner and her husband are wonderful, her email correspondence is fantastic. Contact her with any questions prior to booking and/or arriving at Zullymar.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zora410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I've stayed at Zullymar 3 times in the last 2 yrs and really enjoyed it. The rooms are super clean and the price is pretty average for what you get, especially with the 10% cash discount. The staff there are super nice and helpful. In the evening, they close the gates to the property and have security, so you always felt safe. The location is awesome. Right across the street from Tamarindo beach, store, tour bookings & restaurants. The only thing that some people may not like, is that because it's so central, it can be a little loud at night with music. Out of the 6 nights that we stayed last time, there was one night "Latin Night!" across the street that was pretty loud, but after that, it was quiet. The pool is gorgeous and inviting. I would definitely recommend this hotel ... maybe just bring some ear plugs if you are worried about noise!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truetoyourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights (we planed on less but we loved the place), we took the cheaper rooms that don't have a tv or safe and no private balcony since we didn't need al that, the room was right by the pool (which is clean, big and the reason we stayed) and was 46$ instead of 53 (we paid in cash so we got a 10% discount). What they didn't tell us and we found out only in the evening is that the cheap rooms don't have hot water! Even though that's not what they say in they're site. The guy at reception (who also lives there) offered to give us our money back but we didn't want to look fir another place so late so we just asked to shower in a different room and he actually offered to give us that room for the cheaper price (bigger room with a safe and balcony and hot water) but it was on the second floor so we prefered to stay in our room and shower in the other and he agreed, we did that fir the rest of the stay, it was like having two room and I don't know any hotel that would agree to that, That was really nice of them!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Zullymar for two nights. The location of the hotel is great: Just 100m to the beach...shops, bars, restaurants and travel-agencies within walking distance. At night there is quite a bit of noise from traffic and discos. But I brought good earplugs, so I was fine. The hotel exterior and the pool area are in excellent shape. I had a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony facing the pool. It was spaceous but had a youth-hostel feel to it. The furniture (or lack thereof) was very basic. The sheets and towels were worn and torn. The fridge was old, rusty and noisy. Bathroom was cleaned but the plumbing seemed somewhat improvised. WiFi was only available outside on the balcony or by the pool, not in the room. TV and A/C workrd fine. But still...for a nightly rate of 60$ I would have expected more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I travelled to Tamarindo with a friend in February 2011 and stayed here for 6 nights. We booked online, simply by email and they answered within a few hours and didn't even ask for our credit card number, which we thought was great.

We checked-in around 6pm and it was quick and efficient. There isn't always someone at the front desk so when you require something, it can be a little hard to get (also no phone in the rooms). We never asked the front desk for anything other than a few fresh towels and to add more days to our initial booking. Every day tours we took was booked by an Agency down the street. In Tamarindo, everything is very accessible and tourist-friendly and so the lack of support from the hotel didn't bother us at all.

The hotel is very secured. There is a security guard there at all time, a guard-dog and a gate that is shut every night after dark. After stumbling back homwe from bars, the guard was always there to open the gate and let us in ourselves. When we tried to bring back home some friends from other hotels, they wouldn't allow it... so I was under the impression that they are VERY strict with the security. There's a BUDGET car renting office attached to the hotel so during the day, you will see people go in and out of the office but we never had any issues with this and were in the room directly beside the budget office.

Our room had a patio door facing the pool with two chairs and a table (needed to pay a little extra for this), a double bed and two single bed. A full-sized fridge, a tv with cable, AC and a full bathroom with shower. There was also a safe in the room, but never asked for the combination - didn't use it. There isn't any phone or hairdryer to be used though We did find it a little annoying that they would only give us ONE key (although we were two in the room) and that both doors would only open from inside AND out with the key... so if my friend left and locked the door, I was stuck inside, unable to go out! Kinda...ridiculous...and dangerous!

The pool is kept very clean and it's nice surrounding. Wireless internet access is free but only available near the pool. We (room 106) had access from our patio... but not from inside the room. Ask for a room facing the pool if you want to have access from your balcony. The beach is directly accross the street and the hotel is located at the "main" intersection in Tamarindo. The maid knocked on our door for room service every day - we asked her to clean every second-day and she always did a great job.

Noise can be a little bit of a problem here... we could hear the music from the clubs almost every night (except when we were out at the clubs ourselves!) but this is to be expected in a party-town like Tamarindo. It was more of a buzzing sound than real hard music that would keep you awake for hours.

I heard and read in many books that this hotel used to be a budget hotel but has been upping their prices in the past fiew years. We paid 60$/night for two people - met three guys in the room next to us (exact same room) that were paying 85$/night... so I guess they charge differently depending on how many people is staying in the room.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel is you don't expect any "extra special treatments" that some hotel give. It is basic, yet has all the basic amendities you will require and the location is excellent and very secured.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anikabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zullymar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zullymar Hotel

Property: Zullymar Hotel
Address: Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Zullymar Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing