We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“El Mono Loco for the win!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mono Loco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Mono Loco
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“El Mono Loco for the win!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a fantastic vacation at El Mono Loco in Costa Rica! The rooms were clean, the people running the hotel were friendly, and the food was delicious! There are comfortable hammocks and rocking chairs to lounge in if you just want to hang out by the pool or the beach is just across the street. The town is easily accessible by foot and offers plenty of activities for all. Definitely worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms...can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We likewise enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely review. Your group was a lot of fun for us. You definitely mention all the qualities that make our hotel so special. Please visit us again soon. Remember we welcome groups and families and will do our best to make your stay memorable. Check out our Facebook page to see some great pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This husband and wife duo were amazing! We were expecting to arrive at the hotel around 4:00pm, however, with flight delays we did not end up arriving until 10pm. They were more than understanding and were there to meet our needs even at that late hour. The first room we arrived at had a lot of ants. We brought this to the attention of the staff and they were more than happy to move us to another room. After the first night we explored Tamarindo. This hotel was out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, but close enough to the various restaurants and beaches. The staff was always available to offer suggestions of the "must sees" and best restaurants. The pool area at the hotel was small, but is definitely an experience in its self. Both days of our stay were accompanied by several monkeys on the surrounding trees! Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this location. I would stay at this hotel again, due to its perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23O_H_I_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

With it's proximity to beach and downtown, without being overrun with traffic, This hotel is perfect. Quiet, private and comfortable. The owners were super helpful. Nothing extravagant, but I don't particularly care for, nor need extravagant. For the price it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vidaverdecompleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

we had only planned two nights (jan 6-12) but ended up staying 6 nights. the hotel is charming, great location, a terrific family runs the hotel and we had a yummy breakfast everyday which was not included, but our rate was so reasonable. there are fancier places to stay but we felt so comfortable and the beach is so close and we were 5 min from the center. Just a note the road to the center was very dusty but, that does not reflect my opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandrtravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spend 6 night at El Mono Loco and we cannot wait to be back.
The hotel is beautiful and the room are always clean.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful , and the kitchen offer good food for breakfast lunch and dinner.
The price are very honest , it is a very good option in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancypric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybenton@gmail.com
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Less expensive than most places in Tamarindo. It was quiet and clean. A bit of a walk to town, probably 5 minutes. Nice pool, and a few birds in cages that make beautiful sounds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garybenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel has a great location. You are only feet away from the beach, yet walking distance from town. I went for a jog on the beach in the morning, walked to all of the shops in the afternoon, ate lunch, and then spent time down at the beach. We come back to the hotel in the evenings and enjoied the veranda with family. We played cards, mingled with each other, and even just took naps on the hammocks. The staff was so accomidating and friendly. By the time we left, they felt like part of the family. The room we had was spacious and clean. We even enjoied the pool on-site. I think that if anyone is looking for an affordable place to stay that is trustworthy, and clean, you should go to El Mono Loco. I don't think you will be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Room 12 was great (only 12 rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friend081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Loco

Property: El Mono Loco
Address: Calle Cardinal | 450m South of Pacific Park, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 12 room hotel located across the street from the beach and a short walk from town. Our basic, clean rooms can accommodate solo travelers, couples, families, and small groups. All rooms have private bathrooms with hot water, quiet A/C, ceiling fan. Community area offers a TV, free wi-fi, shared refrigerator, hammocks, and rocking chairs. We have a refreshing plunge pool and outdoor shower. Our on-site cafe offers breakfast daily for purchase. Free secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your El Mono Loco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mono Loco Hotel Tamarindo
El Mono Loco Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing