We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay at Casa Cook!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Casa Cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed June 9-14, 2014, in beachfront cabana. Great location!

Beachfront access to good surfing. Short beach walk to town; lots of great options for eating and shopping in Tamarindo. Casa Cook staff were very hospitable and responsive to our needs and questions about the area. Very quiet and private location and felt very safe staying here and traveling throughout the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianScuba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
60
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I just returned home from our 4th visit at the Casa Cook. Throughout our marriage, we have stayed at many beach vacation spots in the Pacific & the Caribbean but none can match the serenity and beauty of Casa Cook. Coming back is like seeing members of our family again. Ruth Ann, Marie, members of the staff and of course "Buddy" are so accommodating and such a pleasure to be around. Pardon the expression but we simply "chill out" while there. For us, it's a getaway from the real world. Whether we swim in the ocean, read our books, taking walks on the beach up to Tamarindo for eating lunches and visiting old acquaintances again, resting in the beach lounges and looking for Howler monkeys in the trees above, and taking in the most beautiful sunsets, life simply doesn't get any better. To paraphrase what Arnold Schwarzenegger famously said, "We'll Be Back" Pura Vida

Room Tip: To avoid the crowds of Tamarindo, trying booking a week later than Easter and ask for one of the 2 C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I chose Casa Cook for my pregnant wife and 21 month old son. It was wonderful. The grounds were immaculate kept and the staff was fantastic. If you are looking for a quiet retreat on a beautiful and sandy beach this is it. This is the place if you are trying to get away from emails, cell phones, and the hubbub of modern life.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place to get away, right on a gorgeous beach, this is the place to go. We stayed in one of the ocean-front cabinas, and it was perfect. Clean, well-equipped and maintained. The owner and staff were very helpful, and looked after our every need.

The location is a short walk down the beach to the center of Tamarindo where you can find dozens of bars, restaurants, surf shops, and retail stores. We had a driver pick us up in San Jose, and another take us to the Liberia airport when we left. The rest of the time we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiowa, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a wonderful location! Right on the beach. The manager and staff were so very helpful and friendly. The beachfront cabana is so perfect. Right on the beach and not in town but close enough to walk. Very secluded feel and not to big to have lots of people in your space. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place is a true gem. This was our third stay at Casa Cook and we already booked a 4th. Many are return vacationers like us that know, this is the best you can get! Located on an amazing quiet beach only a few minutes walk to Tamarindo, this spot is unbelievable. The owner, manager, and staff are dedicated to the guests 24 hours a day. The ground are kept immaculate and the pool is refreshing and quiet. Boogie boards and beach towels are provided as needed. I recommend the Cabinas on the beach.

Room Tip: They do not have a restaurant because it is a small resort (4rooms) but there are many great options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

What a find. Almost dont want to tell anyone else! The absolute perfect location. Fabulous staff. Marie was great. Good tips where to shop.
My husband and I and our 14 year old daughter stayed 5 nights and it was so hard to leave. The beach at our doorstep was so quiet and uncrowded. And just a short barefoot walk in the sand we are in the busy little surf village with food and shopping.
Get the bulk of your groceries at the big SuperMercado at the beginning of town. The only one that has a full choice of meat. The nearby groceries are good for when you run out of drink mix!
We will be going back and staying longer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ciaobaby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 23 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cook

Property: Casa Cook
Address: | 100 metros sur del Capitan Suizo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Casa Cook Tamarindo
Casa Cook Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing