We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Slice of Heaven”
Review of Casa Cook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place to get away, right on a gorgeous beach, this is the place to go. We stayed in one of the ocean-front cabinas, and it was perfect. Clean, well-equipped and maintained. The owner and staff were very helpful, and looked after our every need.

The location is a short walk down the beach to the center of Tamarindo where you can find dozens of bars, restaurants, surf shops, and retail stores. We had a driver pick us up in San Jose, and another take us to the Liberia airport when we left. The rest of the time we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiowa, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a wonderful location! Right on the beach. The manager and staff were so very helpful and friendly. The beachfront cabana is so perfect. Right on the beach and not in town but close enough to walk. Very secluded feel and not to big to have lots of people in your space. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place is a true gem. This was our third stay at Casa Cook and we already booked a 4th. Many are return vacationers like us that know, this is the best you can get! Located on an amazing quiet beach only a few minutes walk to Tamarindo, this spot is unbelievable. The owner, manager, and staff are dedicated to the guests 24 hours a day. The ground are kept immaculate and the pool is refreshing and quiet. Boogie boards and beach towels are provided as needed. I recommend the Cabinas on the beach.

Room Tip: They do not have a restaurant because it is a small resort (4rooms) but there are many great options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

What a find. Almost dont want to tell anyone else! The absolute perfect location. Fabulous staff. Marie was great. Good tips where to shop.
My husband and I and our 14 year old daughter stayed 5 nights and it was so hard to leave. The beach at our doorstep was so quiet and uncrowded. And just a short barefoot walk in the sand we are in the busy little surf village with food and shopping.
Get the bulk of your groceries at the big SuperMercado at the beginning of town. The only one that has a full choice of meat. The nearby groceries are good for when you run out of drink mix!
We will be going back and staying longer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ciaobaby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending a great week at Casa Cook. We had a beachfront cabina steps from the ocean. It was comfortable, clean and even came with our own "vacation cat" (Buddy). You can walk the beach down to Tamarindo proper in about 10-minutes.The property is well maintained and the staff is friendly and eager to please. Marie offered suggestions for great restaurants and helped us arrange two great tours. There are fewer things more soothing to the soul then hearing the sound of ocean waves on the beach lulling you to sleep at night.

We have been to Costa Rica many times (and, yes we're planning on relocating there ASAP) and this was one of the nicest, most relaxing, and overall pleasant seven days we have had the pleasure to spend. "Pura Vida" means "pure life" and in Costa Rica that means a state of mind as well as body. Casa Cook is certainly the place to experience that.

Many thanks Marie and Ruth Ann!!!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get one of the two cabinas on the ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After over-researching our December vacation, we chose the Casa Cook in Tamarindo. All the hard work paid off. We found a perfect beach holiday.

Casa Cook is a unique four-unit hotel operation unlike anything we've seen before. There are two “cabinas” on the beach side of the property that are literally ON THE BEACH facing the ocean, among a garden of palm trees and hammocks swinging in the breezes. The cabinas are protected by an iron fence and gate. Behind the cabinas is the pool and the main house. Casa Cook offers a larger “casia” on the ground floor of the main house by the pool. There’s also a smaller apartment on the property. Our cabina was like a suite - a double bed, a full kitchen except no oven, a dining area and a spacious bath. Fresh coffee and a coffee maker are provided. Spaces are separated by a stone room divider. There’s an air conditioner that works just fine and ceiling fans everywhere. A flat-screen TV on the wall swivels between the sitting area and bedroom, with cable channels mostly in Spanish. From the US, we found CBS, ABC, ESPN2 and CNN. Internet works OK throughout, except spotty inside the cabina. So go use it by the pool. The staff looks out for your comfort and there’s 24 hour security. They will take care of every need. Everyone was so mindful of us, and we especially give our thanks to Ruthann our host, Marie, Ignacio, Antonio, Jose the Night Guy and our housekeepers. We felt like family there.

The pool was perfect, too – just the right size for the property. All the guests we met during our 12-day stay were friendly and respectful There’s no sense worrying for whatever picayune shortcomings you imagine about, because it’s ON THE BEACH and it doesn't really matter. .

Besides the pool and the beach, there’s plenty of activities Marie can organize for you. We were content just to chill and enjoy around the cabina, the pool and beach most of the time.

The location of Casa Cook is perfect, too. In-town restaurants and shops begin about a kilometer walk north along the beach, with a few restaurants actually on the way. Some restaurants offer delivery service and their menus can be found in the “ranchito” by the pool. There are two supermarkets within walking distance along the road. If you walk to town, you can always find a taxi to bring you home for $4. US dollars can be used everywhere in Tamarindo, or use the Costa Rica colones if you choose. Restaurants and grocery stores present their bills both ways. If you use dollars, your change will be in colones. US coins are not used. Not many places accept credit cards.

In all, we can’t imagine anyone not loving the Casa Cook and wanting to return again and again as often as possible.

Room Tip: Book early. Many return year after year and reserve well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank French75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Renee and I fell up into this place and stayed 5 nights in a nice Cabana (that really doesn't do it justice) by the sea, We were south of town here and equal distant between two beach restaurants, and on the ocean. Antonio takes care of your every need, and found us 7 small lobster tails, cleaned them and we ate them our last day for lunch, next day had lobster eggs, and still have 2 of these small tails in our Hilton Resort place conference is held. Don't go to the alleged "all inclusive" Hilton, a real step down from this glorious property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyerowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cook

Property: Casa Cook
Address: | 100 metros Norte del Hotel Capitan Suizo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Casa Cook enjoy lounging on the white sand beach, swimming in the warm ocean water, observing the howler monkeys or feeding friendly iguanas. Swim in the sparkling pool and BBQ some fresh fish. Casa Cook is a small personal beach front hotel. Guests are very special to us at Casa Cook and we will make every effort to ensure that your stay is a truly special one. Our staff is available 24 hours a day to ensure you are comfortable and secure. Casa Cook is the perfect place for honeymoon couples or family reunions. The beach in front of Casa Cook offers safe swimming, fun boogie boarding and even great surf. There are plenty of boogie boards for everyone! The staff are happy to help you down to the beach with the lounge chairs so you can enjoy your day by the water. A short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurants. Each unit at Casa Cook is within a few steps of the beautiful beach, the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. The units offers a fully-equipped kitchen with stove, refrigerator and microwave oven. All the units have air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, and a safe. A telephone is available for guests. We provide secure parking on-site and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cook Tamarindo
Casa Cook Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing