We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, basic, clean room at a good price.”
Review of Hotel Marielos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marielos
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Right across the road from the beach, perfect for me to run across the road for an early morning surf. Staff helpful, booked my onward shuttle and were always available. Basic kitchen which maybe wasn't the cleanest or best equipped, but I was able to make myself a hot drink whenever it was open which is all I needed. No hot water in shower but this wasn't an issue for me as it was very warm.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjcitchyfeet1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marielos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had to stay just one night in tamarindo and we chose marielos as it was close to the beach, but it was the only good point!
We paied 50 USD (never paied so much in Costa Rica) for a basic room full of red, big ants.
When we left the room they wanted to make an "inspection"!! Better if we'd make an inspection before going there...
Avoid it, there are better places in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balzarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just stayed there with some friends, it's steps away from the beach, clean, the people are nice, the "cold" water it's not that cold considering outside is extremely hot. It has everything you need for a really cheap price.. took a look of some of the other places to stay and this one had one of the best locations. LOVED IT.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odalis91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'm writing this review about ten days after our stay in this hotel, but we still keep very good souvenirs about it.
The hotel is located in a beautiful garden full of trees and wildlife and also located just the other side of the street of the beach.
The room was clean and nice, there is a kitchen when everyone can cook his meal, the staff was very helpful in booking a diving trip in Catalinas islands, trying to book us a rental car or a bus to go to Monteverde. Also, because my girlfriend is crazy about animals, the owner of the hotel ordered her staff to tell my girlfriend when iguana or monkey were to showed up! She had the opportunity to see an eight feet long iguana that I still don't believe it exist (I was diving this day).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChouinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Warning: NO hot water. If you can handle that, this place is a good find though. It is right across from the beach (which is beautiful) and within walking distance of a few restaurants. Good if you are there for surfing. Rooms are simple and beds are old, but they do have A/C. A good place to stay if you plan on spending most of your time on the beach or exploring and just need a place to sleep. The grounds are really beautiful and Mariela is a kind and accomodating hostess. They cut down coconuts when we arrived and gave them to us with straws to drink them. Very refreshing! Rates were very reasonable. Only $35 with A/C for the night. The hotel is also gated so your car can be driven in and safely locked up at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellchichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We arrived in Tamarindo without reservations, pulled out our travel book and made a call to Cabinas Marielos. The rooms were exactly as our travel book (Fordor's) had said: clean, spartan rooms with no hot water. The court yard/garden was beautiful and we enjoyed the patio area of our room at night to play some games. The common kitchen was clean and equipped with supplies to cook our own food if we wanted. The staff and location really make this place awesome! They will work with you and give you suggestions on where to go/what to eat and they were always spot on! Also, the cold showers weren't really so bad-felt awesome on the sunburn anyway!
I probably wouldn't recommend this for a romantic get-a-way, but for friends or family traveling and wanting to save money and be close to the beach and within walking distance of EVERYTHING, this place is great!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeTravelBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Booked one night and that was enough - no hot water, no internet, bad service

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citydave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.2 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#7 of 73 in Tamarindo
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Zullymar
Cabinas Zullymar
#42 of 73 in Tamarindo
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
0.2 mi away
Casa Aura
Casa Aura
#12 of 46 in Tamarindo
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Hotel Villa Amarilla
#5 of 46 in Tamarindo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marielos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marielos

Address: | Tamarindo Beach Front, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $52 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Marielos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach in Tamarindo, in Costa Rica's Guanacaste province, Hotel Marielos offers its guests a relaxing, inexpensive, and beautiful way to experience the best of one of Costa Rica's most popular resorts. Cabinas are Costa Rica's version of the American Motel. They are usually small, family operated businesses with anywhere from two to fifty clean, basic rooms. Cabinas Marielos is owned and operated by Maria de los Angeles Molina Gonzalez, known as "Marielos", a native Tica (Costa Rican) and retired University Professor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Marielos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Marielos Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing