We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here the week of June 15th 2014. Grounds were intimate and beautiful. We did not hear the howler monkeys close by here. Short walk to the beach, and 15 minute walk to the far end of Tamarindo. Off a back dirt road, which I appreciated, as it was away from the main buzz of Tamarindo, though the road could be a little dark and quiet at night (I never felt unsafe). Rooms are classy, AC works well, water works well, bed is a bit on the harder side but was never uncomfortable. Pool is quiet and clean. Breakfast is great, Coco provides excellent service. Bar for the restaurant opens at 5 pm, fantastic drinks from Steve all week. Chef Shlomy also found time to help out during the day or after the dinner rush.

As a couple in our late 20's/early 30's, I did not think we would have as much use for Rich, the owner, as other reviewers. This was not the case. He was always extremely helpful while never being intrusive.
Gabriela was extremely helpful as well in regards to our excursions. She offers tons of suggestions and will arrange everything for you, while also allowing you to pay for nearly everything at the hotel. Very convenient as many place don't take credit cards (they do here, you pay the hotel and they, in turn, pay the excursion, transport, etc).

You can't go wrong here, the sum of the many parts add up to a wonderful experience without issues.
Highly recommended. I would absolutely stay again. I think it's perfect for singles or couples especially.

Room Tip: While it can add up financially with many trips, private taxis are a great way to get around. A driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    108
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
83
254
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was my husband and my first trip to Costa Rica. Gabby, Richard and Francisco are absolutely wonderful! They helped us book transportation, excursions, and anything else we needed. Richard, the owner, is so sweet and available most of the time. They truly care that you have an awesome stay. The rooms are immaculately clean, modern and perfect to stay in. We saw howler monkeys on the property and there are two resident iguanas! Coco makes breakfast every morning which is great and the grounds and rooms are even more beautiful than the pictures. Very quite and a bit of a walk from the beach, which helps get you away from all the crowds. This is by far the best vacation I have been on and I have been to Hawaii, Virgin Islands, and Belize. Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow, they are beautiful inside and have a hammock for evening relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFenn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Richard, Coco and Gabby really made our stay in Tamarindo a memorable one. This boutique style hotel had an amazing charm, had vibrant, lush, and clean grounds and the rooms were very cozy and comfortable. The hotel is just a few minutes walking from the beach and is a little retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Tamarindo town. Coco our breakfast cook, an absolute delight. She always went out of her way for us and she makes a mean omelet. Gabby, the receptionist, is a gem....she has a service oriented heart and went above and beyond to make sure she is providing us with quality information and resources.....she is very knowledgeable and proactive....tourism is definitely her thing.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCooper4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Tamarindo is probably not the most exciting place to visit in Costa Rica, fortunately Hotel Arco Iris made the experience on the Pacific coast a memorable one.
Rooms were modern all new and very clean and comfortable with aircon, fridge, safe deposit box, free WiFi and TV. Bed was comfortable and lovely bathroom with hot water and good pressure.
Breakfast is OK but not spectacular, breakfast time for the iguanas near the pool was a great moment! Staff is very friendly and attentive, I hope I have helped Gaby with her (already good) French!
The hotel is tucked away just a short stroll from downtown, the shops and the beach.
The only things that maybe could be a problem is that the hotel as a whole (common areas and rooms) are located on a small surface and as a result all the cabins are very close to each other, so it can be noisy when the other guests for example talk a little bit too loudly, also, as a result you have to share your patio with your neighbours or have to draw the curtain inside to avoid vis-a-vis, which can be annoying for guests looking for privacy.
Annoying also is the immediate vicinity of the hotel which looks more like a waste ground than a plush seaside resort (see picture below).
All in all, this hotel offers great value for the money, a great stay, muchas gracias!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmunton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and 2 days. Staff was awesome and attended to all my needs. Owner took personal attention to solve an issue I had. Location is away from Beach, but that is a good thing. It is a short walk and you get to see a lot of the town this way. Grounds are superior to other locations, rooms are clean and Internet is very good. Only issue is sound. Not much of one, the local animals can get loud early in the morning. Can't complain, it's part of being in paradise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cmunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Richard and the hotel were absolutely fantastic. The omelets in the morning were beyond delicious and Richard repeatedly went out of his way to make sure everything we taken care of for us. This is not a giant mega-chain hotel so do not expect this here. However, if you're looking for a great experience, book at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EThomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I just stayed at Hotel Arco Iris at the end of May and would highly recommend it to travelers looking for a true personal experience from their visit to Tamarindo. The hotel grounds are beautiful, who can argue with warm wood buildings, hammocks and a sparkling pool to take a dip in anytime. The hotel is boutique sized so it’s easy to get to know your fellow hotel guests over complimentary breakfast or around the pool.

Everyone in these reviews talks about Richard and it’s apropos. This ex-pat from LA makes this place! He truly is dynamite. He went out of his way to help us on multiple occasions, he’s open and honest with recommendations in town. He prides himself on showing his guests the best time in Tamarindo and he does not disappoint. If you’re looking for more than just beach and surf lessons, stay at Arco Iris and get a true sense of how to make Tamarindo more than the typical Tamagringo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock if you want to have access to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing