We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Myself and 6 other family members stayed in this 13 room wonderful Hotel for 9 nights. We picked it because there were rooms with 2 queen sized beds. One of our rooms even had 2 queen beds plus a single bed (there are also rooms with just one bed). We also choose this hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Once again, Trip Advisor advised us properly.

STAFF..... The Owner Richard and all of the staff at this hotel are outstanding. Upon arriving he showed us around the grounds and the room answering any questions. We arrived at 1 AM and he was there with a smile and ready to make us feel welcome. Richard was always around to make sure everything was to our liking.

GABBY.... the front desk gal was super. She arranged tours for us and was always there to help us with any requests or questions.

COCO (the breakfast gal)..... she is by far the most happy and helpful hotel staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. And imagine this.... we don't speak the same language. She just aims to please and has a smile and personality that'll just warm your heart. She is amazing and makes great omelettes too. Coco is really one of the reasons the Arco Iris is a great place to stay.

THE ROOMS.... The rooms are newly remodeled, VERY clean, spacious, BEDS comfortable. Coffee maker and coffee in the rooms. Great bathroom with lots of room on a shelf below the sink to store your makeup case etc. Blow Dryer in bathroom. Safe in the Room. Nice place to sit outside of your room and relax or visit. We saw one bug, but this is a tropical country, it will happen. I also saw a bug in my own home last week, it happens. NOICE... some reviewers have complained about the noice at night from the restaurant. It's only a few rooms that hear it and even in those rooms, it ends at 10PM or earlier, so really it's not a problem.

POOL and SEASONS RESTAURANT.... the pool is nice with comfy chairs. SEASONS restaurant right at the Hotel (only open for dinner) and is the best Restaurant in Tamarindo. We went twice it was so good. We also enjoyed Longboards (have the nachos) and Pantagonia (at Pantagonia make sure you make reservations).

THE Hotel Arco Iris is the main reason we enjoyed our stay in Tamarindo. Tamarindo is nice but Hotel Arco Iris is Fabulous. It is amazing and I highly recommend it.

Thank-you Richard, Gabby and Coco.... we think you are VERY good at what you do. Keep up the good work so you can make many more travellers smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
276
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Overall,The Arco Iris was a lovely small hotel with friendly staff who made you feel welcome. I cannot fault the rooms,plenty of room,clean and all the facilities you could ask for. The breakfast was ok if a little limited,one cereal,one type of bread and a few other bits and pieces but not the greatest selection. The location was very good,a little walk from the beach and the main touristy area and surrounded by plenty of good restaurants. During the day we sat by the pool which was very relaxing. Like most other hotels in Costa Rica The Arco Iris is about sustaining the environment with recycling bins and having the no paper in the toilet policy. Another suggestion here would be to not have the towels taken away each day,we would've been happy using them for the duration and also having a net lining behind the curtain. We had to close our curtains and have the light on for privacy as our window looked straight out onto the pathway leading out of the hotel. The real downside for me however is that come evening it just gets too noisy. Firstly,there's a neighbouring dog which likes to bark incessantly (which I found quite a regular thing in this country!) but perhaps the room we had didn't help as it was pretty much on their doorstep. The restaurant is open to all tourists in the area and not just hotel guests and I didn't realise it would be so close to all the rooms and being open air sound travels. I guess that's ok to a point but we found people coming and going outside our room quite noisy and one night some other residents had no qualms chatting away outside our room at 12.40am. I think the owner needs to decide whether the guests or the restaurant is the main priority as I don't think they both work together. My opinion is obviously personal as most people aren't early birds like me but I like my holidays/hotels to be nice and peaceful all the time and this just wasn't and that's why I probably wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeenyWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, beautiful gardens, lovely comfortable rooms, clean and quiet. Richard and staff are welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. The hotel restaurant, Seasons by Schlomy, was one of the best meals we had on our trip. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel Arco Iris was a perfect little boutique hotel ....quiet, clean,cosy, and lushly green on this small oasis.
From the moment you wake up to go for breakfast, other guests, Richard (the owner), and staff, greet you with warm welcomes and smiles.The breakfast was simple but fabulous... granola cereal, yogurt, orange juice, coffee & tea, freshly cut fruits, bread and toppings for toasting...and your choice of eggs,...omelettes were amazing.
After a couple of days on the beach, the quiet, clean pool was a perfect way to spend the day lazily reading a book and to retreat to a nicely air-conditioned room. Everything about the room was also perfect. Comfortable beds and pillows, clean and up-dated.
The restaurant on the premise called "SEASONS" had a Mediteranean menu,and is known in Tamarindo for being one of its best restaurant. I LOVED the jumbo shrimps!!
The walk to the beach was a short 5-7min.walk, which allowed you to go and look at shops before reaching the beach...or even get a great fruit smoothy along the way.
I loved every experience I had in Tamarindo!
Christiane v. K.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have just returned from an amazing vacation. The Hotel Arco Iris is a hidden tropical gem. From the moment I stepped foot on the grounds I felt relaxed. Greeted by lush gardens this hotel tucked away in Tamarindo yet steps to beach, shopping and restaurants is very special. The owner Richard and all the staff especially Gabrielle went out of their way to make sure we had the very best experience in Tamarindo. I was sad to leave the serenity of this place.
The rooms are all renovated with the most modern and tasteful amenities. Comfortable memory foam beds allowed for great sleeping while listening to the birds. Accommodations include a wounderul breakfast beside a small but adequate pool, complete with visiting iguanas. To our surprise the best restaurant in Tamarindo is located at this hotel. Seasons it is packed each night and the food is amazing with a varied menu. Thank you Richard and your staff for the best vacation I have ever had. I will be back and look forward to it. thank you Jim Levy from Remax Ocean Surf for recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very large, and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 772Kathlynn772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Staying at the Hotel Arco Iris was the best part of our trip to Costa Rica. We loved having coffee and breakfast out by the pool each morning--Coco is a wonderful omelet maker! The owner Richard set up several of our excursions and they were excellent. Make sure to have at least one dinner at the hotel restaurant (The Seasons) because it is outstanding. The walk to town was easy and gave everybody a chance to do what they wanted during the day. Great Christmas vacation!

Room Tip: Love the ground floor right next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is a gem, and highly recommended. My friend and I are two 28 year old American guys, the owner turned out to be from Los Angeles, former psychologist who decided to change careers - he cares about the people staying there. The overall hotel (outdoor, beautiful pool, breakfast, rooms) were all above average/excellent. Clean, recently renovated rooms. And to boot, the restaurant there (not affiliated with the hotel directly) was the best food we had in Costa Rica.

Plus Gaby was solid in helping us book activities during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing