We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Modern”
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family of 4 (children 6 & 9) stayed here in October. It was low season so occupancy was low - therefore they were renovating the deck . which was fine with us - will look fanstactic when it is done.The restaurant on site was also closed - i have read great things about it though The pool was huge and warm. Rooms very clean, cable tv, hot showers, nice shampoo and conditioner and soap included.
Breakfast included - simple cereal and toast
Location - walk into the town within 10 minutes

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 579 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is poor. Nothing is fresh and it is not pleasant to sit. Rooms are good. Bathrooms are big. Swimming pool is good too. It's quiet and not far from the centre. It's nice to have a good restaurant in the evening in the hotel. There is parking space in front of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights. It is a 10 min walk to the beach. The staff is very nice and they have a good restaurant inside of the hotel.However, I highly recommend also eating at Patagonia restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I spent some time reading various reviews on TripAdvisor before selecting the Arco and we were very glad we did. We wanted a hotel that was a little "different" - a small boutique place that's run by the owner vs. large corporates which is where we usually stay.

The rooms were comfortable but definitely don't expect a nice room by any means (i.e., can't compare to large corporates with nice finishings). The pool was also sufficient albeit a little small with a lot of leaves / little bugs at times.

Overall, the two biggest reasons that make this hotel a good choice are:
1. Excellent and customized service from the owner / hotel staff since it doesn't feel like a hotel per se, more like staying at a friend's house
2. Food at the Seasons restaurant was excellent and quite romantic in the evenings when you're sitting at a table on the pool deck with candles on the floor, etc.

If you want something that actually feels like a laid back, Costa Rican, visit to a "friend's" house, you should consider the Arco.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Arco Iris for four days.
The experience was excellent!! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful!!!
The best part is to wake up and see many different birds and iguanas. It's nice to feel inside the nature...
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloQ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Best hotel selection of my trip. Small boutique hotel with friendly owner and staff ready to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The room was clean, cool, and comfortable. Great to wake up in the morning and have breakfast by the pool. Good variety for complimentary breakfast and the coffee was delicious. The day trips and activities are reasonably priced and they made all the calls to set it up for me. Quick walk to restaurants and about 10 min walk to the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Adorable little hotel nestled just off the main street. The hotel receptionist was SUPER. She helped coordinate the sea turtle tour for us and spoke excellent English. She helped us with other tours we wanted to do.

Coco, who helped us with check-in, breakfast, etc. was also wonderful.
Breakfast was good (coffee, juice, granola cereal, omelets, rice and beans, & fresh fruit...was a hugh fan of the granola).

The rooms are adorable and clean. The bathroom was lovely. Felt very safe the entire time.

We met the hotel owner who was super nice and welcoming.

Loved this place and would def come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mflasschoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
5.1 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $122 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing