We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Arco Iris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Arco Iris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Arco Iris for 6 nights, and were very pleased. Richard and Iveth were more than helpful prior to our trip, answering my (many) questions on email (and always a quick response), and setting us up with airport to hotel transportation. We arrived very late our first night, at midnight, and was happy to see a security guard on the premises and Richard waiting up for us to show us to our room! The rooms were spacious, have their own outdoor space with 2 chairs, and modern bathrooms. The water pressure was a bit low, and not a lot of hot water, but I've got to assume that might be the norm for most places here in Costa Rica, so it didn't even bother us. The housekeeper is amazing, and you will come back to an immaculate room once you return from the beach, just a 6 or 7 minute walk away. The woman making the (included) breakfast was so sweet, and there were ample items to start off your day before making your way to the beach. The hotel is authentic, quaint, and very well managed. The pool was on the warmer side, and very clean. This hotel is just "far" enough outside the main area of town so that you can relax and rest peacefully, while still only being a couple minutes walking distance to fabulous restaurants, and surf shops. We thought it was a perfect stay, and highly recommend it, we would certainly stay here again. If you have any questions prior to your visit, I promise you Richard and Iveth will be of great assistance. I thank all of the staff here at the hotel for making our trip so easy and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
276
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

First, Tamarindo is a dirty, dusty hodgepodge of crappy hotels, bars and restaurants with a few gems thrown in. The Hotel Arco Iris is convenient in terms of location, and has nice breakfast in the a.m. We loved the breakfast lady, no English but very nice and accommodating. A surprising number of birds show up for breakfast as well....especially one Grackle that will wake you up every morning with his many mating calls. We got the deluxe room, but unless you need the extra big room, I think the regular room are better. Now the bad: when we showed up they could find our reservation....after some drama our room was found. The beds are not great....don't expect Marriott quality bedding here folks. There are no chairs in the room just two beds, that's it. We found two bugs in the room, one cricket in the shower and a small black bug. The H2O pressure is low in the shower and one of the two sinks hot water handle is broken. Not bad overall but lots of little things that could make this place better. They should start with the beds.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryandmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarcoiris, Owner at Hotel Arco Iris, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel.

I want to respond to this review. Most of our guests are happy with the quality and service of our hotel. I think we can learn from some of the reviews that point out problems they had while in our hotel. We always have myself or a staff member availalbe that speaks english. The breakfast staff do not speak englsih but our receptionist is there to help any guests to order what they desire for breakfast. All of our receptionists are fluent in English.

The beds in the room this guest was in are orthepedic matresses. They will be replaced later this year. For most guests they are adequate but the guest has a point that they are not great beds. they are solid and still offer a good nights sleep more msot guests.

We have chairs on the patio becasue most people like to sit outside. Some of the rooms have a desk and chair. I have considered taking one bed out of the deluxe rooms and putting in a sofa. However the two beds come in handy for families and friends traveling together.

We clean every day and check for bugs. It is a tropical climate so occasionally bugs get into the room if the door is leftr open. These bugs are not dangerous. It is impossible to say there will never be a bug in a room.

The room the guest was in has 2 sinks. One of the hot water faucets needs to be replaced. The other one works fine. Some things take time to order and receive here. All of the other rooms have one sink, as do most hotels.

We do pay attention to details and our goal is to please everyone but like in life this is impossible at times, however we will keep trying and I am proud that we please most of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were quite happy about our stay. The place only has about 11 rooms and each bungalow has its own hammock. You will find that it is quite a walk to the beach (5 min) but I didn't mind the exercise and you get to see more of the town. Plus the top two restaurants on town are right around the corner. For breakfast you have a couple options of traditional, fruit, granola, toast , eggs or omelette. There is also juice and coffee to pick from. There is some construction going on close to the hotel but it didn't bother me. We never did eat at the restaurant at hotel so I have no comment on supper. Over all it was a good stay and I would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingTunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the arco iris for eight days in feb 2013. The hotel itself is fab, very cute with good sized rooms and small but perfectly formed grounds. The pool is a welcomed relief from the bech and generally the staff were helpful. The hotel is situated very close to town and the beach which is great. However, it does have a couple of down points. Firstly the breakfast is very simple and after a few days it does become very repetitive. Also while the restaurant is fabulous. It takes over the whole pool area from 4pm and it feels like as a guest round the pool you are being forced back to your room. Our room was also on the ground floor thus we are unable to sit outside at night because of the noise from the restaurant and the fact that people are walking past our room to get restaurant. Overall we were made to feel uncomfortable in our own hotel which was not pleasant and that management have not prioritised the guests of the hotel over the restaurant. It was also quite difficult to get to sleep early because of the noise.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room upstairs or away from the path of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipslaurajane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarcoiris, Owner at Hotel Arco Iris, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel. I wanted to respond to this review. In regard to the breakfast we recently added a full breakfast which is included in the price of the room. It includes hot and cold items and is served buffet style. We added the full breakfast because we felt only having a cold buffet was repetitive. Our guests have been very happy with this full breakfast.

The restaurant is open from 6-10 PM. Guests are always at the pool until 6:00 and nobody is in the restaurant from 4-6 and it does not take any of the pool area. The pool chairs are in one area and the restaurant tables in another area and they are there all day so nothing changes from 4-6.

After 6 guests can swim but there are people eating dinner close to the pool, so some guests may not feel comfortable but many guests sit by the pool drinking and swimming after 6 PM and are quite comfortable doing so. Our hotel is not a formal place and we have a very relaxed atmosphere here and this is also true for Costa Rica.

The restaurant is closed at 10 PM s for most people this is not late at night and also most of the rooms are far away from the restaurant that you cannot hear the noise of the restaurant form inside your room.

If this guest would have talked to us we would have said it was fine to sit by the pool and also we would have move them to a quieter room.

They made a good point about people walking past their patio. We are putting some planters in front of their room so restaurant guests entering the hotel will have to take a different path to get to the restaurant. This will make their patio more private. We are always happy to hear feedback that helps us give our guests the best vacation possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel run by a really great staff. The owner is American & really goes the extra mile when it comes to service. It's a couple blocks from the beach- which ended up being a plus for us. The beach in Tamarindo is really beautiful but it can be crowded, noisy, etc. By staying @ Hotel Arco Iris we could be @ the beach in a 3 min walk, but if we wanted some peace & calm we could be @ the hotel pool. The rooms are well decorated & each one has its own balcony or patio area with a table & chairs or a hammock - which is really pretty wonderful! We ate @ the restaurant on site- Seasons - and it was really very good. The rates are very reasonable,too! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a really nice stay that doesn't involve frat boys :)

Room Tip: They're in the process of replacing the mattresses so soon all the rooms will have the new super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

There is construction occurring immediately next to the property. We arrived and the construction (concrete saw amongst other tools) was in use (top room farthest to the right). It wasn't relaxing, and VERY LOUD. We immediately realized it wouldn't be enjoyable and left, asking for a (any amount/partial) refund. Because they could not book the room they charged us the full four night's stay.. $700.

Save yourself the money and the time of chasing it down. Construction. Construction. Construction. :(

I'm sure the hotel would be nice otherwise..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madwibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarcoiris, Owner at Hotel Arco Iris, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel. The guest is correct in saying there was significant noise from construction, on the lot next to us. At the time the guest was here they were constructing a metal fence and there was alot of noise. I spoke with my neighbor, who is a friendly guy and told him about the noise problem. He said the future work would not be as noisy and that he would move the preparation of materials work to a location farther away form our property. The construction now is much less noise and it is not consistent noise

Our rooms are very quiet because they were built with concrete block, so inside the room you do not hear the noise in the morning. They stop working at 4:00 so when most people return in the afternoon it is quiet.

I feel badly that the guest had a bad experience but at the same time several other guests were here and had a good time in spite of the noise ( see other recent reviews). Also with the noise being less now I think our future guests can expect to have a good stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel Arco Iris is a super cute hotel just off the main road in Tamarindo. The location is perfect--close enough that that town is a 2 min walk away but tucked away so the noise and nightlife can be left behind. The room is very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable, as are the grounds. There is a large breakfast buffet including omlettes made to order. We ate dinner at the restaurant, which was fantastic. There are also a wide variety of restaurant choices within walking distance, as well as a small grocery and shopping. The beach is about a 5 minute walk away. The receptionist at the front desk was very helpful in arranging trips for us, and providing advice about places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing