We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Essex Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arco Iris is a small property in Tamarindo, about 5 mins away from the busy strip in town. The owner, Richard, speaks at least English and Spanish. He is very accommodating and willing to help make the best of your stay. Breakfast is fresh fruit, granola, toast, and good coffee, the perfect start to a busy day. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, and the bathrooms are spacious with a nice shower and dual sinks. The staff was friendly and dinner at the on-site restaurant was excellent. The property is very well kept and feels very safe, secure, and peaceful. Just what we wanted.

Room Tip: There are three types of rooms: first floor of the "hotel," second floor of the hotel, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
276
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place was jus what me and my wife needed to get away from the city life for a few days. I would reccomend this anyone who is looking to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realbrandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed here with some friends for two nights while visiting Tamarindo. The rooms and premises were very well kept, Richard takes great pride in his hotel making sure that all visitors have an enjoyable stay. The only meals we ate were breakfast at the hotel and we were satisfied with what was served. There is a guard on watch every night, so the car we had parked outside the entrance was safe and something we did not have to worry about. The location is great as well as it is not on the main street which is usually loud and busy. Richard and his friendly staff are always avaible to answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The staff was incredibly helpful, the grounds were very well-maintained and the deluxe room was clearly recently renovated and very spacious. The Hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main strip of Tamarindo, which is actually ideal because it's quiet and clean but plenty close to the beach & restaurants. The breakfast they provide, fruit & granola, juice, coffee and toast, is a very nice touch and eating by their pool is a great way to start the morning. Great place for the price, I would definitely stay there again if I were to find myself back in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I will admit - I didn't like Tamarindo. Out of control development and windy beach, but Richard and his team at Arco Iris will leave you with such good memories of your stay in Tamarindo.

We stayed in one the brand new deluxe rooms, and I mean brand new. While the outside looks like a treehouse cabin, inside the style, finishes and amenities are those of a five star hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathroom very chic (even if the shower pressure is humourously low). Me and boyfriend spent hours reading by the pool and swimming. The pool is wonderful!

Thank you Richard for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There are bungalows and deluxe rooms. I believe only some of the deluxe rooms were very recently ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milojami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

What a relaxing place to stay in the heart of Tamarindo. Steps from the beach and the center of town..... A quiet and inviting pool is perfect for post-surf. Richard, the owner is friendly and will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. The food is the best in all of Tamarindo, seriously. All for a very reasonable rate. Oh, and the bathrooms were just remodeled and the water pressure is great. I will stay here if I return to Tamarindo. no doubt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaG41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

As others have mentioned this hotel has a very nice owner and a bit of a B&B feeling - good in the sense that Richard (the owner) is very kind and friendly but if you expect hotel service with a reception and restaurant open all day it is not for you. I think the receptionist had just left her job, so that might have added to the B&B feeling during our visit, but never the less it was how we felt.
However - the rooms are nice and kept very clean. The breakfast is OK, but we were actually expecting some kind of small buffet which is not the case. You will get a toast, some cereals with milk, fresh fruit, juice and coffee...all what you really need - but not more :-)
The pool is nice and clean and you can borrow beach towels.
The hotel is a short walk from the town center (5 min) and 10 min from the beach. There is a gym quit close (2-3 min) which is only 5 dollars pr day.
We had dinner once at the restaurant which is owned and operated by another guy. It was OK, but what we got was nothing special which were a bit surprising as it has gotten rave reviews - maybe we were unlucky.
All in all we would recommend this place and had a great time - helped by the very friendly and helpful owner

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing