We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Second Stay in Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Ranked #29 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Second Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My family of three teenaged children, my wife and I all stayed at Villa Alegre between Christmas and stayed until after New Year's. We stayed in their "Russia" bungalow, a bedroom and a living room that slept three. Ample, large bathroom with huge walk-in shower. Lots of counter space. Private patio. Right next to the infinity-edge pool.

This is our second stay to Villa Alegre. Our first was a second honeymoon of sorts. We decided then to come back and bring our kids. What a treat. With the B&B as a base of operations the kids to go the 200 feet or so down to the beach, hang out by the pool, nap or play games.

Owners Barry & Suzye are gracious hosts. They prepare a fantastic breakfast out on their large patio every morning. Delicious (and strong!) coffee, a kind of quiche or other main course, homemade breads, an amazing raspberry spread that's nothing short of crack and fresh fruit. A feast! They also are wonderful concierge as well, arranging dinners in town, working out excursions and other outings tirelessly.

The decor is nice and the atmosphere casual and relaxed. The entire place is comfortable and everyone seems to get to know everyone else. Whether you relax in a hammock by the pool with your Kindle or take a walk into Tamarindo to enjoy the local shopping and dining or work out to take surf lessons down the beach, Villa Alegre is a great place to stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Warm, friendly hosts. Super helpful when we needed to book transportation and tours.
Clean rooms/facilities, awesome breakfasts, variety of amenities - hammocks by the pool, boogie boards, board games, (free) computer/internet, beach just steps away.
Loved it.
Went with a small group of friends but it's totally family friendly.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleOneLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This was my second stay at Villa Allegre, and it's like coming HOME!! We stayed in one of the villas complete with a spacious bathroom and bedroom, mini kitchen, living room,and private patio. The pool is inviting as is the beach for a morning or sunset walk. The owners, Suzye and Barry, make everyone feel special and offer information on the best activities and restaurants to help make a visit to Costa Rica PERFECT! The breakfast each day served with robust Costa Rican coffee was delicious and served on their spacious outdoor patio. I look forward to my third visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraQuayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2009

One of the most delightful bed and breakfast stays ever (and I travel a lot) The accommodations (we stayed in the villa) were superb with many special touches. The location excellent with breathtaking evening sunsets and beach walking in the morning. The breakfast was always a treat and lots of delicious food to eat. Best of all, the proprietors, Barry and Suzye Lawson are so interesting and fun to be around. It really felt like home with so many personal touches. I would highly recommend this gem of Tamarindo!!
Rose Voss (rosevoss@aol.com)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosevoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Fl
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We arrived at Tamarindo, CR late in the afternoon and we happened on this wonderful B&B. The hosts Barry and Suzye were a wealth of information for us as we are looking to live in Costa Rica. The room was very nice,clean and comfortable. The house is just great, it is right on the water. Breakfast was very good as Barry was the chef. I personally am not a Big B&B fan, but my wife certainly did the right thing in talking me into this stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestPalmBeach_FlJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed with Barry and Suzye for four days. We visited during the low season which is why we had the bed&breakfast to our selves! It can hold up to 22 people. It has direct beach access and a great pool - which was perfect for swimming at night.
Barry and Suzye were wonderful hosts, very helpful. They loaned us bikes so we didn't have to walk or taxi into town. My husband went fishing one morning and brought back some fish which we grilled on their outdoor grill and the four of us had a great dinner. They even helped my husband acquire a birthday cake for me.
They ate breakfast with us everyday and were great company. They are great people too; they are very involved in their community. They have been in the area for several years and had lots of information on places to go, eat, and things to do. They were very helpful in arranging excursions.
Villa Alegre is a very relaxing place - they have music playing throughout the day and evening. No tv's which was really quite nice - what when you can hear the sounds of the ocean all day! Bring a book - but if you forget one, they have a library you can borrow one from. They had a snack bar available with beers, sodas, water, and snacks - which was great especially if you got a craving after coming back from dinner or being out in town. They also have games if you are traveling with a party or with kids. We know we will come back to Villa Alegre someday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyjam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I had booked Villa Alegre for a trip but was unexpectedly downsized from my job. Villa Alegre charged me for 100% of the trip that I booked. Be very careful and be sure that you will not have to cancel you trip because you will be charged for your ENTIRE STAY!!!!!! Extremely greedy cancellation policy.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DuneWHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzye1, owner at Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
The prospective guest reserved our Mexico room on February 17, 2009. She cancelled by email on March 14,2009, one day prior to her arrival on March 15, 2009. This person was very well aware of our payment and cancellation policies as they are stated on the forms she signed when she made the reservation.
Due to her "unexpected downsizing" from her job, we understand the extenuating circumstances which are preventing her from taking her trip right now. Therefore, we offered to give her full credit for a future stay at Villa Alegre, which we were not obligated to do: but we'd like to help in her difficult situation. Villa Alegre is a small and unique B & B located in a beautiful beach area and caters to discerning guests. In order to provide the best services and amenities, we do need an advance commitment from our guests regarding their arrivals. Our reservation policies are at par with other hotels in our area. We hope to see you in the near future in beautiful Costa RIca for a relaxing vacation.
--The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Sueca
Hotel Casa Sueca
#19 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Tamarindo Condo Villas
0.7 mi away
Mango Condominiums
Mango Condominiums
#31 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naxos Complex
Naxos Complex
#44 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Property: Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Alegre - b&b On The Beach
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing