We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Comfort and Steps to the Ocean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Ranked #27 of 45 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at Villa Alegre twice. We have found it so enjoyable that it always tops our list of vacation locations. The pool area and grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. The rooms are decorated with treasures our hosts have collected from years of their own travels. Barry and Suzye Lawson are very friendly and accommodating. They know all about the area (and the people who live there) and are a great help in sightseeing and booking excursions. Barry's sumptuous breakfasts are truly extraordinary. Our friends who have stayed at Villa Alegre are in agreement. It is a great, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOandRONwnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2008

Ville Alegre is one of those gems for someone who wants to truely relax and enjoy the ample natural beauty of Costa Rica. We went to get away from the pressures of our jobs, wanting to be in a beautiful location over looking the ocean. We are not drawn to the "resort" type of hotel, rather wanted a B+B where we could get to know the hosts and other vacationers in a smaller venue. Ville Alegre was perfect. A simple and delicous breakfast each morning allowed us to share our experiences with the other guests. After that it was walking along the incredible beach, hanging out at the pool or going on an excurison in the countryside. The rooms are all terrific (we had a tour of each room as we plan to come back really soon.) Tamarindo is a small town, about a 4 minute taxi ride or 45 minute walk on the beach away. Lots of shopping opportunities for those who want that, although we aren't that type. Various restaurants as well from typical Costa Rican fare to high end you-name-it. We highly recommend Villa Alegre for those who want to really unwind.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank guatuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Russian villa part of Villa Alegre. We loved it. Barry and Suzye are wonderful people. The have a wonderful place that they welcomed us to. They had great advice for lunch and dinner spots. The breakfast was wonderful, different each day and tasty always. Beautiful view of the ocean through a little walkway. It was on the beach, but off enough to be private.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank highorderbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Villa Alegre cost a little more than other hotels we stayed on on our trip, but it was well worth it. It was by far our favorite hotel in Costa Rica. The owners, Barry and Suzye, are very friendly and welcoming. Most of the Hotels in Tamarindo share a small crowded beach. Villa Alegre is further down the road where the beach is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveling999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed with Barry and Suzie for our honeymoon in August. We can think of no other way to describe our stay then PERFECT!!

We stayed in the Russian villa, and the accommodations were amazing. We had tons of space, our own private deck, and AC!!! The entire villa is amazing, a short walk off the beach, but close enough so that you can see and hear it.

Suzie and Barry were helpful, but also gave us as much privacy as we wanted or needed. On our first night there we played poker with Barry and some of his friends, and it was very fun.

Ooooh... and the breakfast....... YUMMY!!!! it was some of the best breakfast we have ever eaten, especially the eggs benedict on the first morning.

We can't say enough positive things about this place. I fear that this review is not positive enough to do our experience justice. YOU SHOULD STAY AT VILLA ALEGRE.... you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thecrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Costa Rica is a great and rugged travel destination. The roads are not well marked and many are barely navigable. If someone tells you it takes 20 mins to get there you'd best give yourself at least 40.
The tail end of our recent two week adventure was in the Tamarindo area at a most unexpected bastion of civility and pleasure, the Villa Alegre Bed & Breakfast owned and operated by the delightful Barry and Suzye Lawson and their fantastic staff. Tranquil setting, magnificent ocean views, walking paths, vibrant natural wonders (humming birds, etc. ), quiet yet close to the busy beach town, a full and accessible library, cold drinks and easily the best array of cuisine posing as breakfast imaginable. All served with joy and intelligence by the hosts.
If this place doesn't put a smile on your face, you need help!
Dave, Dawn & Julia
Los Angeles, CA

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiggyLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Traveling up the coast, we stumbled upon Villa Alegre, a hidden gem! Just outside the now bustling Tamarindo, Villa Alegre has easy access to beautiful beaches, restaurants & shops of Tamarindo, pre-arranged activities (horseback riding, canopy tours, fishing, diving, etc)as well as privacy and quiet relaxation. Be assured, the price is right and the quality of the service is fantastic. Breakfast is a gourmet treat. Facilities are very clean and hospitality is evident from the first to the last minute of the stay.
We've been traveling to Tamarindo over the last 15 years, and it's shocking to see all the construction and progress being made. We wanted this place to be our secret get away, and feared we'd lost it to other "tourists". But, now that we've found Barry & Suzye's Villa, we feel that we can still enjoy the things we loved about Tamarindo and not have to be in the middle of all the construction. The beaches, food, and Ticos are still fantastic. Pura Vida!!!
Barry puts out a gourmet breakfast feast each morning, you can share travels and experiences with other guests (which can be helpful, as well as interesting). I'm sure years of experience have made Barry & Suzye very good at reading the vibes of their guests. They provide a very relaxed atmosphere, while ensuring that your every need or want is attended to without much fuss. You set the tone of your trip, getting as much privacy or action as you desire! Their hospitality and professionalism are inspiring.
Traveling back for the first time with our 3 year old daughter, we found Villa Alegre very family friendly. Our daughters favorite part of the trip was feeding an iguana off the back patio each morning. She's named every toy from our trip "Barry". My husbands favorite part of the trip was the surfing, easily accessed by walking out the back door and down the path to beach at the tip of Barry's property. I had many favorites, of which were amazing food and the uninterrupted quiet to do what ever I wanted!!!
Villa Alegre's is truly a slice of heaven, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JerseyTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Tamarindo Condo Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Naxos Complex
Naxos Complex
#36 of 74 in Tamarindo
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Sueca
Hotel Casa Sueca
#17 of 45 in Tamarindo
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pasatiempo
Hotel Pasatiempo
#3 of 45 in Tamarindo
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Villa Alegre - b&b On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing