We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Ranked #26 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Netarts, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We got in late to Villa Alegre and Barry was waiting for us. He made us feel right at home... the breakfast was wonderful all 3 days! The inside and outside were very nice! Our room, the American room was very nice... had a nice private patio, and had squirrels and monkeys visiting... wonderful exotic birds sang to us.... and close to beach access... also not far from town, but if you needed a ride, Barry or Suyze would take you if they could. Beautiful pool area... nice beds and rooms were clean and fun decorations..... Only thing I can think of that would have been nicer was we would have liked a little more information about our room, how the air worked, and about coming and going and the front door.... but everything else was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeaches85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pescadero, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I own a B&B in Northern California so I am picky....and I would pick this place again and again.....the location can not be beat....beautiful pool overlooking a beautiful beach just steps away....owners Barry & Suyze make you feel right at home and serve up a delicious breakfast...they also set up whatever trips you wish to go on and there recommendations always worked out...we stayed in the spacious Japan suite and everything was perfect....sunsets from the bench overlooking the beach were spectacular.....and leisurely walk into town with more restaurants than a little town like that should have...but they do....

I can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed at Villa Alegre for three nights. We had the California casita with a view of the ocean, steps away from the infinity pool. Barry and Suzye entertained us at breakfast with amusing stories of their adventures throughout the world and each meal was excellent fare. We definitely recommend travellers to visit Villa Alegre in beautiful Tamarindo, Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian and Danie... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairhope al usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We accidentally ran across Villa Alegre after being disappointed in a previous hotel we had rented in town.
We met the owners Barry and Susye and immediately loved them. They became family. It is a Bed and Breakfast and every morning Francis their cook and housekeeper put on a scrumptious breakfast replete with mixed fresh fruits, tropical juices, homemade jams etc.

The property is situated on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean and has one main house with four rooms and two villas and one small house that is cute. The names of the villas are Chinese, Japan and the small house California.

It has a great infinity pool that was spotless the entire time and a lovely Gazebo that seemed to be the gathering place in the evening.

We felt we were in an old plantation Manor House and the entire place was well designed and thought out.

Overall it the most restful vacation we ever had and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Also the mix of guest was perfect.

One note, there are no TVs so bring your own DVDs and a good laptop.

Layla and Peter Cunningham
FaIrhope, AL
peterc6@bellsouth.net

Room Tip: The Chinese is the best followed by the Japan Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishFairhopeAlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a couple of days and we were so disappointed we didn't plan to stay longer. Barry and Suzye could not have been more accomodating! They helped us plan our entire stay in Tamarindo with great restaurant suggestions and tips. They even offered to give us a ride closer into town for one of our very early excursions. The breakfast was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed the very "at-home" feel. The beach is feet away from the backdoor. The stretch of beach behind Villa Alegre is very quiet and feels more private. My husband and loved being able to walk down the beach to the city center. I cannot rave enough about Villa Alegre! Barry and Suzye really give you the feeling you are their personal guests, it's wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaAndLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had rented a condominium with another couple through VRBO and were scheduled to depart when Jet Blue informed us that our flight was cancelled and we could not get out of Costa Rica for another two days. With no way to extend our rental, we marched across the street and knocked on the door of Villa Alegre. Not only did Barry and Suzye Lawson have a couple of rooms that were delightfully comfortable, they also helped us fill up the remaining days with activities, fed us two marvelous breakfasts and packed us off to the airport when the time came. The porch, the pool, the hammocks and the beach visible from the villa all offered both opportunity to relax and read alone or get to know other guests. The constant to and fro of former guests told us that this place is seen as a keeper by those in the know. Now we're among them.

Room Tip: There are larger "casitas" in the outbuildings but more home-like bedrooms in the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSeaperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 6 day stay at Villa Alegre and couldn't have wished for a better stay. Barry was extremely welcoming and accommodating and even helped book daily excursions for us. We stayed in the Russian villa which had a wonderful patio and more than enough room to stretch out. The best part about VA is by far the proximity to a wonderful, wild and unpopulated beach with amazing sunsets. While not very close to town, we appreciated the off-the-beaten path quality of it and Barry was always willing to give you a ride if you weren't up for the 20-minute walk. We would definitely recommend this to others looking for a low-key, relaxing stay in Costa Rica and are already trying to plan our own return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Sueca
Hotel Casa Sueca
#18 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Tamarindo Condo Villas
0.1 mi away
Naxos Complex
Naxos Complex
#42 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mango Condominiums
Mango Condominiums
#36 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Property: Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Villa Alegre - b&b On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing