We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Amazing Place on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Place on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

If there were words to describe our experience at Sueno Del Mar, I will have to pick up a better vocabulary book. This B&B was the most amazing place My fiance and I have ever stayed, and I thought we would never leave. We will no doubt be back every year. Even though we only stayed there for 3 days, Tui, Ashton and Kris became great friends and treated us like family. They were always around to lend a hand, or give you some good advice on where to go and what to eat. They were never wrong!! We stayed in the Honeymoon suite with the outdoor shower and it was so comfortable we actually spent time hanging out in the room. The view was breathtaking and the sound of the ocean was so relaxing. The bed was so plush, it was 1000 times better than my bed at home!! We did wind up spending the rest of our vacation at another resort and all I could think of was getting back to Sueno. The beach on this side of Tamarindo is a bit rocky so remember to bring some good shoes but the snokeling was far superior to the beach on the other side. I would highly reccommend this B&B!!! Breakfast was wonderful and it was great speaking and meeting other guests. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IndigoStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
178
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We had a wonderful two night stay here in mid February & did not want to leave. We arrived exhausted with a flat tire & Kris made us feel right at home. Ashton changed the tire before we got up the next morning. We just enjoyed sitting on the beach & talking to all of the other happy folks staying there. We stayed in the Osita Room & loved the outdoor shower complete with Iguana watching from the roof.

  • Liked — Quiet, restful & right on beach
  • Disliked — The road to get there
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

Words and pictures cannot express how wonderful this place is. We eloped here, and all the staff made everything so special and easy. I was a little nervous about coordinating a wedding ceremony by email, but if any of you are thinking about it, let me assure you, everything to the last detail was perfect.....even better than I imagined! Thanks Tui! I hated to leave after four days in the romantic honeymoon suite, but we wanted to explore the rest of the country. After being away for five days, we decided to cut the rest of our adventure short and head back to Sueno for our last two nights. Luckily, they had a cancellation, and we had probably the best two days of our trip relaxing by the ocean. We totally felt at home. The beds were super comfortable, and the honor bar was so nice. Kris, Tui, and Ashton and all the staff make this the best B & B anywhere!

  • Liked — Felt like home with the added benefit of a fabulous beach!
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aes798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2007

We stayed at Sueno del Mar for five days and it was the best part of our stay in Costa Rica. Ashton and Tui were great hosts and the staff were always happy and friendly. The breakfasts were amazing and the sunsets are unreal. We even had monkeys on our roof!

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaribTraveler099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

My wife and I spent a delightful week relaxing at Sueno del Mar just after New Year's. The setting is lovely, the breakfasts are terrific, and everyone on the staff is gracious and helpful. The shady chairs in front of the inn are a great place to sit and read and watch the sea and the occasional human and canine passers-by. We took long walks on the beach, especially to beautiful Playa Langosta, which lies to the south of the inn across a small estuary that can easily be waded at low tide. Ashton and Tui, the innkeepers, gave us excellent recommendations for dining in Playa Langosta and Tamarindo. If you are the energetic sort, they also can set up excursions with knowledgeable, friendly guides. We locked our watches in the safe in our room upon our arrival and just let the world go by. All in all, this is a great place to relax.

  • Liked — setting and staff
  • Disliked — choices for lunch nearby are limited
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 nights of our honeymoon at Sueno del Mar, and couldn't have been more happy with our choice. The property is gorgeous, the location is ideal, and the staff (Tui, Kris & Ashton) are extremely pleasant and knowledgeable.
We stayed in one of the queen bed rooms, the Iguana. Initially, I was worried about the room, (sound-wise) because it is on the main corridor of the B&B, but honestly when we were there, everyone staying at the B&B (including 3 other honeymooning couples) were very courteous, and we had no problems going to bed early and getting up at a decent time without being woken by a noisy neighbor.
The bed was SUPER comfortable, love those overhead fans, (the added air conditioning was a plus), and the outdoor shower was awesome! The complementary breakfasts are gigantic. Not much variety - fruit, a breakfast pastry, and then an egg dish - but really, really tasty. And you can't argue with the ambiance... truly heaven.
PLEASE take advantage of the free boogie boards, and snorkeling equipment. The last day we were there, close to low tide, we took some boogie boards, and walked down the beach to the left, past the tidal estuary, and rode in some amazing waves. So much fun!
ALSO, take advantage of the beach side hammocks, and of the stocked beer fridge. I could spend days just laying in one of those hammocks, beer in hand, watching the gorgeous view.

Just as a heads up for folks on a budget, Sueno Del Mar is a $5 cab ride away from Tamarindo. This distance is definitely walk-able during the day, and could possibly be at night if you have a flash light with you because the roads aren't well lit, and there are some crazy drivers. Most of the restaurants, (with only a couple exceptions), are in Tamarindo. Overall, the quality of the food is excellent, (especially at Dragonfly, and El Coconut), but not much different in price to what you would find in the states.

Sueno del Mar is NOT for the party-minded individual, Tamarindo is the place for that. But if you are looking for some peace and quiet, to relax and appreciate the scenery, as well as your loved ones around you, you cannot go wrong with Sueno del Mar.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jkc200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

How close to perfect can you get?
Comfortable private rooms with wonderful decorations, amazing gardens full of birds, monkeys & iguanas, spectacular views, charming and attentive staff, delicious breakfast and the best sunsets in the world.
What more can you ask for?
If you plan to travel to Costa Rica, you can't miss this one!

  • Liked — My entire stay!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Tips/Secrets — You can't go wrong staying at Sueno del Mar!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CentralTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno del Mar is a boutique B&B on the beach. We are know for our gourmet breakfast made with fresh local ingredients. On the beach we created a very comfortable setting with hammocks and lounge beds to relax and watch the incredible sunsets. Included in our room rates we also offer the use of our complementary snorkel equipment, bicycles, surf boards, fishing poles and body boards. We are looking forward having you stay with us. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel Tamarindo
Sueno Del Mar Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing