We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An intimate and unique experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 48 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An intimate and unique experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our last hotel stop on our Costa Rica trip and it was truly on of our more memorable stays! After 10 days of driving around the country we were just looking for a place to relax and enjoy our last few days in the sun and we got exactly what we were looking for. I had initially planned to book Capitan Suizo and I'm happy it got sold out because everything about Sueno Del Mar was unique. Loved our room (we stayed in the Mischa suit), the 3 course breakfast was so tasty, the hammocks by the ocean and the personable staff! For anyone who is looking for something unique and intimate - don't look any further!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParreParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
159
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Situated in a secluded beach front spot but close enough to town and all its bars and eating venues. Wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, a brilliant eclectic mix of furnishings (I smiled at the cow skull toilet roll holder), loved the open air shower and the comfortable outdoor space with its hammocks and sofas. Breakfast was a feast and always a delight.
The owner and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliafei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had my beach wedding here and was delighted that sueno del mar was even more beautiful than I imagined it could be! The decor is so thoughtfully done, it has an idilic rustic edge with so many personal touches. You definitely feel at home here. At night the watchman lights candles a long the walkways which make it look magical! The breakfast literally is a 3 course meal! I have never had a pudding at breakfast before!
I would recommend for any special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otterlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you like seclusion, luxery, and being pampered, you will find it all here. The rooms in this small hacienda style B & B are beautifully decorated and include simply everything. The breakfast is delicious, prepared with fresh local ingrediences, the staff is ever so helpful, pleasant and friendly. The little patch of beach is your little patch of paradise. Don't expect pristine sand to your left and right: The Sueno del Mar's beach is on a cliff, where you can splash and snorkel in a natural pool at low tide, and enjoy the view of substantial waves crash on high tide. It's quiet, and thanks Heaven lacking that annoying piped music, obnoxious animators, screaming kids and barking dogs - heaven for adults! THE place for couples or singles on a well deserved time-out.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms: one honey moon room, one small apartment, but ALL rooms are delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful property with a pretty beachfront, and nature right at your doorstep. Architecturally reminded me of Spanish / Asian influences (there is probably a better description on the website). We had booked a room here for 2 nights, and later wished we could have stayed longer. There was a tree right outside our room frequented by howler monkeys, wow!!! Maintenance of such a property with the salt air and jungle atmosphere must be tough and it is well appreciated. Our room (called Gecko) was very comfortable, where the A/C worked well (it was needed at night when we were there in May). Staff was helpful and provided great suggestions on places to go for food, sightseeing etc. The 3 course breakfast was delicious, and prices for drinks for the rest of the day was reasonable; self serve honor style from fridges located outside the kitchen, local beers US$2.50 :-). Best thing: pure relaxation and enjoyment of nature. Worse thing: 5 min drive from town to the B&B as road was full of potholes, we were glad to have an SUV, but saw plenty of cars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love Sueno. It's my favorite spot for breakfast with friends, a romantic breakfast, to watch the sunset, and to relax with their amazing beach views, hammocks, and beach front day bed. I can't say I would recommend another b&b anywhere else. This is also a dream spot to get married because it's so tiny and intimate (and private). Sol and Susanne will definitely take care of you, and Lili will make you the best breakfast you've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knstinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from 6 days at Tamarindo. It was my first trip to Costa Rica and I had no idea what to expect. When my daughter and I arrived at Sueno Del Mar, it felt as if we had just arrived to stay with family. The place is stunning. Eduardo and Susanne were so friendly and helpful. And then there was Lily who served us these amazing breakfasts every morning. My daughter so loved her picante sauce that she made us a bottle to bring home. Then there was the amazing ocean views, the sunsets and the delight of being woken by a family of Howler Monkeys every morning! They organized all of our outings for us, which my daughter loved (especially her surfing lessons). I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Rooms range in size but there is really no bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno del Mar is a boutique B&B on the beach. We are know for our gourmet breakfast made with fresh local ingredients. On the beach we created a very comfortable setting with hammocks and lounge beds to relax and watch the incredible sunsets. Included in our room rates we also offer the use of our complementary snorkel equipment, bicycles, surf boards, fishing poles and body boards. We are looking forward having you stay with us. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Bed And Breakfast
Sueno Del Mar Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing