We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great value, good staff”
Review of Hotel Nahua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nahua
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, great value, good staff”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed there with 2 people for 1 night in May 2013 and got put in a MASSIVE room with 4 different beds that could sleep 8 people. It was the biggest hotel room I've ever seen. I guess it was normally a dorm style room but they put us in there as a private room for about $45 a night. They give discounts if you stay at least 2 nights and pay cash but you have to ask about it. AC, fan, mini fridge, closet, cable tv, and hot water. Very clean and quiet. Nice pool area with a little gazebo. Owner was very nice and spoke good English. Young guy with long hair working the front desk was also very helpful and spoke perfect English. Has security at night. Can walk about a minute and be on one of the main streets in town. About a 5 minute walk to the beach. One bad thing is that there are a BUNCH of mosquitoes on the property because it is a little dark and shady from all the trees.

Room Tip: Try to get the last room on the left. Quiet and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
20
62
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guilford, ct
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

They helped me book trips and transportation and a room in another city. It is a good price for this area. The monkeys come most mornings. Gabriella and Gita really try to go all out for you and make sure that you have the best time possible while you are there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmation999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Nahua, the room was large and well kept with a really pleasant a/c and ceiling fan combo. There was also a fridge and a safe and the room could take up to six people, all quite exceptional for that price. The only thing I want to point out, and i think someone here already mentioned it, the bathroom is separate, but the walls don't go all the way up to the ceiling which makes you lose a bit of privacy. The outside common area has hammocks and gorgeous lanterns and was magnificent at night! Also, howler monkeys swing by on some mornings :))

Room Tip: Some rooms come with a kitchenette! Ask for it if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in one of the rooms that is made for 5 or + people and let me say that it was a pleasant stay.
Let's be honest here, the hotel is way cheap and Tamarindo is a town made out of tourism. I was really scared first because I read all the reviews saying that there were bugs on the bed, no hot water (Not necessary by the way because Guanacaste is way too hot). But the room was clean, no bugs of course, hot water in bathroom and the gardens and pool are really great.
I will say this hotel is for travelers that want to stay in budget.
The hotel has good service overall but you'll still need a few things upon arrival that aren't considered and they're basics in other hotels.
Things you'll need: Soap, toilet paper, shampoo, a towel to go to the beach. They do offer a towel but just to use it by the pool or in the room (you can't take it to the beach).
Things to consider: At least in where I've stayed, the bathroom is a sub-construction inside the room, therefore they share the same roof. What I mean is that the bathroom is not compleately sealed; it has a door of course but you can hear everything inside and outside of the bathroom because the walls don't go all the way up.
Another thing is that the hotel doesn't have house keeping or room service; If you're planning to stay more than let's say 3 to 4 days, ask if they can send someone to help you cleaning the room. (I've just stayed for the weekend)
So, here it is... what I can say is that the price is right for this hotel, you'll get a good night sleep, close to the beach and close to downtown Tamarindo and nightlife. The pool and common areas are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sphak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I can not say enough about our stay here. The location is perfect, you are just a short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, the beach you name it. The rooms were very clean, no problems there at all. Common area was great with hammocks to lounge in and also a cool grill that you can use. The owner and her staff were awesome. They were all unbelievably sweet and helpful. From casually chatting everyday about restaurants or general information about they area to helping us arrange a day trip to Rio Celeste to do the Volcano hike they were there to help. I would stay here over and over again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahhhndrea333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is off the main road a little ways so you don't get the traffic noise but its only a very short walk into the town and beach. It's also very close to a super market which is awesome especially when staying in a suite with a kitchenette. The common area is also very nice with a little grill and hammocks. When we were here, there was a bit of a mosquito problem. We spent about 15 min killing the mosquitos in our room and there are a fair amount out in the common area even during the day, which is strange. But it didnt ruin our stay or the fact that the hotel is great! The little breakfast cafe right next door is awesome and really convenient in the mornings. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren_751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Good location close to the beach and main bars, yet quiet.

Room was clean and nice though in a bit of disrepair. The fan squeaked from lack of oil or maintenance loud enough that it was hard to sleep with the fan on, but the AC worked fine. Sower badly needed repairs and the water was both coldish and low pressure, but the room (small apartment) was well laid out and friendly in every other sort of way.

Staff was very very friendly, I mainly met an Italian lady working there but also the nightwatchman who took my reservation was nice even though we had to use my basic Spanish to communicate :)

All in all a laidback and friendly place, well located. But dont expect top standard in the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank urbanemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#15 of 22 in Tamarindo
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nahua

Property: Hotel Nahua
Address: Calle Guanacaste | 125 Meters North of the Langosta Beach Crossing... From Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nahua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and hotel rooms around a lush garden with swimming pool, BBQ area and lazy corner. Only minutes from Tamarindo's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahua Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing