We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We loved this home like hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nahua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nahua
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Stayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved this home like hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Monkeys were super fun. Yes, they do go potty, but the management cleans it up promptly!
Owner and side kick Ali are fabulous!
Great to gather with other guests in outside sitting area!
We made life time friends and would love to return!
A gem in the rough, as facility is not like the Hilton, but neither is the hospitality like the Hilton, which is exceptional at Hotel Nahau!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyChalupsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
18
58
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had no reservation when we showed up to Tamarindo. The bus attendant from Santa Cruz brought us to Hotel Nahua. It was the best place we could of asked for. Great room at a great price with amazingly accommodating owner and manager. The place is set up to have a nice community feel. Also the trace and pool are very beautiful. We will definitely come here if we return to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel made me doubt Tripadvisor. After many great experiences in Costa Rica, I wound up staying here with my girlfriend and barely made it 1 night. The reviews were great so we thought everything would be at least ok...we were wrong. How are there so many great reviews?! I HAVE NO IDEA...unless the owners have figured out how to work the system. I was lying in a hammock outside (that was nice at least- anything was better than being in the room) and read the reviews and thought to myself "that is not a real review" while I looked around at the place. SO...read the bad reviews first. That's what this place taught me.
While on paper, everything about the hotel seemed promising, the room itself was a disaster. The outside public area of the hotel could be really nice, but the terrible plastic furniture and lack of maintenance (monkey poop everywhere) put a damper on what could be a nice place.
There was so much monkey poop outside our door when we arrived that we had to hold our noses entering our room. The woman who brought us in (who was very friendly by the way) mentioned the monkey poop (only she called it monkey $#it) and said it would be cleaned up...24 hours later it was still there and still smelled.
The room itself had a checklist of positives: refrigerator, fan (no A.C.), cable TV, and a mini-safe but the walls were covered in stains (seriously- and skid marks), the fridge had rust (or something worse) all over it, the floor was filthy, and the shower had NO HOT WATER. And there was NO DOOR on the bathroom so you turned the corner and BAM- bathroom. I wish I had a picture of this because it was MEMORABLE. Not even close to acceptable and I'm very forgiving.

Also in several reviews it was mentioned that this place was very safe (seemed like responses to bad reviews), but I have to say I was happy there was a mini-safe in the room because the lock on our sliding glass door did not fasten well (see pic), and there was a large gap that could easily be messed with (think crowbar). Also, there is no guard or attendant at the hotel entrance for the late afternoon/night so it would be easy for someone to walk right into the hotel and cause trouble. In fact, the lady who rented us the room encountered us at 9am the next day, didn't remember us and thought we were partyers who had wandered into the hotel (there are many MANY partyers in Tamarindo). So the safe in the room is necessary because there is no other security. In any case, the room was the worst room we had in 16 days in Costa Rica despite the superlatives in the other reviews. Ignore the Tripadvisor award on their website and reception area- it's a joke.

Overall Tamarindo is a college tourist trap, and we left after one night from this poorly maintained hotel for nearby Playa Grande which is much nicer, much quieter, and a bit more expensive but WORTH IT. No Monkey poop!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hollandvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

By far, the best deal for the money. I stayed here for 2 weeks in July and I have never felt more at home. It's convenient to everything and near to the grocery story and Wayra where me and my daughter were taking classes. Gabriella, the owner, was so cool about everything. I loved the variety of guests that stayed here--everything from families to 20 somethings. The front can be deceiving but once you go inside, it' s an oasis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evpredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We rented a room for 35$!!! A twin bed,shower ,AC ,and a small pool,more than enough when you are planning to do a lot of tours!!we love the idea of been close to everything !!supermarkets,restaurants,and the most important THE BEACH!!! Walking distance !!the place is very quiet and I have to be very honest the owner Gaby is so nice!!! She wants to help you and she loves to give you advice and recommend tours and she works with Alejandro ,this guy is a surf instructor, so we almost came back from costa rica without seeing him!! She was calling him because he knows all the tours and things to do in Tamarindo ,very nice person!! I highly recommend this place if you are not looking for luxury and you are going in a bugget plan ,Gaby and Alejandro are very good people and they will take care of you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great place, friendly and quiet but near everything in Tamarindo, nice pool area. Will stay there again! Close to beach, convenient to supermaket and restaurants, kitchenette with good fridge, comfortable rooms, excellent value. Surfing classes ans tours are arranged right there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I did a lot of research prior to our 9 day trip to Tamarindo and decided to stay at Hotel Nahua. Cheaper options are out there but not as nearly as nice as this place. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to stay without 'breaking the bank.' The owner Gabby and her staff are all great. She has invested much time and money in creating a little tropical oasis. My wife and I also took surf lessons with Alejandro and had a blast! Again, he isn't the cheapest out there in regards to surf lessons, but he is very passionate and you will actually get an instructor (unlike those offering lessons on the beach); I'd suggest paying the extra 10 or so dollars!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levi760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nahua

Property: Hotel Nahua
Address: Calle Guanacaste | 125 Meters North of the Langosta Beach Crossing... From Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nahua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and hotel rooms around a lush garden with swimming pool, BBQ area and lazy corner. Only minutes from Tamarindo's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahua Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing