We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great family, great hotel”
Review of Hotel Mamiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mamiri
Ranked #28 of 48 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great location, great family, great hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Beautiful family run hotel. Sergio and Teresa made us feel so at home. You can tell that this is a couple that truly enjoys what they do. Teresa and Sergio were so kind... they even had offered us their bikes to use for the day and their snorkle gear which was great since we had been sharing 1 set of snorkle gear between the two of us the whole trip! It was so nice to have a nice healthy breakfast included. Overall a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend staying here. Oh and did I mention that it was cheaper (and much nicer) than some of the popular hostels in the area??!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks Marisa, you also were so very kind. Your review helps us fulfill our dream of running a hotel.
We hope next time can be more days and we can do snorkeling from our sailboat!!!
Hope see you soon!!!! Goood year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    53
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
93
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in Mamiri Hotel in Tamarindo July 14th 2012 for 2 night with one of my friends. We weren't sure where the hotel was but it was worth looking for! The owners are simply fantastic. They are very welcoming and helpfull. There are a lot of hotels and hostels in Tamarindo, and it can be hard to make up your mind on one of them. We stayed in a room with one bed, it was decent size and it was very clean as well. They serve you breakfast in the morning, 2 crepes and a bowl of fresh fruits, delicious!! I liked the fact that the hotel is not situated where all the bars and clubs are, so you are not disturbed by the noise, but if you want to party it's maybe a 5min walk to all the action. Our friends recommended this place to us, and we were not disapointed!
The owners are a couple from Argentina and I really felt like they took care of their guests and they sure did take care of us. I forgot their names unfortunatly but the wife was always making sure that we did not bring to many things when we went out at night like passeport and other stuff, and she gave us her computer so we can skype with our parents. Her daughter sold bathing suits and she came to our room to show us what she had. It was bathing suits PARADIS!! We could only be there for 2 nights since we had to travel to Nosara, I had a great time thanks to the owners and their family!
Thanks again I hope to go back one of those days!!
Sue and Kat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks Sue and Kat for taking the time to write this wonderfull comment, it helps us a lot in the development of our enterprise and surely for your next visit will be able to enjoy new services to better stay!!!
You were very friendly and always smiling, was gratifying to meet you!!!
Hope see you soon!!!! Best regards.
Teresa and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just stayed here in July of 2012. The couple who run this place, Sergio and Teresa, are two of the nicest people. They make you feel very welcome and at home. For example, when I had some cuts from surfing Teresa gave me bandages and anti-bacterial cream. The place is very central, a 2 minute walk to the center of town, very clean and incredibly warm and hospitable environment. Oh yeah, and the prices are very reasonable ( I rented a room for just me at $28 a night). I stayed in a few other places in Costa Rica ad this place by far had the best vibe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments and time, we are here to serve and make you feel at home!!!! Your review help us a lot.
We hope see you soon with your family!!! Best regards!!!
Teresa and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

The new owners have been here for less than one year and they are doing everything right. Most of the past reviews were excellent, and the only bad reviews happened during the last year with the previous owners. Change is good.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arshallmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Gracias Scott por compartir con nosotros tus vacacione junto con Katty!! Y te agradecemos tu apoyo a nuestro emprendimiento ayudandonos con tus comentarios sobre el hotel en Trip Advisor. Besos para ti y Katty!!!
Thank you Scott for sharing your holidays with us. Thanks for your support helping us with this Trip Advisor awesome comment. Kisses for you and Katty!
Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

After traveling in Central America for 3 months we were happy to end our trip at Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo. The hotel is a small, cozy place with a nice garden. The family that owns it is lovely, and they live in the hotel and are always there to help. Breakfast is included in the garden where you can watch the birds trying to steal your food, pretty cute... I definitely recommend this place! Clean rooms and beds, air-conditiong, hot water, TV in the dining area and great little Italian restaurant right next door. / Rebecca & Max from Sweden

Room Tip: If it's hot outside, ask for a room with air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Gracias Rebecca! Los pajaros ahora traen a sus hijos..., pero ya estan mejor educados y esperan pacientes su plato de papaya en vez de robar los panqueques de Sergio... Nos has ayudado mucho tomandote tu tiempo para calificar nuestro emprendimiento en Trip Advisor!!! Esperamos verlos nuevamente, siempre seran bienvenidos! Besos para ti y Max!
Thank you Rebecca!, The birds still come and bring their babies now, although showing better manners and patiently waiting for their papaya plate instead of stealing Sergios pankakes. You've helped us a lot taking your time to post this review about our business in Trip Advisor!! We hope to see you again, you are always welcome!. Kisses for you and Max!
Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 night, late feb 2012.
Everything was great, Super nice place.
Staff was more than friendly.
Extremely good value for a place in tamarindo.
If you stay here chech out tsunami surf for your recreation needs, I found them helpful with everything.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments are helpful they will help us to improve until you return next season!!!
Best regards and hope see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was such a great find. 2 blocks to the beach, lovely rooms and bed had nice sheets (most places we stayed had pills on the sheets) no TV but a great TV in an outside courtyard and we had lots of fun watching the Australian Open finals with other guests. Breakfast is served to you in this courtyard - toast or pancakes (yum) with a large delicious selection of fresh fruit. Staff very helpful with suggestions and directions. On top of all this $35 for the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Muchas gracias por tan descriptivo comentario acerca de nuestro emprendiminento, Nos alegra haber logrado que pasen un lindo momento y se hayan sentido bien atendidos y orientados. Los esperamos las proximas vacaciones para salir a navegar!!! Saludos!!!
Thank you so much with your kind descriptive comment about our business. We are happy to highlight your moment and that you felt so comfortable and attended. We are looking forward for your return and hopefully we can all go sailing!
Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nahua
Hotel Nahua
#16 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahayana
Hotel Mahayana
#11 of 48 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#4 of 48 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hacienda JJ
Hacienda JJ
#2 of 48 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamiri

Property: Hotel Mamiri
Address: Mts Este Tower Pacific Park 150 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamiri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica`s North Pacific Coast, Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo Beach offers comfortable accomodations, in private rooms and apartments. A quiet escape in harmony with nature. Just 300 mts. From the white sands this warm hotel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, with helpful and friendly staff prides itself on making your vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.Hotel Amenities:Cable TV - A/C & Ceiling fan - Wireless internet & PC - Free breakfast - Safety box - Hot Water - Kitchen FacilitiesA short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurantsWe can provide sailing tours from our family sail boat and arrange surf classes or rent boards for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mamiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing