We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of local flavor and western comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
1 review
“Perfect mix of local flavor and western comfort”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. We were able to book all our attractions and tours the day before through the hotel with Pablo's help at the front desk. He was able to answer all our questions and gave us great suggestions.
The food at the hotel bar (Monkey Bar) was some of the best we had on our trip and was reasonably priced. The live music was great as well and our only regret was that we didn't get a chance to experience the atmosphere on a weekend night. The complimentary continental breakfast is very basic and consists of cereals, fruits, and toast. The hotel has a breath taking view of the beach and ocean that was an amazing start to every day. The hotel was a nice 5-10 mins walk from the center of town and just steps from the beach. Although we didn't have any issues, tourists should be cautious when walking back late at night since it's not directly in the center of town.
We stayed at the Tamarindo Vista Villas with the mindset to save money on a hotel so that we could spend more on excursions, we were pleasantly surprised at how the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.
If you decide to stay here, say hi to Pablo, Alex, Manuel, and Jeff for us!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_RunAways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    291
    135
    56
    56
See reviews for
198
323
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Vista Villas offers yummy food for all tastes at great prices and their pizza anf tacos are number one in Tamarindo.The owner Alejandro is a great host who does it all to make your stay special..from bringinging bands to making all go well.
The views are the very best in Tamarindo..with large very clean rooms.It truly is a family fun place were paradise is celebrated all day and every day and there is no better staff anywhere and I have been everywhere.
Great price and if you are going to Costa Rica go to Vista Villas and bite into paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Moderately priced, and could be a vary affordable trip if you are looking to budget. Or could spend a little more, if you like. Good excursions nearby, between an hour and 3 hours driving time to them. Right by beach, good surf spots. Clean rooms, clean pool. Very friendly staff. Haggle for a $60 cab ride from Liberia airport, they will want $80 to begin with. Bugs not a problem at all. You can find a "ladies night" nearby at a different bar every night, and they offer FREE drinks to ladies for a few hours between given times. Crazy!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_pickles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I use to visit Tamarindo few times a year but finally I found the right place
to stay.
Staff outstanding,Jeff the manager a gentleman who knows his job.
In few words.
ill be back soon.

Thank you and pura vida!!
robzonemissoula

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodigirlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Nice view but over priced at $130 + tax a night. There are plenty of other cheaper and/or better places to stay. The rate includes breakfast but it is continental only and that in itself is pretty average.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goforthandconquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We bargained with the friendly front desk clerk and only paid $80 a night for a one bedroom suite with ocean view near the pool. The price started off at $100. The room was comfortable and spacious with good AC and full kitchen with frig, microwave, etc. The pools in Costa Rica are not heated and too cool this time of year - same as this hotel. Good bar and bar food specials. Breakfast was included and was nothing special. Food in town was overpriced. Beach access was a long walk down the street. This hotel is across the main street from the beach. Good off street parking. Nice ocean views from the room and pool/bar area. We shopped at four different hotels before deciding on this one. This was a very good deal compared to the other hotels in this price range.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I had visited Tamarindo once before for a day and couldn't wait to return. Nearly FIVE years later I did and stayed here for an incredible weeklong trip. The staff - as all are Costa Ricans - are the friendliest people you will ever encounter. Their spirit, love for life and overall simple kindness is contagious and immediately welcomes and relaxes you upon arrival. The hotel is right across from the street and the "town" is walking distance (but best to pay 1000 collones (1 USD) for a cab at night). The view is georgeous the hotel bar is a great place to greet sunset during their evening Happy Hour - $2 beers and daquiries. The rooms are standard - if you are traveling to CR, you are here for the country, not for a high class hotel experience. You can get that anywhere from Cancun to Florida...in Tamarindo, you get Tamarindo. I pity the folks who decide to go the all-inclusive route in CR b/c you don't understand the rare spirit that is Tamarindo.

This is a great hotel! Highly recommend taking a surfing lesson (Witch's Rock was awesome!), Copa Copbana, Nibbana and Palapa for great drinks/food on the beach. Pura Vida

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackburn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing