We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice small clean hotel, great service staff , good food at reasonable prices, nice pool and bar area and wonderful happy people, especially Susana. She is happy, has a great sense of humour, and is most of all, very good at her job as is Natalie, both work in the restaurant/ bar. All the staff seem to really like working there and it shows everywhere. The hotel is across the street from the beach and short walk to other restaurants. Prices at the restaurant in Tamarindo were a little higher than we thought but still ok. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and can't wait to get back to Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms, great for morning coffee and afternoon beers for watching the surfers.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

You know you are on to something: Our staff is genuinely happy to work here! And why not, we are a fun, safe place with clean, reasonably priced rooms. Our restaurant serves good food, and the bar is a great place to hang out and meet people. Of course, you noted that our ocean views are the best and we highly recommend the Tamarindo sunsets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 951 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for one week in February and had great time. We should break down each item, individually, to be the most helpful.

Pros: The staff! Everyone was absolutely amazing and helpful. Shouts out to Gisele, Adolfo, Natalie, Hazel, and Mikiel, Each of these people were incredible in making our trip a memorable one. We booked tours, spent lazy days on the beach, and drove to other beaches for a well-rounded experience. Also, the location was great. It was a little bit of a walk to town, but the view from the hill was amazing! It was nice to be away from the business of the town and feel like you were away from it all. The beach is directly across the street, so not a problem for distance. It is also one of the closest hotels to the boats that can take you to Playa Grande. Additionally, the happy hour was great. And, the Friday night party was fun! We went to sleep before it was over and had no problem with the noise. Lastly, the parking was fine, especially in comparison with other hotels in Tamarindo. Oh, and there are numerous animals at the hotel...you don't even need to venture far to see wildlife!

Cons: I think the only real "con," maybe, was the local kids at the pool (or maybe the employees' kids?). We are fine with kids having a good time, but the kids were there every day, running around, squirting water bottles and popping off the tops, wreaking havoc and creating huge messes. Although there appeared to be supervision, no one was "supervising" them as to appropriate behavior. It just brought down the environment of relaxing and being on vacation just a little, especially when this happened every day. We felt uncomfortable and we couldn't enjoy the pool we were supposed to be guests at.

We will return to Costa Rica, and if we come back to Tamarindo, we will definitely return to Best Western!

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view, it is well worth it! We felt the extra money for the kitchenette may not be wo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocpair29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit with us. We gather that the experience was positive overall, as you liked our location on the hill, a little apart from the bustle of town. This affords our guests the ocean views, and of course, as you stated, we are just across the street in a quieter part of the beach. As to the kids in the pool, that generally happens on weekends when the children are out of school, not during the week. And once a month we host a church group who bring their kids to enjoy pizza and the pool. We feel it’s really important that we are a part of the local community, rather than be elitist. Our doors are open. Keep in mind, we have Roberto, our security at the pool on weekends to make sure that things don’t get out of hand. Our guests are very, very important to us and we want them to be able to enjoy a restful experience at our pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from Tamarindo and had a wonderful time staying at the BW. The staff was excellent (very friendly) and we were pleasantly surprised by our room. We stayed in one of the suites with a partial ocean view. I would recommend these rooms due to their size and location in the hotel. They're a little further away from the pool area / bar which throws a big party on Friday nights. We could barely hear anything from our room. You don't get the grand view you get from the hotel rooms or full ocean view suites but the views are everywhere so we didn't miss having it from our room. The pool area was just right for the size of the hotel. Not too busy and very comfortable (we liked that the pool water was cool...refreshing and the swim up bar was another treat). Another advantage to this hotel is the location. Very short walk into town and restaurants/beach right across the street. I don't think you can beat this place for the price. It's easy in Costa Rica to get isolated at your hotel with few options to get you to populated areas like Tamarindo. Location is key. I would recommend this hotel, Tamarindo and Costa Rica as an excellent choice for you next beach vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 100's - These are the partial ocean view suites.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Pros:
+ near to center of Tamarindo (10 minutes to walk)
+ really comfortable bed and pillow
+ friendly english-speaking staff
+ big variety of breakfast included (but not fresh and too sweet)
+ big pool with cold water (could be warmer)
+ great view from bar to the beach
+ price was okay


Cons:
- hotel area needs refurbishment (old bathrooms, old pool and bar)
- wifi signal in the room really poor, but at the pool it works better
- toilet tends to get blocked
- first they charged a higher colones amount
- ants in bathroom (at arrival)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are, quite frankly, happy that you gave us the 4 stars, even if you were less than satisfied with your stay. We certainly do have a great staff, not to mention an outstanding view of the ocean from the restaurant and bar. All this, and reasonably priced rooms too!

However, some of your commentary needs to be addressed in order that readers of TripAdvisor get a totally fair picture. For example, cold water in the pool? Come on, it’s 80 degrees here year round, and the only explanation for slightly less warm water would be that the Papagayo winds do blow up around here in January and February. The ocean tends to get cooler from those seasonal winds, so it’s possible that the temperature in our pool may have dropped some. But with the heat from the sun, who doesn’t like to cool off in the refreshing pool? Honestly, we don’t know how much better we could make our pool; just last year we completely redid it with new tiles and floor. It’s quite gorgeous.

Toilet’s blocked? What did you put down there? We post clear signs indicating that no paper products should go in the toilets—which is the custom all over this country—as the pipes can’t handle that waste. Finally, as all the hotels are essentially built in the dry forest, it’s not a surprise that the occasional insect should make its way inside. After cleaning the rooms each day, our housekeepers do a spray to eliminate whatever ants and such managed to get into the rooms. That would explain why you didn’t see any ants after your checkin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is now my 3rd time staying at the Best Western in Tamarindo Costa Rica and each time it gets better and better! They have updated most of the rooms with really nice bathrooms, and storage areas in the closets (great for someone is organized like me!). The staff as always was amazing and so helpful!!!! From the bar staff, room staff, front desk, maintenance, and our booking contact. The staff is amazing and once you meet everyone you remember all their smiles - Jessenia, Susanna, Adrian, Sharon (BEST BARTENDER 3yrs in a row in our books!!!) , Hazel, Erica, Nathalie, Adolfo, and Ellen. And we can't forget the person who makes it all happen! Trevor!!!! It was great seeing everyone again and we look foreword to our next trip! This time we did so many activities thanks to Tom Sol of "Sol Eco Adventures Costa Rica" (you can find him on the beach!) we did zip lining, paddle boarding, kayaking, catamaran boat rides, and much more thanks to all his help planning and contacts!!!

Room Tip: No Fitness center.. But there is a nice pool, the beach right across the street and local surf shops...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaA161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Aw Lisa, we really do love you and love having you come visit us when you do. You really know how to have a good time, and we are glad that we are able to contribute to your great vacation each time. Each low season we make the effort to renovate and upgrade our property, and you were in one of the newly updated Tropical Suites on the first level of the hill, which afforded you a view of the gardens and a bit of ocean. Of course, any guest who wants a full ocean view would have a selection of rooms and suites to choose from. We are already hearing rumblings that you will be back again over the next few months. We can’t wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice room, nice view and nice staff. What's not to love? The staff was super helpful in booking activities and transportation. The pool and restaurant area are great and have an amazing view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked this hotel from Canada and left after one night of a four-night booking. Perhaps the hotel is good for families or people on limited budgets, but the rooms are small (we had to step around our two suitcases on the floor), access to the uphill hotel is by a steep gravel road (you have to carry your heavy luggage over the gravel) with minimal parking at the top; linens are frayed and gray, and the beach is not as close as indicated in the hotel's pictures. The one highlight was the young woman in the reception "hut" -- Wanda?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Sue, we are so disappointed that you had a less than wonderful experience with us. It’s important that you know that we have basic rooms that are cozy, but indeed have large suites if a guest requires more space. Too bad we didn’t know you were uncomfortable as we could have tried to make other accommodations for you. In addition, we do offer assistance for guests who have luggage, and not only are there parking spaces on the second level, but more just past them on another level. As to our linens, they are always upgraded and new, and the beach is across the street, less than a 2-minute walk. We hope that the positive reviews reflected on this site will tell a more accurate story about our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.1 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $61 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing