We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better this year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“better this year”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

an annual place to stay, improvements being made. still needs ac work in some rooms. management accommodating. mono loco is the highlight. breakfasts getting better. view is spectacular, nice pool, easy entrance to beach.

Room Tip: when checking in, before you unpack, check ac for an hour, you may have to change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks Michael for your nice review, and of course, we are thrilled that you are one of our regular returning guests. We must be doing something right!! You noticed the upgrades that we have made on many of the rooms, the pool, and the pool deck, and as we are moving into a slower time of year, we have started on some more room improvements. Already we have put in a bunch of new air conditioners, as needed. Glad we can count on you to visit us again soon. We’ve got a drink waiting for you at the Crazy Monkey Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    288
    133
    54
    55
See reviews for
195
317
80
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Most of the reviews are correct, in my view. This is not a fancy place, but it's exceptionally clean, and the staff takes pride in making sure each guest is not only comfortable, but at home. I have traveled quite a bit, but I have never met a warmer staff -- Jesenia, our lovely maid, Marisol, who took care of my needs, and Fernando, our bartender who renewed my love for rum and ginger ale. . . Vista Villas is situated in a convenient spot -- near the pharmacy, surf shop, restaurants, and more importantly, the best beach I have ever experienced. . .

Room Tip: The party on Friday IS loud, but they do hand out ear plugs. Also keep in mind there are a lot of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We really appreciate you kind words, especially about our “incredible” staff. It’s the folks who work here, including longtime employees Jesenia and Fernando, as well as new receptionist Marisol, that make us so special. Additionally, Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas is a basic, clean, reasonably priced hotel that offers simple rooms or large suites, whatever the need. And you can’t beat the location, at the beginning of the beach, close enough to the infrastructure of Tamarindo, but far enough away to offer great views. Thanks for mentioning our free ear plugs for Friday night. Surprisingly, not too many people take us up on them, but we want to make sure that should the need arise, we’re ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The only downside of this hotel is the dance party on Friday night. We got no sleep because of the loud music. Aside from that, my family of four enjoyed the full kitchen, ocean view, great location, and friendly staff. Had a few toilet problems from the beginning, but the staff kept coming up to fix it. Tamarindo is a party town though. The beach is great, but it's geared more toward the younger crowd. Nonetheless, I would recommend this hotel for any kind of traveler, just avoid Friday night unless you want to stay up all night.

Room Tip: Avoid Friday night if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We make no effort to hide the fact that we have a very popular Friday night Latin Salsa party, and people come from all over the country to have fun with us. By publicizing it, we give those who don’t want to participate in the activities an option to find another hotel. However, we are glad you opted to stay with us, and are only sorry that you didn’t take advantage of the ear plugs we offer at our front desk. (Most people don’t have a problem with the noise, but every once in a while, someone gets disturbed by the music.) Sounds like you were in one of our large Corona Suites, and we’re pleased that you did get to enjoy yourselves the rest of your stay. As to Tamarindo, we think the town has something for everyone of any age, and the variety of guests attest to that theory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

the accommodations themselves were nothing spectacular. The rooms radically need updating or a sense of interior décor. It took our maid two days to figure out there were guests in the room and actually clean well. When we first checked in the condition of the room was sub par. We had laundry done at their facilities. We were promised clothes by that evening but somehow they did not get delivered until the next day. The first night in our room we found a large crab walking around the living room. While I understand this is Costa Rica and bugs and critters are prolific here finding a large critter in an American chain is simply unacceptable. The third night there we found a gargantuan 6" spider. While the hotel made some attempts to weather-strip, the underside of our sliding door had about a quarter in gap underneath which explained the critter infiltration.
Breakfast was continental and consisted of fruit, cereal, milk, coffee and yogurt. Costa Rican hotels often provide warm breakfasts everywhere else we have stayed so this was a disappointment. You could order a warm breakfast from the kitchen for about $6.50 which was pretty good but should be included for guests like other establishments.

The location is terrific and right at the edge of town so it cant be beat. The AC while cold was reminiscent of a jet turbine which is also a good thing when the Friday party at the bar rolled around. The premises are also well secured. Internet was spotty at best. Overall the stay was decent. Not great, not bad but decent. This place could be so much more if the owners would spend some money on CapEx and improve the property!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drakave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We read your review with great interest because we always want our guests to be happy, and it always concerns us when we find out that someone left less than satisfied. However, we are hard-pressed to figure out how to make you happy. Interior design is a personal taste, and most of our guests are happy with the Costa Rican style of our hotel. We advertise ourselves as a simple, basic place with good value. It sounds like you were looking for a luxury resort, which do not purport to be. In addition, we make no secret of the fact that we serve a Continental Breakfast, as this is advertised with our promotion with all the online travel agencies and our receptionists inform guests of this fact when checking in. You had the option of choosing another more expensive hotel which factures in a hot breakfast in their higher prices, but you choose us instead to check into our place even knowing in advance what to expect in the morning. And finally, what makes you think that the fact that we are a Best Western gives us any more of an advantage against the “critters” of Costa Rica? We do our best, fumigating and spraying on a regular basis to keep the insects out, but we wouldn’t want to do anything to the lovely—and harmless—beach crabs on the very rare occasion that one makes its way up the hill to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just returned from a week's stay at the Best Western Vista Villas in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. The suite was very roomy, clean with an ocean view. The beach was literally across the street, at the perfect location (IMHO); at the far end of the main street-away from the major foot traffic. It was quiet, and our maid Jesenia worked around our schedule and kept our suite spic and span. We were there in the low season, so it was more families with kids than tourists. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. My only complaint was that the air conditioner in the room was not strong enough--it Costa Rica in July, it can get quite hot and moist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a powerful ac, on the first floor--you'll be farther away from the pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Christopher for writing your nice review of the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. It sounds like you were in one of our suites, which have one bedroom, a living room, kitchen, dining room and a patio or balcony with various types of ocean views. Because we are located on a hill at the location towards the beginning of town, most of our rooms have a nice view of the Tamarindo waves. We really appreciate your recommending us to others, that’s the kind of thing that keeps us a popular place. See you again soon, okay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I own a small surf/vacation travel company in Cape May Court House, NJ. I run trips to Costa Rica that include surfing and sightseeing with groups ranging in age from 18-60. The Vista Villas is in the perfect location to surf world class waves in the morning, go zip linging or horse back riding in the afternoon, then have dinner on the edge of the beach in Tamarindo at night. I usually bring a diverse group of travelers, and there is always something to do.The rooms are spacious and always clean and comfortable due to their outstanding staff including my favorite chambermaid Jesenia. I especially like the suites because you have a full kitchen for eating in or storing late night snacks. The pool is perfect after a morning surf with a view of Tamarindo bay that stays with you forever. My groups usually spend a lot of time at the swim up bar, especially with Bartenders like Fernando, he makes you feel right at home. If you get a chance check out the view from the web cam on thesurferersview.com, its the same view from your balcony, the same view that hooked me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We gotta say Joe, we love having your groups come and stay with us every year, and now it looks like it may be even more than that. You and your people are great to have on the property, and we always go out of our way to give you the rooms you want, whether Tropical Suites or our 3-bedroom Imperial Suite. Everybody is seen enjoying themselves at our Crazy Monkey Bar for meals or lounging the ocean view pool after a surf session. You are “perfect” too. Jessenia, Fernando and the whole staff can’t wait to see you again in November this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We got hooked up with a suite which had an amazing view from the balcony. The room was huge, but a little dated. None the less it was pretty clean for the age. The swim up bar was one of our favorite features. The water was nice and warm so you can sit in and drink. The party there on Friday Nights. It gets busy for the younger crowd. You do have to walk across the street to get to the beach but it wasn't an issue for us.

The breakfast was basic like regular American continental breakfasts. You can order better food, but cereal, toast, and fruit is about it for free breakfast. It is budget friendly though!

Room Tip: get up high to see the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDGEDREAD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are glad to hear that you appreciated your Corona Deluxe Suite, which is our biggest, newly renovated room with one bedroom, living room, dining room, kitchen, balcony and of course a fantastic view. Guests can also enjoy looking at the ocean from our pool, where you cozied up to the bar for drinks. We feel that being perched on the hill is a perfect situation because our guests are able to enjoy the Bay and sunsets, while only being steps from the beach itself across the street. Yay, budget friendly food, that’s delicious too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
1.0 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing