We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

the accommodations themselves were nothing spectacular. The rooms radically need updating or a sense of interior décor. It took our maid two days to figure out there were guests in the room and actually clean well. When we first checked in the condition of the room was sub par. We had laundry done at their facilities. We were promised clothes by that evening but somehow they did not get delivered until the next day. The first night in our room we found a large crab walking around the living room. While I understand this is Costa Rica and bugs and critters are prolific here finding a large critter in an American chain is simply unacceptable. The third night there we found a gargantuan 6" spider. While the hotel made some attempts to weather-strip, the underside of our sliding door had about a quarter in gap underneath which explained the critter infiltration.
Breakfast was continental and consisted of fruit, cereal, milk, coffee and yogurt. Costa Rican hotels often provide warm breakfasts everywhere else we have stayed so this was a disappointment. You could order a warm breakfast from the kitchen for about $6.50 which was pretty good but should be included for guests like other establishments.

The location is terrific and right at the edge of town so it cant be beat. The AC while cold was reminiscent of a jet turbine which is also a good thing when the Friday party at the bar rolled around. The premises are also well secured. Internet was spotty at best. Overall the stay was decent. Not great, not bad but decent. This place could be so much more if the owners would spend some money on CapEx and improve the property!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drakave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We read your review with great interest because we always want our guests to be happy, and it always concerns us when we find out that someone left less than satisfied. However, we are hard-pressed to figure out how to make you happy. Interior design is a personal taste, and most of our guests are happy with the Costa Rican style of our hotel. We advertise ourselves as a simple, basic place with good value. It sounds like you were looking for a luxury resort, which do not purport to be. In addition, we make no secret of the fact that we serve a Continental Breakfast, as this is advertised with our promotion with all the online travel agencies and our receptionists inform guests of this fact when checking in. You had the option of choosing another more expensive hotel which factures in a hot breakfast in their higher prices, but you choose us instead to check into our place even knowing in advance what to expect in the morning. And finally, what makes you think that the fact that we are a Best Western gives us any more of an advantage against the “critters” of Costa Rica? We do our best, fumigating and spraying on a regular basis to keep the insects out, but we wouldn’t want to do anything to the lovely—and harmless—beach crabs on the very rare occasion that one makes its way up the hill to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    280
    129
    52
    55
See reviews for
176
303
79
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just returned from a week's stay at the Best Western Vista Villas in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. The suite was very roomy, clean with an ocean view. The beach was literally across the street, at the perfect location (IMHO); at the far end of the main street-away from the major foot traffic. It was quiet, and our maid Jesenia worked around our schedule and kept our suite spic and span. We were there in the low season, so it was more families with kids than tourists. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. My only complaint was that the air conditioner in the room was not strong enough--it Costa Rica in July, it can get quite hot and moist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a powerful ac, on the first floor--you'll be farther away from the pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Christopher for writing your nice review of the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. It sounds like you were in one of our suites, which have one bedroom, a living room, kitchen, dining room and a patio or balcony with various types of ocean views. Because we are located on a hill at the location towards the beginning of town, most of our rooms have a nice view of the Tamarindo waves. We really appreciate your recommending us to others, that’s the kind of thing that keeps us a popular place. See you again soon, okay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I own a small surf/vacation travel company in Cape May Court House, NJ. I run trips to Costa Rica that include surfing and sightseeing with groups ranging in age from 18-60. The Vista Villas is in the perfect location to surf world class waves in the morning, go zip linging or horse back riding in the afternoon, then have dinner on the edge of the beach in Tamarindo at night. I usually bring a diverse group of travelers, and there is always something to do.The rooms are spacious and always clean and comfortable due to their outstanding staff including my favorite chambermaid Jesenia. I especially like the suites because you have a full kitchen for eating in or storing late night snacks. The pool is perfect after a morning surf with a view of Tamarindo bay that stays with you forever. My groups usually spend a lot of time at the swim up bar, especially with Bartenders like Fernando, he makes you feel right at home. If you get a chance check out the view from the web cam on thesurferersview.com, its the same view from your balcony, the same view that hooked me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We gotta say Joe, we love having your groups come and stay with us every year, and now it looks like it may be even more than that. You and your people are great to have on the property, and we always go out of our way to give you the rooms you want, whether Tropical Suites or our 3-bedroom Imperial Suite. Everybody is seen enjoying themselves at our Crazy Monkey Bar for meals or lounging the ocean view pool after a surf session. You are “perfect” too. Jessenia, Fernando and the whole staff can’t wait to see you again in November this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We got hooked up with a suite which had an amazing view from the balcony. The room was huge, but a little dated. None the less it was pretty clean for the age. The swim up bar was one of our favorite features. The water was nice and warm so you can sit in and drink. The party there on Friday Nights. It gets busy for the younger crowd. You do have to walk across the street to get to the beach but it wasn't an issue for us.

The breakfast was basic like regular American continental breakfasts. You can order better food, but cereal, toast, and fruit is about it for free breakfast. It is budget friendly though!

Room Tip: get up high to see the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDGEDREAD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are glad to hear that you appreciated your Corona Deluxe Suite, which is our biggest, newly renovated room with one bedroom, living room, dining room, kitchen, balcony and of course a fantastic view. Guests can also enjoy looking at the ocean from our pool, where you cozied up to the bar for drinks. We feel that being perched on the hill is a perfect situation because our guests are able to enjoy the Bay and sunsets, while only being steps from the beach itself across the street. Yay, budget friendly food, that’s delicious too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to costa rica for our honeymoon. By simple stroke of luck we ended up staying in tamarindo at the Vista Villas Best Western. What we learned while in costa rica was how rich in culture the entire country really is. The last place we expected to experience that culture was in the tourist surfing town of tamarindo, instead it found us. We never had to leave our hotel before experiencing some of the most genuine and caring ppeople in the world simply by going to the restaurant in our resort. I believe the first person I met was adolfo at the check in, I didnt expect much when I arrived but he turned out to be my drinkin buddy and good friend while there and we still talk. Next also one of the most caring and fun people was Sharom our bartender who also turned into a good friend by the end of the first night. Of course on of my favorite people that also lived and worked at vista villas was Fernando, this guy knew about my seahawks and was hilarious and as caring and helpful as sharom and adolfo. They really made a huge impact on our stay in the country. I dont know when we'll go bavk for certain at this point but I know my wife and I will keep in touch with our friends and one day go back :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joegunz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is a bit older but they seem to be making changes. Some of the rooms are being updated. Ask for the third floor... It has nice ceiling lights and a good sized bathroom. Breakfast is included and the price is still reasonable. Tamarindo prices are utterly ridiculous overall. including the food. Dinner is like eating in the Hamptons, NY almost .......They gave us a complimentary crepe for breakfast which is almost unheard of here in CR. You usually dont get free stuff. It is a short walk to the beach, which is still nice, especially early in the morning and at sunset...beautiful. So I am not giving up on this place yet...but needs a lot of work still.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grossen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were a party of six adults and three children who stayed in the Pilsen Suite for 5 nights. It is a small house with two bedrooms just up the steps from the main gate. I couldn't find any info online before we left about the suite, so didn't know what to expect. We were happy with it in the end. It has a nice size kitchen with fridge, microwave, two small burners (we didn't use them) and plenty of dishes. There was a full size bed in one room, bunk beds in the other and a twin bed in the "living room". I would have preferred a pull out couch, but it worked out. The bathroom was standard. There is also a small table on the front porch and another inside. I think it would be helpful to have another small one in the kitchen, as it's the biggest room in the house with a lot of empty space.

If you are looking for a luxury accommodation, this is not for you. The decor (curtains, bedspreads, etc.) really need replaced. There were holes in them. But the beds themselves were comfortable.

The casita is in a good location on the property because there ends up being no other guests around you and you are away from the pool so no noise from the Friday night party etc. The hotel was nice enough to drop us a note the day of the Salsa Party to try to help prepare us. Again, where we were it didn't bother us at all, but with kids, had we been by the pool, it would have been a real problem. Just because of the noise, but I was prepared for this.

The pool area is very nice with a great view of the ocean! We loved coming back for fresh water after being in the ocean. We even ate lunch and dinner up here twice and it was good. The beach is very close. Just across the street!

Everyone we met were very very nice and helpful. The housekeeping staff, the bar tenders, the two who work the front desk, all were great! We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: I suggest the Pilsen Suite if you want to be a bit secluded and if you are on a budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefairygodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your stay in the Pilsen Suite. It looks like you really got your money’s worth fitting 9 people into that Suite, as we offer it to sleep 5 comfortably. This is a special place to go when a group wants to stay together and be away from the main rooms. And, we heeded your advice about the curtains and replaced them right away. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and restaurant, two great amenities about the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. Whenever you want to come back, we’ll be ready for you. Although maybe you would want to try our 3 bedroom room the Imperial Suite. With 2 queen beds and 4 single beds you will be able to spread out a little more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing