We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Atmosphere:
As soon as my group drove into the resort, we were greeted by monkeys cooling off in the trees. The location is pretty good considering it's slightly far from the actual Tamarindo strip but, it gave me an excuse to explore the town more. In the morning you do get a slight view of the ocean but, hey the beach is very much walking distance from the hotel.

Rooms:
The room is fully furnished with fans, AC, a full kitchen, day beds, and a queen bed. Staying here for 5 days felt very comfortable. Jesenia was one of the house keepers, she was great, friendly, and always on point if we needed anything.

Other:
Breakfast in the morning is pretty good. Costa Rican roast coffee, pan dulce, cereal, and fruit are all the complementary breakfast. If you want a hot breakfast it'll cost extra. Save room for lunch and dinner. Plenty of great restaurants.

Wifi kind of sucks. Only certain areas of the room had really good connection. A good excuse to unplug anyway.

This place is really good for groups, family, friends, and people that want to get away.
I recommend this place.

Happy travels,

Jodi Mae

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

So nice of you to take the time to write such a nice review about us. We’re glad you noticed our welcoming committee, the Howler Monkeys. They do like our trees. Our owner chose the spot we are located for the placement at the beginning of Tamarindo on the small hill so that we would be across from the beach and afford each room a beautiful ocean view. We think it turned out great because it’s quieter on this end of town. With Jesina at your service, you stayed in our Tropical Suite, a one bed-room accommodation with kitchen, living room (with 2 day beds), and patio with partial ocean view. Our larger Corona and Corona Deluxe offer full ocean views, and are configured the same. Sorry about the wifi; not only do we have to deal with the internet provider’s sketchy service, but the country’s frequent electrical fluxes will turn off our routers. Although we reset those routers immediately, sometimes it’s not fast enough for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 955 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western the second week in March. The rooms are very spacious and the pool and swim up bar is great. Jesenia and Adolfo were two employees that were always happy and offered exceptional service. Will be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

You know, you made a good point…our staff does seem to be really happy. The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas is a great place to work, and that reflects on the employees and the wonderful service we provide. Thanks for the kind review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great hotel with nice view, close to the beach, friendly staff especially Floribeth from the reception
Nice swimming pool and good restaurant. Affordable rates even during high season. Very close to the beach and town, about 5 minutes walk, rooms are clean and well air-conditioned,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ula111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are grateful you took the time to spread the good word about us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our front desk staff, which includes Floribeth, are the best! We do try and keep the room rates in an affordable range so we get guests like yourself who want a good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed an ocean view room, it was clean and comfortable. The Friday Night Ladies Night was Lots of Fun and Not too Loud! We could easily walk to the beach and town from the Vista Villas. The surf Lesson given by Alan at the Vista Villas was the best !!! The View from the Pool and Bar is Spectacular! This is a Great Place for the Price and I will be back and have already recommended Vista Villas to others looking for a place to stay in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: 308 0r 310 ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are really pleased with your comments about our ocean view room, as well as the view from the pool. It’s nice to be backed up when we say that the Salsa Night is a popular event, and that we try everything possible not to disturb our guests. Thanks for mentioning Waves Costa Rica, our surf shop, which is the only Quiksilver/Roxy facility in Costa Rica, and the first in Latin America. A lot of people have been happy with surf lessons from Alan or Andrea, after all, Tamarindo is known for its surfing and everyone wants to be a part of it. Of course, there’s a wave waiting for you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were 4 days and 3 nights in Holy Week. The pool is open to the public so you can see a lot of people swimming. All days I see in the pool drink people with glasses and glass bottles (so dangerous). Friday at night the loud music rang until dawn. Impossible to rest.

Very good attention (+1) and beautiful place (+1). Great view at second level.

Room Tip: First level: 101, 102, ... has a not good view. Second level: 201, 202, ... has a great view to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoJimenezCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

To be fair, you stayed with us on the busiest week of the year. The entire town was packed with people on their Semana Santa (Holy Week) vacation. You’d be hard-pressed to find any hotel during this time that wasn’t sold out and filled with guests looking to celebrate a good time. Our suggestion would be to visit the beach at other times of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently spent one week at Tamarindo Vista Villas and was absolutely delighted with every aspect of my stay. As a single woman I felt safe, connected and valued. My room on level 2 was spacious, clean and had a wonderful view of the beach and the amazing sunsets. The room had a lovely table and chairs outside on a long garden-like balcony with a view of beach.
The food was great, prices reasonable, and in Tamarindo, they can get quite steep, but I did not find the prices at Vista Villas too high. The grounds and the pool area were meticulously clean and well kept, never too crowded, with lovely cool water to enjoy after a hot day at the beach. .

The location is superb, right across the street from the beach, and close to the estuary, where you can select several different excursions, if that suits you. They have their own surf shop to arrange lessons or rentals, if that is of more interest to you, and I overheard guests giving it a glowing review. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the town, all the restaurants, shops, pharmacies and liquor stores.

As far as the noise complaint listed in another review, I simply cannot understand how the reviewer could have experienced that at this hotel. The walls are thick stone/concrete walls, and I could hear nothing from the rooms on either side of me, and there were lots of young surfers going in and out..... it felt quite muted actually. I was there for the Friday night 'Ladies Night', my room was not far from the bar and I had no difficulty with noise. Sure I could hear it just a wee bit, but certainly it was not overly loud nor did it prevent me from sleeping. And I am not that sound a sleeper!

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so helpful, caring and thoughtful. They made every aspect of my trip easier and more fun. I must thank Floribeth, Adolfo, Johana, Maria, Sandra, Sharon, Fernando, Carlos, Bismark, Maria, Leo, Manuel, and Maria Jose for all their assistance and wonderful suggestions about where to go, where to eat and what excursions to go on. I would also like to thank Trevor for sharing his wealth of information about Costa Rica, and Tamarindo. He stops by every table at breakfast, and really wants to know how things are going and if his guests need anything.

This is a great, affordable and lovely hotel which I do not hesitate to recommend and will be sure to return to. Pura Vida, until next time:-) - Catherine Finlayson,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktsf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Wow, thanks so much, Catherine, for the glowing review. It is really important to us that you took the time to write in such detail about your great stay with us. Where to begin? In the last few years, we have upgraded our security on the property, so that we have closed circuit cameras, locked gates surrounding the rooms, and of course guards at the entrance and walking around the hotel. There is also someone dedicated to grooming the grounds and we are constantly upgrading the rooms and areas surrounding them. The location was chosen in the beginning to sit at the entrance to town on a hill so we could offer the beautiful ocean views, yet be close enough to everything. The beach is across the street and the center of Tamarindo is a short walk, about 5 minutes.

As to the Salsa/Ladies Night, we make it a point to put people who will not be joining us, as far away from the action as possible. Yet, you are right; we do have thick walls in cases you don’t want to come down to the party.

We think you named just about everybody who works for us in your review! It is our top priority to offer good service and we go out of our way to create a wonderful Costa Rican vacation location at a good, reasonable price. It would be our pleasure to have you return to the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. Just let us know when you want to come and we’ll take care of you from start to finish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Villas for four nights. We had originally bought the Groupon Deal for three nights ($169), which was honestly a steal for this hotel. The location of the hotel is great. Although it is not centrally located in the town of Tamarindo, it was only about a two-minute walk to the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen. The center of town featuring a multitude of surf shops, restaurants, and retail stores is about a ten minute walk, or a very inexpensive taxi ride. The staff at reception was extremely helpful, spoke fluent spanish and engligh, and were always happy to assist us with any sort of question or request. The food at the bar was very good yet not overpriced as one might expect. The pool/bar has an amazing view, though some of the bartenders were inexperienced and slow to complete orders even when the restaurant was not at all crowded. The room was clean, and cool from the AC and three cieling fans. Our maid, Jessenia was extremely nice, always smiling and chatting with us. All in all the trip was ideal. The groupon we had originally purchaed is still available, and we intend on returning very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for the nice review. We are always happy when our guests are happy, and we sold quite a number of those GroupOn discounted deals which seemed to please a lot of people. The GroupOn comes with our Tropical Suite, which is a nice one-bedroom suite with a kitchen, living room, patio and partial ocean view. The hotel, of course, has these other amenities including pool with swimup bar and the restaurant with an extensive, delicious menu that includes fish with choice of salsas, pizza, pastas, quesadillas, salads, nachos, fresh ceviche and so much more. You can eat while looking out over the ocean. We recently hired new bar and restaurant staff, so they were learning the ropes when you were here. Already, they have picked it up and are as helpful and friendly as the rest of us. We do the GroupOn deal at least once a year, so we hope to see you on the next go-around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#7 of 24 in Tamarindo
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
10.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $62 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing