We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value / Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

While part of the iconic North American chain, this hotel offers great value with a Tico flavour.
On the side of a hill right across the street from the playa, the split-level suites are fully appointed.
If you do not wish to surf, you can enjoy the beaches from your patio, or on the pool deck, next to the restaurant/bar.
Host Trevor, an ex-pat American, proves a wealth of information and direction, both locally and more distant, for those into exploring.
Tico staff are friendly and accommodating. When we visited at Christmas the howler monkeys were in the high trees on the property.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Wow, there’s nothing better than a 5-star review. Thank you very much. Although we are a Best Western, our hotel is privately owned, and we built and designed it in accordance with the Costa Rican vibe. Our location is very important, as we wanted most of our rooms and our pool to have a beautiful ocean view, so the spot on the hill overlooking Tamarindo Bay was perfect. Our staff—led by manager Trevor—are always trying to do our best to make your vacation great. We couldn’t ask for anything more than your great recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 955 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved this place....the spacious rooms were a nice surprise and Gilberth was very helpful answering our questions and giving us recommendations on excursions and places to go. Our housekeeper, Jessenia, also went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to others and would definitely stay there again. Also loved the location and being able to walk anywhere in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaJoDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We love your review and really appreciate that you would recommend us to others. As we are the only hotel in the area that has suites with a living room in kitchen, we think we offer something special to our guests. Gilberth has been with us only a short while, but he sure knows the town and is great at making recommendations. He seems to get a lot of props on TripAdvisor and we are glad to have on our staff, as we do our long-term employees like Jessenia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 1/12/13 to 1/19/13 and we were extremely disappointed. Brought the following to the management at the guard house and they said they would take care of it, but nothing happened. 1. Every day at least 10 to 15 (locals - not hotel guests) would come with their families up to the pool and stay the whole day, take all the available chairs and get loud and rowdy with the guests. According to the bartender, all they needed to do was spend a total of $10 and they could stay there all day. 2. The bar had no smoking signs posted at it, but bar staff and patrons would be smoking at the bar, in the pool and on the deck. 3. Received a notice from Hotel Mgmt for (World Famous Ladies Night with Las Palmas (band) - would be playing from 9pm to 1:30am - band stopped at 1pm and the dance party continued (80 decibels) until 2:30am. I went to the front desk at 1:30am and asked that they lower the music (no hotel staff - just a guard - spoke no english) and then went to the bar and the bartender told me it was out of her control. I was extremely disappointed in the staff and management at the hotel and I will never visit this location again. The only positive were the views from the rooms, weather, our maid was fantastic and we got to see the howling monkeys a few days when we were there...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Whoa, we definitely are not the hotel for you. Besides our accommodations, we are a community minded hotel. Of course, we allow the locals to come and enjoy our beautiful pool because we want to be the place where everyone feels welcome. Afterall this is Costa Rican, and this is their land. We do find it hard to believe that all of our chairs—30 of them—were used up by locals! What an exaggeration. And just how did you come up with the exact decibel level of our Friday night Salsa party? That’s another example of stretching the truth. Finally, we do agree that employees shouldn’t be smoking at the bar, so those that were are no longer working with us. However, it is perfectly acceptable and legal to smoke at the pool and on the deck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Every morning we enjoyed the free breakfast at the pool area with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our room was very nice. Gilberth in the office was so friendly and helpful every time we needed something or had questions. He patiently allowed us to practice our Spanish with him, although he spoke English very well. Our housekeeper, Jessenia, was also very nice and showed us where there were some howler monkeys in the trees on the property. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello Jamie, thanks for taking the time to write such a nice bit about our hotel. There’s nothing like sitting on the deck, looking at the ocean and enjoying a meal. Our guests really enjoy that spot. And we are always eager to help anyone with their Spanish, which is, after all, the language of Costa Rica. Let’s get together and practice the next time you visit. Hasta luego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I ended my trip to Costa Rico at The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. My agent had booked
me in an expensive hotel at first and I asked him to find a more reasonably priced one. Of all the
hotels I stayed in throughout my vacation this was the one I would come back to. The staff made
my visit so wonderful. They were helpful, warm and friendly. From the front staff Floribeth,
Gilbert and Adolofo to Erica in the kitchen,etc. as well as Sixta who cleaned my room they were
so attentive.
My only disappointment was the pool. For some reason the waterfall was never turned on.
This hotel was just fine for me but it was the staff that made it great. I will hope to come back
at some time and see them all again.
Ellen Warshaw ( RM 209)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank InnkeeperNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Ellen, thank you for the wonderful praise. We adored you from the minute we met you and it was great having you on the property taking advance of all we have to offer. Yes, we are indeed a reasonably price hotel, but as you learned, we don’t skimp on amenities. And the waterfall at the pool goes on every day in the afternoon. Perhaps you just missed it? We’ll make sure you get to bask in the waterfall the next time your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay mainly because of the service. Adolfo was so friendly and helpful and always with a smile on his face. We met Gilbert on our way out, who was also very friendly. The people at the bar and at breakfast were also very helpful and pleasant.

We stayed in a corner suite that overlooked the pool and bar and had big balcony with a really nice view of the ocean. This was a great location until the party Friday night. We came back from dinner to find the pool and bar area packed with people. We knew there was going to be a band, but no idea just how big of a party it would be. We actually enjoyed our vantage point for a while. The band was really good and the show with the dancers with batons on fire were amazing! It was supposed to wrap up by 1:30, but it was well after 2:00 a.m when the music stopped. If we were in our 20's or early 30's this would have been great. But, now that we're late 40's fuddy-duddies, it was a little much for us. ;-p

As for the accommodations, the suite could definitely use some fixing up. The window over the shower, which is just a screen (no glass) had a tear in the screen, which is why I suppose we had a few bugs (one rather large insect) hanging around. Also, tiny ants were found in the kitchen area and bathroom. The shower had great water pressure, but no shower head... just a pipe where the water came out. The place has great potential and is a nice size, though.

All in all a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Certainly, it was nice of you notice that our staff is top rate, and we work very hard to accommodate our guests. However, we need to point out that you were staying in our newly renovated Corona Deluxe Suite which has been booked solid for the High Season. Because of the large volume of guests who stay in those rooms during this time of year, it can sometimes be difficult for us to get in, do a thorough inspection, and when necessary, make repairs. As a matter of fact, we have no way of knowing who exactly made off with the shower head, which was brand new from the renovations, but it likely disappeared right before you checked in. Now that we know about it, you can bet that we have taken care of the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything was clean and fine, great place to leave nice pool and bar. Good restaurant . Near from the beach and activity. Great place to surf and fishing. Quiet and nice. Lots of restaurant around also lots of store.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We like your review: short, simple, positive and to the point. That’s what we try to get across about our hotel, that when you are looking for a clean, basic place for a good price, you choose the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. And, as you said, you can’t beat our restaurant or location. Come back soon so we can get another chance to treat you right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#7 of 24 in Tamarindo
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
10.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $62 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing