We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and Happy place to stay, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and Happy place to stay, great staff”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Upon arriving ,the front desk clerk, Adolfo ,was very kind and helpful with information. I stayed 5 nights from Jan. 5 to Jan. 10, 2012 . My 1st room was #103A , a Tropical suite, which was very clean and roomy. A nice patio balcony , beautiful gardens and view of the ocean. Yesenia was a great help making the room very clean. After 2 nights I was upgraded to a even better room , #302, a Corona deluxe suite with a awesome view of the beach and surroundings. Patricia made sure that room was spotless also. The hotel had a very safe, pleasant and comfortable atmosphere. All of the staff were wonderful. The guests were very friendy.

The hotel restaurant and bar had good food and drinks located near the pool. Great view from the pool. The continental breakfast was great. If you wanted eggs or other breakfast , Evelyn was happy to serve you. She was great. I even met her in town at her families restaurant and she introduced me to her family. Always trying to make the guests feel welcome.

It was a very short walk across the street to the beach, which was spectacular. The hotel was very close to everything you needed. There was a bakery on the beach to have coffee and rolls in the morning ,convenience stores , a pharmacy and restaurants.
I travel often and I would recommend this hotel to anybody.
When i was checking out Erika and Adolfo were very helpful giving me advice.

Room Tip: Room 302 is great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ko851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate your kind words about your stay with us, especially the mention of our two types of suites, the Tropical Suite and the larger Corona Suite, and their distinct characteristics and views. Our staff was at your service, and in doing so took your notice. Since it is our purpose to make every guest happy with their stay, including their accommodations, their amenities and the service, we’d say were able to do our job with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    287
    133
    54
    55
See reviews for
192
317
80
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazú
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Due to a lack of availability, we decided to stay at the Best Western. The hotel was over-priced and very basic, but we had no other choice. The two young boys at the front desk quoted us a walk-in price, and upon checkout, we were charged much more than what we were told. The receptionist called her boss on the phone and told him the situation. Not knowing that we spoke Spanish, she told him that we were lying about the price that we were quoted. Long story short, it was very unprofessional and awkward for us. We ended up paying the original quoted price but left on bad terms.

On top of that, if you are looking for a place with a quiet and relaxing pool, look elsewhere. It's basically a community pool where a bunch of families with small children take their kids to swim. Literally anyone from the street can walk up and go to the pool... Overall, we expected more professionalism and better facilities for the price we paid. Plus, we didn't expect to walk away being called "liars".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank husker2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Let us first start out with the fact we pride ourselves in making sure that every single guest that stays with us, leaves feeling like they are part of our family, just look at all of our great reviews! Now, it is standard procedure for almost every hotel to keep a signed record of registration for every client who arrives (these forms include the price per night for a room). This process is set in place specifically in order to avoid these types of situations. In this case, when a hotel presents a SIGNED form with a price to a client upon checkout and the client denies the price, how would you expect the hotel to react? Should we let just any person waltz into reception and demand a discount because they say so? Do you just waltz into Burger King and say, "Hey, gimme that burger for half price 'cuz I'm a client and because that guy back there told me it was half price..."

This is the first and only time that we have faced this situation, and because we have never run into this situation before, we have thoroughly investigated the matter. Low and behold, the price on the signed registration form is our every-day normal price... We are 100% sure of this. Now, we do pride ourselves in providing great customer service (most certainly better than Burger King) so we have reviewed our security footage of the situation and found that the receptionist not only tried to oblige the customer, she went above and beyond the call of duty to do so. She first reviewed our computer system to check to see if there were any electronic notes left by the other receptionists (there weren't), she then proceeded to review the physically signed registration form (the price was the standard price), she then CALLS the other receptionist on his personal cell phone to ask whether or not they quoted a different price by mistake (he didn't), she checks all published price levels, including those from the prior year, to see whether or not the price demanded by the client even existed (it didn't), finally, she proceeds to call management to consult about the situation... So after all this, what action did we take to make sure the client left satisfied???? We offer the client a discount for taking too long during his checkout process...

What else could we have done? How much more honest could our staff have been? Who should be accusing who of being dishonest?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great hotel right in town. You can easily walk everywhere from here. The beach is right across the street. Great staff who was very helpful and fun. They have great internet speed as well. Huge showers. Only really loud and crazy on Friday nights for their weekly parties.

Pool area is great to hang out. Fernando was great..we went out with the entire staff most days. They were all really fun and took the time to work with our Spanglish or lack there of.

The staff killed it:
Marcos, Melissa, Marcia, Santiago, Virginia, Ericka, Adolfo, Evelyn and everyone else was the best.

So if you need a place to stay this is it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattwNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
We really appreciate your taking the time to give us a nice review. It’s kind of you to mention our location which is near enough to the center of town to reach it in a short walk, but far enough from the madness to offer a little privacy. And yes, the beach is right across the street, which is how we get the beautiful views. Lucky you getting to know the gang here at the hotel well enough to go out with them. We don’t ask them to do that for the job, that’s really going beyond the call of duty, but that’s how they are, really friendly and social.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

best western was a joy to stay at with friendly staff, privacy, great food and a nice pool with a view over the pacific rim that is stunning. lovrd all the staff and they sure smile a lot and help any time they are asked. i have stayed thwere for 3 different times and find it a home away from home. looking forward to my next trip, in mid jan./2012, hola

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. It says a lot that you return to our hotel again and again because of the staff, privacy, restaurant, and of course, the pool and its ocean view. Already you are on your 4th trip and we are so pleased to host you one more time. You make us a success story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Hotel is very basic, I would say three stars at best. Without the pool and setting I would defintely give it only two. That being said although the services are basic and there is no room service per say, I found the staff to be delightful, accomidating and most importantly helpful. A young woman by the Name of Erika and young man named Jaime at the reception were fantastic. They were very welocming and gave me great advice on what to do and where to eat etc. Erika also was great help in arraging internal flights, taxis and activities. When I asked to extend my stay during the hight of the season they made great efforts to make sure I didnt have to move rooms. In short I will be back soon for more.... defo recomend!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a small, family-owned hotel, with 30 rooms, and we pride ourselves on being a good value for a fair price. That said, we also offer excellent service to our clients so that while you are here, you feel that we go out of our way to make sure that all your needs are met. As you learned, the extra attention you get is worth the vacation. We are glad you will be coming back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were planning on one night, but Adolfo was so nice getting us when checking in, we stayed for five. Evelyn in the bar/restaurant was super nice and really tried to make sure anything we wanted was taken care of. in fact, the staff were all friendly and willing to take extra steps to make sure we had a great stay.
We have traveled a lot and the service here was about best we have encountered anywhere, including places where we have paid ten times as much.
Rooms were slightly dated, but were clean and we had great views from our balcony (where we spent less than fifteen minutes per day).
We would definitely stay hear again.

Room Tip: A room with a view and a balcony was worth it to us, but hotel is really so close to beach it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TODsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
We love hearing these kind of success stories, especially how you came to us for one night and ended up staying for five. It’s good to learn that our service is good enough to have that kind of effect on people. We want our guests to feel like they never want to leave us. Now that you have gone home, when can we expect you back again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Tamarindo vista villas is awesome, have a wonderful ocean view and there's not other place with a better staff. You arrive and meet with Ericka and her slave jaime or alfonso (they are so funny). Then Fernando, Evelyn and Marcia in the bar or Yesenia who keep the rooms in shape.
I wish i could come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 132meny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
You are so funny! You seem to know our gang so well, which is how we like it to be with our guests. Thanks for saying that we are “awesome.” That’s kind praise. The whole staff wishes you could come back soon, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
4.6 mi away
Best Western Camino a Tamarindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing