We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, attentive and caring staff, great for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We recommend this hotel! The staff here are great: the receptionist Ericka Zuniga Martinez makes sure everyone is happy and satisfied. The reservations manager Ellen Golden Zoe is on the top of her job, and ensures you get the best room for your needs: we initially booked a room that was too small for the three of us, Ericka and Ellen realized this before we even mentioned it to anyone; they called us and offered a free upgrade to a large two-room suite more suitable for a family. The hotel is steps away from the beach and the restaurants and souvenir shops, there is ample parking for your vehicle, free Wi Fi, pool, bar, etc. as a good hotel should have, but people who work here make all the difference! Nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisZaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thanks for recommending us to everyone! We especially appreciate the complements to our staff. They try hard to anticipate the needs of our guests and it looks like, in your case, their efforts paid off with a better vacation for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 953 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great place to stay in Tamarindo, with even greater people working there. Fernando, Katy and Kimberly kept the poolside drinks coming with a smile, making our trip all that more enjoyable. Thanks to their advice, I end my trip with a fantastic evening of sushi and dancing at the restaurant down the street which I won't soon forget! Wish I could be on a flight back there this weekend....

Room Tip: Upper floor for view and balcony a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickwilkensdpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

And we wish you could be with us as well! Thanks for the kind words about our bartending staff. They really know their stuff, not only about the drinks and food, but about the town of Tamarindo. Of course, what makes us so great are clients like yourself who do keep coming back with such great positive energy. So please, do you best to make it back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here for almost two weeks at the end of May, beginning of June, and enjoyed every minute of it!! First of all, the location is great. It's in a great beach city in Costa Rica, and only a 45 min drive from the Liberia Airport. There is a car rental service at the hotel which was decently priced, and the roads take getting used to, but you start to learn your way around. The views from the ocean view rooms are stunning! The AC worked great, and actually had to turn it down at night because it would get cold. Beds are a little uncomfortable and the pillows are flat, so I recommend asking for additional pillows. Sandra is super sweet and fantastic maid and will help you out with additional towels, etc. The closet had great storage space, and I never got any bugs in my clothes. Continental breakfast every morning was great, with an optional menu as well. The earlier you get there the better, the milk tends to be not as cold later in the morning, but you can always buy your own things at the grocery store (Auto Mercado), a 3 minute drive/15 minute walk down the road. Erica at the front desk and breakfast was super friendly, nice, and knowledgable. Trevor gave us great tips about exploring Costa Rica and airport information. Our room was right next to the Monkey Bar, and we had an early night on our second Friday - Ladies Night and the noise wasn't terribly loud and ended at 1am. I fell asleep easily to the music, but some ear plugs will do the trick. The pool is fantastic, open all day and night, with a swim up to the Monkey Bar where you can get outstanding service from Fernando! He was such a hard working bartender/server and so friendly and nice, and greeting us with a smile every time. Thank you staff for making an enjoyable and memorable stay for us!!

Room Tip: Book /night, not /pers. If you add ppl, no charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Wow, such great words about our hotel, we really appreciate everything you said about us. It sounds like you had a great vacation and stay with us. We try out best to make our guests happy and it looks like we did our job with you. From your ocean view room to morning breakfast to Friday’s Ladies Night, to using the pool day and night, you were definitely a part of our hotel, and we were mighty glad to have you. Please come back soon and share a sunset with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We recently stayed at the Vista Villas in Tamarindo. This property was not a bad deal for the rate we got. We originally booked the lowest priced room available and were upgraded to a tropical suite when we checked in, probably due to the low occupancy. Our room had a nice view of the ocean and a wonderful porch. It did have a full kitchen that we never used. There is no lobby but rather a room where you check in. Both girls working the desk were helpful during our stay. Only problem is they leave at 10 and there is no one available after that. One morning we needed a few extra towels and couldn't get any until the housekeeping staff arrived at 8. The bar on site is the Monkey Bar. Again, very quiet and not many people go there. It was also the rainy season and the whole town was kind of quiet as a whole. We ate dinner there one night and the food was decent. Typical bar food menu. We enjoyed our stay here and it served its purpose for this trip. The beach was a short walk across the street. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the heart of Tamarindo. Not a big deal but its a dark walk at night and there are no sidewalks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergutex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. It’s true that you stayed with us during May, what is traditionally the low season in Costa Rica, particularly in Tamarindo. People in the States have their children in school, and don’t typically travel during this month. However, as you discovered, it’s a great time of year to travel and get wonderful opportunities, like free upgrades and personalized service.

As you say, we are a good value hotel at a reasonable price with excellent customer service, and that’s what people come to expect from us. That’s what we deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas is an outstanding hotel for someone looking for a centralized location to stay when on a surf vacation or traveling to Tamarindo in Northern Costa Rica. The location of the hotel allowed us short drives to find many world class beaches with the type of surf that we were looking for. The rooms were a bit outdated; however, they were clean, relaxing, and very safe! The hotel and restaurant/bar staff were great to talk to and all of them were always smiling. Fernando and Kimberly were serving things up at the restaurant bar and both of them were very interesting people to talk to. They truly enjoy talking to thier guests while providing thoughtful tour recommendations and ice cold refreshments. Kimberly is a kind hearted and beautiful young women who we enjoyed chatting with and seeing her each day. Fernando should be headlining his own Vegas comedy show and truly went out of his way to ensure that we had food and water on our daily early morning surf excursions. Both of them went out of their way to ensure that our group enjoyed our stay. Kimberly and Fernando... Because of you, we will be staying at the Vista Villas when we return to Tamarindo in June of 2012. Thank you for an outstainding surf vacation!!!

Ron & Justin Lewis
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrado043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thanks for the great review. We are a surfer owned hotel , strategically located so we can be close to the greatest number of surf breaks possible. Our location is another part of our appeal to our guests. Glad we were able to be the hotel for your surfing needs.

We really appreciate the kind words for Kimberly and Fernando. They are two of our highly regarded staff and they really know how to take care of the guests in the bar and restaurant. We feel they are the best representation of the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, and we are glad they are on the job with us.

It looks like we will be lucky enough to have you back with us next year. All of us here at the hotel are eager to see you again. We’ll meet you at the Crazy Monkey Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I spent some time in Costa Rica and this was one of the best places to stay. Trevor the manager, Kim and Katie the bartenders were so full of local knowledge and were happy to share all the information they could. Sandra our houskeeper also went over the top and even took care of my laundry one day. There are many more friendly staff members there I felt very safe, comfortable and well cared for. This is one outstanding destination hotel and I am already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. It’s great that you have a lot of experience with hotels and with that knowledge you picked us as one of the best. We really appreciate that. Our staff works hard to keep our guests happy and we really like it when the effort pays off. We will be looking for you at the bar around sunset when you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We felt at home from the minute we checked in with Erika, to the day we left. Erika got us settled in our rooms, and throughout our stay was able to help us with excursions, directions, and general info. The morning complimentary continental breakfast was a great start to the day, with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, coffee, and juice. For those with a heartier appetite (as we had on some mornings) there was also a menu to purchase breakfast. The manager Trevor was usually around in the morning to great guests, and answer any questions about the area, or anything we might need to make our stay a good one. Our room was one of the ocean view rooms, and what a stunning view it was! It was a real breathtaking way to wake up each morning, and watch the evening sunsets, only surpassed by the view from the Monkey bar. Sandra kept our room clean, offering to get us anything we needed, always friendly and cheerful. There were four of us in this room, and there was certainly lots of room. The shower water pressure was a little low, but we were able to get the job done. We frequented the Monkey bar quite a lot, as well as the Friday night ladies night, and had a lot of fun. We had the best bartender/waiter in all of Costa Rica-Fernando- who kept us supplied with good food and Imperials! He as well as all the staff just wanted to ensure we had a wonderful time, which we did. Hopefully we'll be able to come back soon!

Room Tip: Get the Ocean view suite, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you so much for such a great review of our staff and accommodations. We know that our hotel ´s reputation is made by the words that are written here on Trip Advisor so we are so appreciative of the notice that you made of Ericka, Trevor, Sandra and Fernando, as well as our facilities such as the view, our Monkey Bar, the rooms and more. We are proud to be your home away from home, and cannot wait for you to return to brighten up our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
10.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $55 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing