We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

First time stay in Costa Rica, and after reading the reviews I was skeptical about the hotel; but booked it nontheless, since the location was the best in Tamarindo. The hotels grounds are amazing, the oceanview room was great. Careful on the beach; directly in front
of the hotel beware of hidden rocks, and the sand is more like hard mud. I suggest swimming a little further down the beach, or in one of the 2 pools. The construction was a little annoying, and so was crossing the street every time you want to use the nicer pool. No problem with the hotel staff, except we had to call several times to get the roll away bed. The food was okay, and the drinks with are expensive for Costa Rica. Best value is the imperial on draft $3 vs $6 for any other drink. Tamarindo itself is a little shady at night, however we never felt threatened. DO NOT USE THE TOUR DESK at the hotel. We booked 2 trips with them: the zip lining and the snorkeling
tour. The folowing day we where informed that the snorkelling tour was cancelled due to big waves. No problem, so we asked for our money
back, and where told to come back the next day. The following day we
where told that they did not have any cash to give me, and the credit
card that my buddy paid with will take a few weeks to refund...Bull [----]!! The following day before closing I insisted to get my cash back which they reluctantly gave me after I was ready to create a scene. needless to say my friends credit card was not refunded the $120 after we came back to the states. No point in disputing the charge since it took place over 100 miles from home. In conclusion, if you insist in staying in Tamarindo then the Diria might be okay for you; otherwise stay in Manuel Antonio instead. Cheers!

  • Liked — beach location
  • Disliked — tour desk
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    928
    359
    175
    126
See reviews for
674
978
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

I was scared to death when I began reading reviews of this hotel and we had already booked our 7 night stay here. This hotel is beautiful. The staff was responsive to every request that we made. The grounds were immaculate and our room's view was spectacular.

There are three distict sections of this hotel. We paid extra and got the ocean view suite. It was $35.00 extra a night but oh my gosh was it worth it. There is a huge section across the street from the main property with a beautiful pool with swim up bar. The rooms that I would absolutely stay away from are the least expensive rooms. They are street level and street view and you do not want to stay there.

If anyone wants to ask me questions, I would be more than happy to answer. This hotel was lovely.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Swim up pool attendant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

If you enjoy tourists with alot of "bling" and want to feel like you are still in the USA, this is the place to come. Stayed on the beach side of the hotel (not across the street where there is construction) and was given an ocean view with balcony. The room seemed clean and neat however we were extremely unimpressed with the hotel overall. You must wear a bracelet that they place on you that has the hotel name on it. You are told that you are "not allowed to take it off" whatsoever- even to shower or bathe.
Was booked for 2 nights w/double occupancy. We disliked the hotel and area so much that we decided to check out a day early and even pay for the additional night we would miss just to get out of there! Every staff person we encountered was rude and did not even ask when checking out a day early why we were leaving. The wait staff consistently catered to people with very large tips and persons who smoked cigars or carried their poodle in a handbag (not kidding). The breakfast buffet was large but non-impressive if you have had true costa rican food. Some of the food was taken right out of a can (which is completely unlike the true costa rican agricultural ways). The complimentary cocktails tasted of pure alcohol and when we asked politely to have them exchange it for another, they ignored us and would not speak to us. Manager seemed unenthused and did not do anything when reporting the staff. The hotel shared no similarities to being in Costa Rica or the true costa rican people, after having traveled extensively all over the country. However, if you enjoy tourists with alot of "bling" and want to feel like you are still in the USA, this is the place to come.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Rude hotel staff, Stuffy atmosphere, Touristy
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

We stayed at the Tamarindo Diria over Easter weekend. The shuttle from the Liberia Airport was waiting for us as they promised. The driver was very friendly and informative.

When we got to the hotel, they did not have the Tropical Poolside room we reserved available for the first night only. They were very apologetic about it, and gave our family of 4 a free dinner at their restaurant (about a $120.00 value) for the inconvienance. The regular
room was very nice and comfortable, and the tropical poolside room was even larger (it was across the street from the main hotel, but was next to the large pool). Both rooms were very clean and nicely decorated in a tropical style. We were awakened one morning by monkeys in the tree outside the poolside room. We got an up close and personal look at them (some only 3-4 feet away).

The only problem we had with the rooms was getting towels for 4 people everyday, and it was easier to get them from the cleaning lady than to call the front desk. Speaking of the front desk, they were very nice in person, but never sent towels or ice when we called for them. They were also short or out of pool/beach towels whenever we asked (except one morning when I got there at about 7:00am). The front desk did convert dollars to colones for you which was very helpful and we did not find this at other hotels on our trip.

The hotel grounds were gorgeous and very clean. The beach area is very nice, but you can't take chairs to the beach. There are some rocks in the area but not too bad. The surf is very good. The depth of the water slowly increases as you get out farther instead of just dropping off which is nice also.

The breakfast is great! Many choices and all good. The fancy restaurant at night is very delicious, but the service leaves a lot to be desired! They missed my wife's salad, were very very slow, and basically ignored you after delivering your main course. Forget refills! It wasn't because they were overly busy either. We ate at the Witch's Rock (absolutely fabulous nachos and mexican pizza!!!!), which was our favorite, and Copacabana, which was really good food and great service. Both are on the beach just short walks away. The bar staff and the "guards" are all very helpful and friendly. They get your first name and remember it from night to night. I lost my glasses at the large pool and the bar staff took time to search for them and found them laying in the water next to the wall. They then found me to return them.

We walked all over the area and the other hotels did not appear to be as well maintained nor as centrally located. We would definately stay here again!

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — trying to get towels
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cokorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

Do not be deceived by the travel website's star ratings, this is not a 4 star hotel. Maybe for the area it is a 4 star, but by American standards, it is, at best a 2 star. Our room was on the ocean side, with ocean view, in the oldest part of the hotel. This hotel is the oldest in Tamarindo. Unlike other postings, outside of our room was fairly quite, we could still hear the noise from the bar and restaurant, but not at a disruptive level. However, inside the room, we could hear the guests in the rooms next to ours. Not just one room next to ours, but every room next to ours we could hear (conversations, bathrooms, night-time activity). Our king bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The lighting and electrical switches take some time to figure out; there are a dozen different switches in the room, but no central lighting. Had to keep one hand on the shower temperature at all times, as the temperature was never the same for more than 30 seconds. The breakfast selection was good, but service was horrible. Each morning we had to ask repeatedly for coffee and water. And the same in trying to obtain refills. There is a noticeable difference of service (higher) given to Spanish speakers than English speakers. We heard complaints about the construction noise from people staying in the newer parts of the hotel across the street. Would not recommend staying at this hotel. It is not worth the price.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun_and_Snorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Diria. We had a tropical poolside room, which the hotel failed to mention was across the street from the beach, restaurant, and most of the resort. The room was in the building to the left of the second, larger pool. Stay out of it if possible, it was clearly an older part of the resort, and not very nice. The bellboy insisted on carrying the room key with him, then walked out with it still in his pocket, so we had to call the front desk (down the street) for a new key, and wait for the bellboy to come back. It was a ground level room, and the slider door was broken, and had to be fixed before we could leave the room. The TV was old and didn't work great either. On the second night our AC stopped working. We would have made do with the ceiling fan, but that didn't work either! After more than an hour of screwing around with maintenance staff in our room (I think they made 3 trips in the first 2 days), we finally demanded a new room at midnite, and had to move all our stuff to a different building. On the bright side, the second room was much better than the first one. This building was clearly newer. The breakfasts were good, too. The second, larger pool (the one across the street) is really nice, although the same drink at the swim-up bar seemed to rise in price each day. They also seemed to be gunnin' for the spring break crowd (unsuccessfully) with the raunchy hip hop that they kept blasting from the bar.

There was also a ton of construction going on, so come prepared for the sounds of jackhammers and bulldozers in your tropical paradise. At one point they even called our room to tell us we needed to move our car for the construction workers.

All in all, it was okay. If I were paying $80 a night, I probably wouldn't complain. But when you plunk down $180 (with taxes), you expect a different level of resort. Basically, this was Best Western quality for a Hyatt price...

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefish51250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

Booked through Beachdestinations which had the best rate way in advance. Make sure to have a shuttle pick you up at the airport. When we checked in our room wasn't ready, reasonable, but when we did get to our room, 301, the AC barely worked, water pressure was a trickle, and the sliding door glass was coming out of the frame. The view was a filtered view of the ocean, not bad. Not until the evening did we realize the band starts playing from 9 -10 right below the room. We originally booked a King but ended up with 2 doubles which was not changeable as they were sold out that day. But later we were able to change to a King on the first floor (127) farther from the activity and the AC worked fantastically and plenty of water pressure.
If you are going to stay here try to either get a newer room across the street or stay in the building North of the reception... both those buildings are newer.

  • Liked — Walkable to every where in town
  • Disliked — Inconsistent rooms, AC and water pressure
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank q8werty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing