We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, tranquil stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, mid march, 2007. Everything was wonderful - we had a room on the ocean side and it was lovely. We hope to return and would recomend to anyone. Everyone was very helpful at the front desk. The bartenders were another story - hard to make eye contact. We never ate dinner but breakfast which is included and lunch were very good.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

We planned to stay 4 days at this hotel but after 1 night in a dirty room that appeared to be an overflow unit, we quickly moved to Cala Luna, will rate that later but was great. The biggest mistake we made was selecting a room facing the pool which we discovered was on the other side of the road with construction going on all day.

If you are on the beach side, the accomodations are much nicer but still it is nothing but an average hotel room in a great location. If you are looking for a beach vacation this will work for you, but if you are looking to experience Costa Rica find something else.

On the positive side the staff was extremely friendly and did not take much for them to refund my money, they really wanted to be accomodating. We ran into another family that was also surprised by the noise and location who were moving as well.

Overall Ok place if you are looking for a beach but stay on the ocean side.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SeattleTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Got a 6 seater plane up from San Jose, and arrived at the smallest strip imaginable with 2 baggage handlers and a small shed and were picked up by the hotel van.

From the hotel we had the most heavenly Sunsets, frozen margariatas and a lovely bar.

Great place to stay for a week, with many nice bars and restaurants just minutes walkaway.

The junior Suite we had overlooked the amazing garden and the sea, and a real private feel. The hotel had a great Costa Rican character.

The huge, many and very photo-friendly iguanas wondered around the garden freely and many beautiful birds.

We did the Turtle tour that involved a serious amount of walking along the deserted with magnificent star-filled beach at night, but we did make it to see one turtle laying eggs finally and it was amazing. The long, long walk back was less so!!

The Restaurant staff were very accomodating and it had a lovely romantic feel.

The other half of the hotel on the other side of the road away from the beach (that we were not staying on) with the big pool was a giant building site and not really usable (very noisy with drilling), may be lovely when finished, although people were staying there! Had a slight condo feel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulandRuthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

A lovely hotel with the exception of the building going on across the road. If you book make sure you're facing the gardens.

I'm afraid to say although the hotel was clean and modern, the staff seemed untrained in customer care. We spent over an hour in the restaurant waiting for soup to arrive and ended up walking out when nothing was forthcoming! There was problems obtaining towels for the pool when they had run out or if you didn't go at the correct time! No hotwater and fan not working until we complained!

When you are paying the prices they are charging for a 4* hotel, you expect the service to be a lot better than it was.

Tamarindo itself is an expanding town, already being spoilt.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank daisynook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

This should have been the highlight of the trip, but it wasn't. We were scheduled for the Hotel Tamarindo Dira, right on the beach. Last minute change by our tour agency, Grand Circle, put us across the street in the Hotel Tropicana - a disaster. I am not sure what I can really write about this place other than I wish we did not stay there. Its unfortunate that we ended up there.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

I traveled with a group of 12 adults. We stayed here two nights. I can't comment on the price of the rooms because it was bundled into our total tour price. We stayed in ground floor rooms facing the street (poor view) on the beach side of the street. I would recommend not staying across the street. The view was not a problem as we spent little time in the rooms. The rooms were nice. Beds were hard as they were everywhere else we stayed. Cable TV. Big shower area. Not sure about internet access. The grounds were very nice, there were plenty of lounge chairs for us. The beach is beautiful. Some rock outcrops immediately in front of the hotel but short walks to nice sandy areas. Lots of nice small seashells for collectors (customs on the way out of Costa Rica will confiscate them if they find them - suggest putting them in your checked luggage. I was lucky and got mine out without a check, others weren't as lucky). Lots of birds and other wildlife. Lots of palms for shade on the resort grounds. Watch out for pooping birds in the open restaurant area. Restaurant prices aren't too bad (high for Costa Rica) but the service is slow like many places in Costa Rica. Bottled water and drinks are high. Several recreational tours are available from the hotel but we did not partake. Lots of souvenir shops nearby and peddlers can be found on the beach and streets (not allowed on grounds of the resort). Did not find any nearby restaurants to recommend. TCBY across the street is handy.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank woodsfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Diria has the best location in Tamarindo.You want to stay however on the beach side not across the street. They do not tell you that they are doing major construction around the big pool which is across the street. We thought we would maybe swim in the evening there when they finished working but they work into the evening.When it is finished it should be better. Egnes at the information desk is very helpful. If you want to take a surfing lesson go to Matos films Surf Store & Photography (across the street and down the road 100 yards ) and ask for Flash. He is the best teacher and it only costs $25 for a 2 hour lesson board included. Flash is great and alot of fun. We also took a canopy tour. The name was Congo Canopy tours. Nene was our guide and he was fantastic. We did that through the front desk. We hope to go back again soon. C. Thomas Greenwich Ct. U.S.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank MarleyCtUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Esplendor Tamarindo
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $164 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing