We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Guanacaste for beach/surf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Tamarindo Diria in April with our two middle school boys for Spring Break. This hotel is quintessentially situated just within the legal limits of beach access at one of the most beautiful beaches in Tamarindo. The hotel has units that look out at the beach and sunset next to a tree filled lawn, and units across the street around a pool with a swim up bar. The daytime attractions include the beach, excellent surf (with board rental and instructors at very reasonable rates across the street from the hotel), and watching the spectacular sunsets over the Pacific. For those tiring of the sun and surf, the hotel has an excellent tours desk with trips to Palo Verde national park for birdwatching, Arenal volcano for zip lines and wildlife hikes, and snorkeling and fishing. The rates are very reasonable, and the tours are booked with naturalists who exude knowledge of the flora and fauna.
The other major attraction of the hotel is the food. Breakfast is included with the room rate and consists of a spectacular buffet of local fruits, fresh juices, individually prepared eggs, and local specialties like rice and beans and tamales. All the food is bought locally from fisherman and farmers, preparation is spectacular, and the restaurant prices are very reasonable. Tamarindo also has a wealth of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We never had a bad meal.
The hotel is owned by a family who also invests heavily in the local real estate and development market an is committed to the welfare of Tamarindo and the regional citizens.
Previous reviews concentrated on poor service, but we didn't experience this. Travel in Costa Rica is not like travel in the U.S., but this is one of the great things about getting outside your native country. Dealing with daily challenges and the unexpected makes for some interesting post-trip memories and conversations. A sense of humor and respect goes a long way toward overcoming an obstacle, and watching monkeys eating flowers from the trees from the lobby or walking out of the room and seeing a tree full of parakeets outweighs the negative of a firm mattress or rough towel.
One word of caution, don't bring your clubs yet, the golf course is in development, but this is not a golf resort yet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amancando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

The only thing this hotel has going for them is the view and that it is a beach front hotel. Other than that everything is average. They do offer free breakfast but it is not good. I love food and I can eat anything but everything was dreadfully awful. The only thing I could scarf down was the cereal and fruits. Don't eat the papaya. Nasty! The waiters and waitressess never acknowledge you when you ask them for something and they are very slow at everything. The front desk is the same way. When you ask the front desk for something they will tell you to wait a couple of minutes until they finish what they are doing and most of the time they are talking to each other. It has happened to me and my friends more than once.

The rooms are decent but the bed makes a lot of noise. Also, you can hear everything outside. The workers talk more than they are actually working. We got the garden view room but it was a view of the street. Our room actually had a partial view of a wall and of the street. Workers were constantly working outside and they can peek inside our room. Becareful ladies!

When I was reading the previous review and someone wrote that the towels are as hard as a rock and it is so true!!! You have to use it two to three times before they soften up. I wouldn't want to change my towels because of that.

Oh by the way when you look at their website it shows that they have a huge pool with a swim up bar. Well, that specific pool and swim up bar is across the street where the condominiums are at. You need to ask them otherwise they will never tell you that. It is the best pool because no one is there and the benefit of the swim up bar.

This is the only hotel I found in Tamarindo that was a beach front. Very pretty on the outside but on the inside not so great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunnydapooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindoDiria, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are very sorry that you had such a poor time at the Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Resort, but as others will see when reading the reviews, your negative comments do come well down a ways after many good experiences of others. That said, we do take to heart that you felt that the service was not up to par and we can let you know that the front desk staff that you encountered during your stay is no longer with our hotel.

Also, from the reviews, you will see that most guests enjoy the large breakfast buffet we serve, which offers freshly prepared items such as pastries, croissants, fruits, large selection of cereal, pancakes and waffles, gallo pinto, sausage, cheeses and eggs prepared to your will.

As to the Classic Rooms that you spoke of, you knew when you booked them that they were views of the road. All of our literature and website states that fact. And the information also states that the pool with the swim up bar is located across the street. We do not hide that fact, and of course notate in our brochures and website that it is the largest scenic pool in Tamarindo!

We hope that you do return to the Tamarindo Diria and give us another opportunity to change your mind as it our goal to make all of our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and I (both 20-somethings) stayed at the Diria on our recent trip to Tamarindo. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we found the hotel staff exceptionally helpful. The tour desk operators are GREAT and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your trip. They even made restaurant reservations for us, since we don't speak Spanish. We stayed in an oceanfront room on the ground floor. The room was a decent size and clean. We had a view of the ocean, but might try a 2nd or 3rd floor room with a private balcony next time. Free breakfast buffet is good although it gets tiring after a few days. Hotel restaurant is nothing great, but convenient. Try the pool with the swim-up bar. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for 6 nights in February. The good points were: it was clean, the rooms were large and bed was comfortable and the food was decent. The low points were: the check in staff were unorganized and the restaurant service truly horrible. It didn't help that during our stay a film crew were there disrupting everything.
We ate most of our meals out to avoid the rotten service in the restaurant.
Tamarindo is a great place to visit with a fantastic beach and if I go back I'll just choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindoDiria, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2009

We are terribly sorry that you felt that your experience at the Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Resort was not the best it could be. That is not the norm with our guests, who for the most part are able to enjoy themselves, and often return. As a matter of fact, we have a return rate of 40% per year.

We understand about your experience with our Front Desk, and the people who disturbed you are no longer working with us. Fortunately, our restaurant staff generally get good reviews from our clients, as you can see from reading a number of other reviews on this website.

While you were with us, the German television show “Meine Liebe Familie” were taping episodes around Tamarindo, which also involved some time at the hotel. They told us, and it seemed to us that they adhered to their word, that they would film in areas of the hotel that were the least used. For example, filming in the morning in the Restaurant Matapalo, which is closed for breakfast, that sort of thing. If the film crew interrupted your relaxation, we are truly sorry.

It is our hope that you would change your mind, and return to the Tamarindo Dira for another opportunity to please you. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed here for a month and Tamarindo Diria hs its high points and low points. Highs are, Great location, great service IF you treat the staff properly. If you scream at them because they dont speak English, just remember you're in THEIR country, so dont be another Arrogant American Jerk! They do work at their own pace (Tiki Time), but then again you are on vacation, and its supposed to be slow and relaxing, if you were looking for a high paced vacation then stay at home and learn to race cars! But just be patient and you will eventually get what you're waiting for. You might have to remind them also as the bar staff has a one item memory. ;)

The maid service was spectacular, they always had a huge smile on their face when i walked by. Johanna at the front desk was amazing and very courteous, and provided an easy solution for my problems.

The main restaurant and bar DO have WIFI but even if you stay there they charge you $15/week i think is proposterous. The restaurant i was not overly impressed with, very basic food with very steep pricing. I only ate their a few times and didn't like it, their are many upon many phenomenal restaurants in the area that are must tries, so i would suggest not even eating at the Diria and go explore. Try El Coconut, Mama Deli's (best steak i've ever had), Voodoo Lounge, etc etc. And the breakfast buffet was ok, i have many allergies so i couldn't eat everything but had a great fresh fruit spread and some things in the steamtrays changed daily as most didn't. But was still enjoyable.

For what you get thought you are paying for location, right on the beach, only bar that is right on the each as well, best place to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vangroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

During our stay in Costa Rica, this hotel is the one thing we bring back as a negative experience. Staff were not helpful at all, we tried to get our money back and they took so long to resolve the issue that by then it was almost time to leave. When we first approached them about it, a second management person made a decision that was not hers to make, it was the reservation department's. Otherwise we would have gladly received a partial refund and left the hotel. They accussed us of taking stuff from the minibar, which mind you, a 50 cent pack of Oreo cookies cost 3 dollars, we knew better and went out to a local store, but somehow we had a charge of 28 dollars, that we did not incur. EVERYDAY I heard someone complaining, towel service, room service, and the buffet breakfast is not that good. Rooms are small, they are not very eco concerned, and the staff is not friendly, the workers do not look happy. The most important detail is that this is a foreign owned hotel, and this is probably the most poorest area in Costa Rica. I highly recommend Luna Llena (beautiful rooms and very eco concerned) were our friends stayed. Beach is public in Costa Rica so this hotel can not exclude you from using the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVidaYAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindoDiria, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2009

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Tamarindo Beach & Golf Resort. It sounds like from the start you did not personally like the hotel, which is your prerogative, and because of that, you were disgruntled with the service and things like the minibar, which as you know is typically more expensive in hotels.

If you were to read through the reviews on this website you will see that the major of our respondents felt differently and more positive about things than those you claim were complaining about our services.

An important fact to note is that most of the hotels in Tamarindo are foreign-owned, but with 30 years in business in one location, the Tamarindo Diria is not a big international chain hotel. We strive to offer a real authentic Costa Rican experience to our clients. (Lluna Lena, as a matter of fact is a foreign-owned hotel, as well). 100% of our staff are Costa Rican and with that we provide a tremendous amount of employment opportunity in the area. By the way, Guanacaste is not the poorest area in Costa Rica.

And finally, it is a terrible disservice to say that Tamarindo Diria excludes anyone from the beach. Tamarindo Beach is a public beach, and the only claim that we make is that we are the only hotel in the area located directly beachfront, which seems to be a wonderful asset to the guests who do enjoy our facilities.

The most significant thing in all of this is that you were unhappy with the property, and you were able to have your money refunded because of it. We hope that you had a wonderful vacation anyway and enjoyed Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at the Tamarindo Diria for one week recently. The resort is nice. Good location & nice beach area. The customer service there is lacking. Most acted like you were putting them out to do their job. We did run across a couple of bartenders & one waitress that were actually friendly & seemed to enjoy their jobs. Most that interfaced with the customers were not efficient or friendly & spoke english poorly. Oddly enough the young men that mopped up out front were friendly & spoke english very well. Why management has them working in the capcity they do & not at a customer service level is crazy. Utilize their talents management.! The resort is spit into two areas across the street from each other. If you get a garden or poolside room you'll be on the quiet side. The pool over there is very nice & has a swim up bar, but hardly anyone seemed to use this pool. It's actually nicer than the one on the beach side of the road. The jacuzzi was not working when we were there. Across the road is where most of the action is, but the pool is not as nice. There are nice areas to lounge, either by the pool, in the grassy areas or on the beach. You can also get massages near the beach in the grassy area. Very good massage & very relaxing. Only $40 for a one hour massage. The restaurant & bar were ok. Breakfast buffet, which was included, wasn't bad. Get your omelet request in before you get other food on your plate. Then by the time you go to get your omelet it will be cooked thoroughly. Otherwise it will be extremely runny. Only had a couple dinners & lunches at the hotel.

If i were to stay at this hotel again, I'd go for the ocean view room. But if you want it more quiet, stay on the other side & get a tropical pool room.

We did have some mix-ups regarding a tour. Signed up & when the day came, no one picked us up. Rescheduled for another day. When the day came, no one to pick us up again. Luckily a van came for some other people & they took us to their office & we did get to take the tour we wanted. Tried to get compensated for the trouble we went through, but to no avail. Again, lack of customer service.

We did find a very nice restaurant a short distance down the street. Just south of the hotel on the beach front. Walter's is a great place for very reasonably priced good food & very friendly wait staff. Recommend Walter's highly.

If you fly into Liberia, contact Aaron Quiros at Transportation Reservations www.liberiacostaricaairport.net. You can get private transport to Tamarindo for $79. You can also reserve them to guide you around for a day as well. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Esplendor Tamarindo
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $165 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing