We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beachfront locale right in the middle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here! Would definitely stay here again. The beach was beautiful and great for swimming. Room was spacious and comfortable. We loved the pool across the street with the swim up bar and friendly fun bartender. Beautiful grounds and we loved walking just down the v street to the nightlife. Very reasonable prices for food and drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bctinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tamarindo Diria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here last year and it was such a relaxing experience. We spent every day at the beach laying out and then going by the pool to have drinks. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast every morning was great! I still miss those waffles!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sareandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I did not want to leave. We got the premium ocean view room on the ground floor so could walk out the patio door to watch the sunsets or enjoy the beach view.
Our room was clean, but pretty basic considering the price, but it looks like they are completely renovating. Rooms across from us were being worked on by construction workers but never bothered us.
When we got there we immediately flipped on the fan and the air, which blew the electricity. They put a new breaker in and it blew again so they worked in the room and decided they would need to replace the fan. Told us just to not use it. Room was definitely cool without it. We did not have the water issues like others have talked about. Enough hot water for the 3 of us every day.
Sunrise is by 4:30 AM down there so we were up and in the car to surf either in Playa Grande or Playa Avellanas which were both better for surfing. At Avellanas we surfed out by Cabinas de Las Olas and were lucky enough to see a large family of Howler monkeys.
Then we would return to the hotel for their fabulous breakfast. I have never seen such a spread included with a room. I loved having the nice woman make an omelet for me and staff so willing to explain what some things were.
Low tide exposed the rocks on the beach behind the hotel so it was great for exploring. We stayed around the hotel and just enjoyed the beach and pools and only went across the street to big pools a couple times. The main drag seemed so much safer and somewhat higher class than the main area of Jaco so I felt safe everywhere. We only ate at the Pizza place that Diria owned and walked to local places for the rest of the meals. As for the street venders on the beach, they were not a problem and we rather enjoyed watching them. Actually a couple motivated me to purchase some bird whistles from them. We did not see drug dealers anywhere in town, though I was looking for the pot man to buy a pot from him to bring home the last day. <g> The grounds, the restaurants, and the people were all beautiful and if I ever get back to Tamarindo, I will stay here oceanfront premium again!

Room Tip: If you choose ocean front premium, the lower numbers are closer to the pool, but the trees do block...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabflmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice place. Room was great, but the cleaning staff will turn off the AC when they are done cleaning your room. The best thing was they have security guards at the beach entrance that do not allow the beach vendors to ruin your meal,lounging, or just plain old walking as long as you are on the property. Watch out when you get off the property though, they are relentless in their attempt to sell you CRAP.

Room Tip: Beach front is the ticket.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boncaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

WE LOVED THIS HOTEL!

We were in the premium sun view hotel room - the first floor rooms facing the beach. It was absolutely relaxing to wake up every morning and sit outside our room and watch the waves and sunrise. The rooms are a tad small and for the high cost of the room I was a little dissapointed. However, that was my only bad note. Other than that, the room was nice, the bed was comfortable, there was a lot of storage to put our clothes in, the room was very clean and bug free!

The grounds of the hotel were wonderful and beautiful. At first when I was the beach chairs on the grass I was surprised but then after the first day I understood why. Your feet are full of sand and the grass helps get it off - smart! One thing I wish was that we had a waiter come around to take our order for drinks. I hated to keep coming up in my bathingsuit to the bar - I felt uncomfortable. The only time someone did was on Saturday - but they should have people come all the time.
I also disliked the fact that they kept putting the drinks we drank on the beach chairs in to - go cups. You pay $6-10 for drinks and at the bar its a bigger glass but when you get them to go they are literally half the size and I kept noticing that the bartender just threw out the left over. WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT! I AM PAYING FOR THE DRINK! He should have given me the left overs in another cup them. This really annoyed me.


But overall the grounds are seriously beautiful and compared to other hotels it is the most cleanned and nicest. I would def stay here again.

I just think they should fix a few tiny little issues that's all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having booked a four centre holiday to Costa Rica I was dismayed to read some bad reviews of this hotel concerning,rooms with small windows, stained bed-linen and bathrooms with just a tap.Combined with examples of drug-dealers waiting on the beach outside the hotel I anticipated needing to change where I and a friend would be staying.
The hotel was great, a lovely room with large windows,an excellent breakfast, this too had been criticised.
The extensive grounds with plenty of sunbeds was separated from the beach by a low wall and the only sellers we.experienced were friendly girls selling necklaces.
The hotel extended to the other side of the road so those who wanted a quiet time away from the beach were catered for by the many swimming pools, again in lovely grounds.
As a mature traveller who has visited many countries I will remember this hotel as one of the most pleasant I have stayed

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyfeetCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Diria was really great. The rooms were nice and spacious. You do need to leave your AC on all day in order for it to stay cool in your room but I think that is pretty typical in Central America. The shower could have had better water pressure but again - not bad. The food was delicious, the pools (don't miss the two pools across the street) and drinks were fun. The beach was well groomed and there was always plenty of seating. Get your beach towel early - they did run out. And sadly, the swim-up bar was never open. The location is amazing and the staff was extremely helpful. We booked a snorkeling/sunset cruise and ATV/ziplining tour through them and both were super fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $148 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing