We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very good place for staying.
The room is wide, with A/C, frigobar, TV and a very nice view!
The swimming pools is gigantic, and the resort is nearby the beach and everything in Tamarindo.
The breakfast is the best, it have everything (including waffles!)

The only complaining is that my boards needed to stay in a commom area, so anyone could take your board away (didn't happened, but could)! They charge a US$ 35 to keep the boards in your own room, and I think that's outrageous...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our stay was brief, having only 2 days to relax from our whirlwind tour of Costa Rica. We had a room with patio access and a beautiful ocean view.Gorgeous sunsets!.Our air conditioning was not working well, however staff responded quickly and fixed the problem within a short time.Complimentary bkfst was lovely and plentiful. The hotel is located in the center of town ...lots of traffic and noise from the street on the weekends! Staff were courteous and helpful with restaurant suggestions and tours. Beach was nice, lots of local surfers offering their expertise ...be careful,choose wisely and if at all leery of locals, the hotel has staff within the facility to book surfing lessons.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleury5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We loved our stay. We were there to have a great breakfast every day (wow, the fruit was amazing), and then go to the beach all day, come back and shower and go out to dinner. Could not have been better!

Room Tip: Multiple choices for rooms: 1) beach-front: walk out of your sliding glass door to the beach; most-e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I reserved a garden/pool view room with patio. When we arrived, we were taken to a room at the end of a corridor, that did not have patio access nor a pool view.

It was small and the internet did not work. We had to go to the front desk to complain, but they sent 2 people to our room immediately to try and fix the problem. Then, the toilet did not work- they sent someone right to our room to fix that problem. So, although it did not start out very well, they did attempt to fix the problem.

They offered to upgrade us (at no extra cost) to a room across the street- pool view with patio. The pool over there was a lot nicer with a swim up bar. We spent most of our time in that pool and it was not as crowded as the beach front part of the hotel.

The breakfast bar was included in the stay and it started early (at 0630) which was great because we rise very early in the morning. The food was "okay" but the coffee, fruit and pastries were exceptional.

I loved the location because you are right smack dab in the middle of "everything"! We did have a car, but didn't need it. We could walk to the grocery store, restaurants, shopping, etc... so the location is excellent for those who like to be in the middle of everything.

If you stay here, you MUST go to Patagonia restaurant just down the street from the hotel. It's Argentinian style food and is awesome. It gets VERY busy and the first night we ate there we got lucky, because they are by reservation. I can see why, because the food is phenomenal.

So, even though the room itself did not have many amenities, you really don't need much as you spend most of the time outside on the beach or shopping. I would definitely stay again, but will make ourselves clear on the specific needs and location of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DD1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The food and beverages were good, the grounds were lush and tropical :) The pools were clean! We stayed in an oceanfront room. We also took surfing lessons, browsed nearby shops, and took a tour of a volcano and zip lined in a nearby town. The staff was courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KK_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Let's start with the huge totally dead flower bouquet that sat in the lobby for the 4 nights we were there. Lights in the room are burned out but that was nothing compared to the dirty sheets! We pulled down the covers to discover a blood stain, and it was not from us.

The floors.. Gross. When we walked across the floor from the bathroom to the bed there was grit on the bottom of our feet and we had not been in the sand or dirt. My partner accidentally spilled a bit of water which I stepped in. The floor was black from the grime.

Parents beware: We saw a drug dealer on the grounds without the tacky little wrist band you are required to wear. He was approaching the young girls telling them how great the pot was here. We were also approached right outside the hotel several times as were other guests.

Our second story view overlooked a broken tile roof. Our room had a coffee pot, but no coffee was provided. We had to ask for towels for the room and on the third day, the maids never bothered to clean our room. We had to ask for it to be cleaned. We stayed on the porch while they were there. They simply made the bed, gave us two towels and left.

The best art was the manicured lawn. We spent most of our time here to avoid the holiday inn quality for the resort price. The outside lawn is the highlight. If this resort would just clean and repair the place it would be fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our plane had mechanical issues and we had to be put up for the night until a new plane arrived the next day. We were bused here at 9 at night and left at 4:30 am. It is a big place right in the bustling area. The people working did a nice job to accommodate 2 busloads of cranky Americans who flight was cancelled. They provided food and helped with luggage. The pool areas looked nice although in the morning there was a bug the length of my hand crawling along and I hadn't seen any bug all week at the Westin. It was BIG. Rooms are small - kinda like a Red Roof Inn. 2 beds, a frig and a bathroom. Bathroom is small. This is a place for like young single folks who want to focus on surfing. I stay at the Wynn in Las Vegas while others stay at little placed downtown with $5 tables. If you are that kind of person, you may like this. It was clean and basic. Good location. Not sure what it costs per night, but all inclusive Westin is $490 so I would put this about maybe $100 max.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahelsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $156 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing