We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

This is a nice hotel. We had one of the newer rooms which overlook the beach. We really liked the location- right on the beach, short walk to all the shops and restaurants in Tamarindo. There is a very large, wonderful pool, but it is across the street.
We had 2 breakfasts- good, and one dinner- excellent. One negative, the front desk could have been more helpful, they don't seem to know anything. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — locatiom
  • Disliked — service at front desk
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wrldtravler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    928
    359
    175
    126
See reviews for
674
978
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel from the other negative reviews but after having come back from a week's stay, we really had a great time ! We stayed at a 2nd floor ocean view room and it was good. You could see and hear the ocean which makes for great sleeping. The bathrooms are small but OK. Folks, this is not the USA where our bathrooms are humongous. Besides, you don't fly to Costa Rica to stay in your bathroom. Being in the middle of Tamarindo worked out great since you can just walk to restaurants and the groceries. The front desk folks, tour desk staff, wait staff, bellhops, housecleaning staff were all friendly, polite and quick. the hotel grounds were great. When we first arrived and the airconditioning was broken, we were assigned another room quickly -- no fuss. The buffet breakfast is yummy. Tamarindo beach is looong and uncrowded. The waters were a great 85F -- always ! The 2 pools were great (85F!), especially the big clover-leafed pool (across from the street) which was always empty. The tennis court was also always empty. It seemed like we were the only ones using these facilities ! The other half of the complex across from the street is also totally fine. There was construction on that side, however, and they tend to start around 8 am. In summary, I liked this hotel and the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the 5th star should probably be reserved for the $500 hotels like the Four Seasons. Just go !

  • Liked — The buffet breakfast + being in front of Tamarindo Beach
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaSeaMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

The property is gorgeous, proximity to the beach is very close, staff helpful, amenities above adequite, cleanliness above average, beds hard.

We spent a week at the hotel and would stay there again, everything is pretty much there and enjoyable. The buffet in the morning is quite nice and the lunch menu is better than the dinner as far as choices, who's there for lunch?

Charter fishing boats pick up down the beach @7:30 which conflicts with breakfasts full menu. The meals taken at El Diria were good though.

Plenty of shopping close by, surf camps and food also. Try El Rancho Coyote for a nice time, see Frank and tell him Dave from Fl said to come in. Take a cab getting there!

Be aware they drive unlike I am used to down there and the best travel is with someone that knows the roads, if your driving know how to speak spanish!

The surf break on the beach can get quite nice for regular footers with clean peelers.

Fishing will depend on what you want to catch and time of year, seas and captain.

Laid back atomsphere is most enjoyable!

Dave
FL U.S.A.

  • Liked — Access to what we wanted to do.
  • Disliked — Dinner menu.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtrdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

First, the good part. Two of us stayed as part of a Costa Rica Learning Academy related trip. The room was nice and comfortable. All the amenities were good. The breakfast was very good. I would recommend it.

However, I did receive three fraudulent charges on my credit card that could have only come from poor security control of sensitive information at the hotel. The room was prepaid so no credit card was necessary. However, I allowed the hotel to swipe a card that was unused for the entire Costa Rica trip. This was to allow me to charge a few drinks at the bar and charge it to my room. When I checked out, I paid for the drinks with a different credit card and took back the paper charge ticket that had been swiped and tore it into many pieces and deposited the pieces in two different garbage cans.

When I returned, I had three charges for calls made from Costa Rica, one on a day that I was not even in the country. The amounts were for 41.91, 41.94, and 41.89. The reference number was 800-606-0486. Other people have had issues with this number. Mind you, I made no credit card calls from CR and had not used the charged call at all during the trip.

My conclusion is that my credit card number was able to be seen by employees or other persons and then used in conjunction with the owner of the 800 number above to make fraudulent claims. Tamarindo Diria - improve your security measures!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashevillebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Tamarindo. The location was very convenient to shops and restaurants in town. I felt safe walking around to shop/eat, even alone. The room was fine, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom and room overall could use an update, but it was fine. The pool was very nice. The beach, if you surf, was great otherwise I found it to be a little....let's say, not luxurious...so if you're looking for luxury, this might not be the place for you. It was perfect for a relatively low key week of fun and sun. If you're looking for pristine beaches, maybe a different side of the island, or the Caribbean is a better choice for you. Costa Rica is a wonderful country with nice people and lots of things to do. For sure you should try the canopy tour. The service at the hotel restaurant was pretty terrible. I'm a very patient traveler, I understand the laid back service in the islands, but this was borderline horrible service. I would go back to Costa Rica, but stay in a different location/different hotel next time. This was fine, but I'm not rushing back to this property.

  • Liked — The main pool, convenient location to shops and restaurants in town
  • Disliked — Service was just ok, beach not nice, rooms just ok
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmccreay824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

AKA "THE DREARI-A"........This was supposed to be a 4 star resort in Tamarindo...the only four stars about this place was the beach! The rooms are small, dreary, out dated, and did I say small? The bathroom is not even half the size of a closet, and you feel as if you are in a bad dorm room from college. Nightmare!!!! The service in the entire hotel is TERRIBLE......honestly, it does not get worse than this place. Starting from the unfriendly welcome desk, to the bartender at Happy Hour, to the server at dinner, and even to the check out person. They are not even capable of giving messages....basically they do not put one ounce in their customer service. This place is awful! The only thing going for them is the grounds, and even that, it's nice, but so not worth all the other factors! Oh, and the buffet breakfast is pretty good..we'll give them that!

  • Liked — The public beach out front!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldyLocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindoDiria, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
Thank you for writing to us and letting us know of your experience at the Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Resort. We do not like to hear, however, that a guest of ours has not enjoyed their selves or they have not been treated as they would have liked. It has been our goal in the 30 years we have been in business to make sure everyone is happy.

Fortunately, with a return rate of 40%, most of our guests are happy with the rooms, which have, by the way, recently all been renovated and updated. We are sorry that the décor wasn’t to your personal taste either.

In the end, overall, we hope that your Costa Rica vacation was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

great place for first time Costa Rica travelers who aren't too adventurous. Surf out front is good for beginners. Pool is nice. Make sure you're AC is functioning properly before unpacking.

  • Liked — like home
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rudedogsurfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing