We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Right on the beach! A great place for families. I recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tequieropy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    907
    349
    173
    127
See reviews for
649
962
77
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the Tamarindo Diria in March of 2008. The Hotel is beautiful, book an ocean front room. There are some hotels were you can get away with street/garden views, but this hotel is right off the street, so the ocean view doesn't have the street noise. We booked our vacation through Worry Free Vacations (based out of Minneapolis) who deals directly with TAM Tours. We were involved in a car accident in route to a TAM tour (TAM driver). To make a long story short, we spent the rest of our vacation super sore from the accident, and were more angered when the tour reps showed up two days after the accident and insisted on taking us to the doctor. We weren't even refunded for the tour that we went on after the accident, despite our shock and discomfort. I would not recommend booking tours through TAM. There are a lot more tours available, and if you book at the Tamarindo Diria, you don't even have to leave the hotel.

  • Liked — The sunsets, beach and breakfast!
  • Disliked — TAM Tours
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kaups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to end our 9-day Costa Rica adventure in Tamarindo for a little relaxation on the beach. We opted to stay at the Diria, despite reading quite a few negative reviews, because we booked our stay late and there weren't many other options available.

When we arrived, they upgraded our room to an Ocean View, which was great! The room was very clean. It had 2 double beds, a little balcony area and a breathtaking view. The shower was great, we didn't have any trouble with hot water like other reviews mentioned. The room had a little fridge, a TV, fresh linens etc...

We enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast every morning (great fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, gallo pinto etc...). Dinner at the hotel was not the best--we tried their restaurant once and didn't return again.

We walked around town our first day, but weren't impressed--to be honest, there's just not much there aside from a few bland commercial type stores. The restaurants in town aren't all bad, we had a few decent meals, but nothing to write home about.

I will mention that the MOSQUITOES were out of control. We got eaten alive the first night we ate outdoors without bug spray. After that, we covered ourselves in it. We also had to spend 30 minutes each night "hunting" the mosquitoes that found their way into our room before bed.

All in all, I probably wouldn't return to Tamarindo again....but if you have to go, the Diria isn't as bad as people make it out to be.

  • Liked — Clean, nice sized rooms, great view
  • Disliked — the town of Tamarindo
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CACouple111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

This is a gorgeous hotel. It has a lovely holiday atmosphere. It oozes relaxation and elegance. The minute I stepped in I felt so glad that I had booked it.
The rooms are vibrant and cheerful in a very tasteful way. I loved the large mosaic shower. The bed was huge. There were fresh flowers in the room, huge mirrors, a well stocked mini bar and plenty of lights. The only downside was the television, it was rather small and the reception was very bad, I called someone to fix it, two guys fiddled aimlessly for over an hour, with no success, so I sent them away.
The gardens and pool are beautiful I love the way you can sunbathe in the gardens overlooking the beach, so you get to watch the ocean and the people without dealing with vendors and sand.
It is a delight to sit in the bar at night with all the twinkling garden lights and the sound of the ocean. The bartenders are very professional and polite, and the drinks are lovely and good value, I expected them to be more expensive.
I visited the bar while staying at another, cheaper hotel. I was so impressed I decided to stay here on my last night as a treat. It was certainly worth it. I booked on expedia and got it for $120 including tax. I think it is $134 if you walk in off the street.
I wish I had paid the extra money for a garden view room. My room looked out onto the street (Subway, what a view) so It didn't feel private with the curtains open as people could have seen in. The gardens are so lovely it would have been nice to have had a balcony or terrace to sit and appreciate them from. Also I was put in a non-smoking room (they didn't ask me, but maybe all rooms are non-smoking) so It would have been great to have had a terrace/balcony to smoke on.
It was a lovely hotel, but one small improvement would have been room service. I would have expected them to have it in such a nice hotel. I was travelling alone and didn't fancy going to the restaurant for dinner. I would have loved to have ordered a meal to my room, but there was no menu in the room.
I liked the mix of people at the hotel. There were all different ages staying there. I found the staff helpful and polite.

  • Liked — the beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — no room service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kat4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Tamarindo Diria was a fabulous place. Nice, clean and right on the beach! We had a sunset view room on the second level with views of the beach, water and beautiful trees. Be careful as they also have a part of the hotel across the street which has a very nice pool with swim up bar, but is not on the beach if that is what you prefer. Food was excellent. Staff very helpful. Many excursions that you can set up! My husband took surfing lessons right out if front of our room! This is a high class place, a bit more expensive but I think worth it. Right in town. Kind of touristy though, but we didn't mind at all. Definitely would recommend.

  • Liked — Proximity to Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ellie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

The negative!!!!!

My partner and I stayed at the Diria for a wedding a few weeks ago. Upon arrival we cheerfully greeted the front desk staff who barely glanced up, we asked them a couple of questions and they grunted some answers - all in all were very rude! We were then brought to our room by one of the front desk staff who showed it to us, he put his hand out for a tip ( we just arrived and had no small change) apologised and he grunted and walked off in a huff! So very bad start but lets get to the postitive!!


The positive!!!

The concierage, a guy who is there in the mornings and has his own desk is absolutely lovely, my partner broke an electric shaver while we were there, so we asked him what we should do, and he gave us directions to a mall wiht a list of different shops where we could go to buy a new one - so it is just the front staff who are rude!

Our room was located on the beautiful garden right next to the most breathtaking beach, we had a patio adjacent to the garden whihc had chairs and a table and was lovely to sit out with a cocktail and take in the magnificent costa rican sun sets. (Tip - ask for a garden room, as some of our party had ones near the pool and they are not as nice)

The room itself was nice, large, and most importantly extrmely cool and air conditioned. The bathroom had loads of room and had a large shower area with a powerful refreshing shower and some nice shower gels,shampoos etc. We also had a mini bar in the room with beers, water, and snacks which were very reasonably priced.

The best thing about the diria was the breakfast in the morning. It is honestly the best breakfast i ever had in a hotel, and everyone of the wedding party who came from all parts of the globe agreed! Unlimited supplies of fresh pineapple, mango, melon, cantelope etc. An array of hot dishes american(varieties of eggs, bacon, pancakes, tomatos) and costa rican delicacies (rice and bean dishes, other egg and tomato dishes, fried bananna), delicious breads and pastries, juices and of course fab costa rican coffee.

The diria is right on the beach and in the center of the tamarinda so the location is fab too. I really liked the Diria and thought the rooms were lovely, the hotel itself was great and the location was perfect, they jsut need to get new front staff! But regardless of the staff I would definitely return to the lovely Diria.

  • Liked — Location, nice rooms, fab breakfast!
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar, ca
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Spent 3 nights during semester break.
Good: location can't be beat.
Bad: room 115 was tiny, room only for king bed, small desk with drawers for clothes, adequate closet, small bathroom with only enough counter space for one toilet kit, cheesey amenities. No sitting chair in room, and no room for sitting chair. And would you believe a beach-front hotel doesn't provide a hook or line to hang a wet bathing suit?
Ugly: indifferent staff.
I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny room, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Esplendor Tamarindo
Esplendor Tamarindo
#8 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 6 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing