We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the way to end a vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

In a word - DISAPPOINTING! No attention to detail, rude bartenders, inattentive wait staff, careless room service, average food, and HOW DOES A BEACH RESORT RUN OUT OF TOWELS - TWICE??? And I wouldn't wash a picnic table with those towels. They ended up using bath towels for the beach. No wonder a couple only gets two bath towels TOTAL. Note to management - even Motel 6 gives you complementary coffee!! I was told that since we requested a king size bed, EVEN THOUGH WE REQUESTED A PREMIUM ROOM, we were given a lower level room because there are no premium rooms with king beds!! The large pool across the street at the newer section had a swim-up bar, which was closed all day!! Never mind that the pool did not look terribly inviting anyway. At a hotel with a total of 450 rooms, there is ONE computer for guests to use - with NO printer! Try printing your boarding passes!! I had to save the file, go to the front desk, find someone who had some inkling of computerize, have the file transferred, and then finally printed at the front desk. When we were leaving, we were SO aggravated that I refused to call for a bellhop (it only took 4 calls to get extra pillows, which turned out to be small throw pillows without covers) so we lugged the luggage ourselves. Fortunately we had a ground floor room with a patio and a beautiful view of the ocean - about the only positive of the entire stay. When we got to the front desk to check out there was nobody there, and several people milling about waiting. I had to go to the supplies room to get someone to take care of us.I wasn't sure if they had merged all of our records, since we had to change rooms due to a leaking ceiling, clogged sink and non-working lamp. Needless to say we will not be going back to this hotel - EVER!

Room Tip: My best advice - find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We actually stayed in the condos across the street from the Diria. The condo pool was much more impressive than the ones located on the Diria resort. It was the off season so the swim up tiki bar and restaurant were not open and there was a small section of staduim seating to watch performances. Once again, not utilized during our stay but I imagine it would be a pleasant experience. The Diria iteself was much smaller and closer to the main road than I would have expected, but it was clean and the staff was pleasant. Very nice ocean view and beach. If you want to sit on the beach in one of the umbrella chairs, it will cost you $12 for a daily rental. The beach seating is not part of the Diria, so we sat in the grass which is a part of the resort and I acutually liked arrangement much better. The local pan-handling gets very annoying and unrelenting at times so the barrier between was welcome. We didn't eat much there but what we did get was very good. We got a meat pita dish and some ceviche, both were very good. The nachoes we not special and can be done better almost anywhere. The drinks were good and nicely priced compared to many of the establishments in the town. The service at the bar was a little slow but nothing you can't get used to. There are many restaurants associated with the resort so there are choices if you tend to stay and eat at the resort. The prices for the food were pricey for me at the affiliated restaurants but it is a touristy town. The activities desk was helpful and had plenty of excursions. All in all we enjoyed ourselves and would go back. I would recommend staying on the condo sides though, better pool, more relaxing, and away from the distractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel itself is actually quite nice. It offers a nice swimming pool with beautiful surrounding gardens and the rooms are quite luxurious. Therefore, I can't really fault the hotel itself. The only problem I had with the rooms was the lack of privacy. The balcony allows you to look into your neighbors' rooms and the bathroom window makes it possible for tall people in the hallway to peek into the shower.

My issues are more with the staff. The guy who checked us in was incompetent and rude. Whenever you go to the front desk, you always seem to witness an incident involving upset hotel guests and hotel employees who can't seem to handle the simplest problems. Even though there is only one person ahead of you, it always seems to take too long before it's your turn. The front desk always has two or three employees, but only one of them seems to be working. Furthermore, they're not very organized. My friend hands in his credit card. The girl leaves it lying around and another girls sees it and immediately assumes that it's been lost. So, just as she wants to hand it over to the concierge, we intervene and tell her that it hasn't actually been lost, but that her colleague left it lying around. I don't know about you, but that seems highly unprofessional to me. The cleaning lady was probably the worst of all. You ask her for an extra sheet on the bed - she ignores your request. You ask her for an extra towel - she claims she's out of towels. You ask her to come back a bit later - she's too busy. So, I had to call up the front desk for an extra towel - nothing. You call again - they keep you waiting again and eventually bring you six towels.

It's a pity this hotel is run by a bunch of incompetent and arrogant people. But it kind of stands for the entire country of Costa Rica: Spectacular place with zero infrastructure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was a little less than expected since we had come from a very small hotel where the service seemed to have been better. We arrived but could not get into our room since it was not prepared. We were there 30 minutes after room check in. We went and had some lunch and then went in. The room was relatively small and the bathroom was really small BUT the view was divine so there ya go. There is no elevator so if you're on the third floor just be advised. When we went back down to get towels to head to the beach, they were out of towels. We were told to come back in 30 minutes. An hour later, still no towels at which point I sort of gave a pained look and reception went to find a couple of towels. The breakfast which is included was awesome and the grounds are beautiful. You can go in the water at this beach and can pay for surf lessons. But be aware that the surfer guys start drinking early to mid afternoon. So just be forewarned. You may not want them taking you or your kids out. The town itself is a really hippy town and don't expect much good shopping. It's mostly souvenirs made in China! lol Overall the hotel was fine and the views incredible!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet section if that is what you want since it can get a little noisy especially near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Diria. The pools were really nice, breakfast was delicious & free. Our room was decent but on the first floor facing the beach, which made for awesome views and quick access to the pool & beach. As for customer service, once you get over the fact that your not no special, take a deep breath and remind yourself that your not at the Ritz, you'll be ok.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have quick access to beach, pool & great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 417Flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Upon check-in we werevtold that we would need to store our bags because our room was not ready yet? As I stood at the reception desk with Fatima and Marcia, I noticed that a whole line of other unhappy customers were also waiting for their rooms. M medication was in my bag that I was asked to check and when I asked for the bag back, the desk staff stood there until We gave them more cash for the same bags. The room was still not ready at 2:20pm and the staff tried to take our bags back again to store. Did they plan to give us a room today at all? Check-in time is supposed to be 2pm but we had arranged an early check-in at 12:30pm. I understand tha the hotel may not be able to provide an early check-in at the last minute but after the check-in time, I started to feel annoyed. It is now 2:33pm and we arrived a our room (a different room than we were origionally promised) which has bugs crawling all over the floor and mold stains covering the ceiling. For the same price, this is a definite downgrade from the amazing Hotel Nayara in Arenal. Pass on ths place.

Room Tip: Room 115 has bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am still relishing wonderful memories of the excellent breakfasts from 7-10 by the water. The service was slow, but very good. The staff's super gentility & wonderful disposition was much appreciated. Everyone is so willing to help you out.
Ohhh and the glorious sunsets! Surreal! Worth the price of dinner by the ocean!
I hope to return to Diria in the near future. Moreover, the grounds are impeccable and the guards would tell me if I left my tote bag on lounge chair, which was not in view of the cameras. I felt totally safe here!
I , myself, found the temp much too hot. However, got used to it after 2 -3 days by taking naps between 12-2 pm and drinking lots of water & lots of 40 sunscreen! Do not go to Tamarindo to shop. Extremely expensive! I totally enjoyed the rain forest& the sea turtles laying eggs under a starry night! Simply magnificent. I regret not taking the catamaran at sunset!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view! Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunday25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $164 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing