We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious , excellent breakfast by the ocean & glorious sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious , excellent breakfast by the ocean & glorious sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am still relishing wonderful memories of the excellent breakfasts from 7-10 by the water. The service was slow, but very good. The staff's super gentility & wonderful disposition was much appreciated. Everyone is so willing to help you out.
Ohhh and the glorious sunsets! Surreal! Worth the price of dinner by the ocean!
I hope to return to Diria in the near future. Moreover, the grounds are impeccable and the guards would tell me if I left my tote bag on lounge chair, which was not in view of the cameras. I felt totally safe here!
I , myself, found the temp much too hot. However, got used to it after 2 -3 days by taking naps between 12-2 pm and drinking lots of water & lots of 40 sunscreen! Do not go to Tamarindo to shop. Extremely expensive! I totally enjoyed the rain forest& the sea turtles laying eggs under a starry night! Simply magnificent. I regret not taking the catamaran at sunset!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view! Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunday25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    928
    359
    175
    126
See reviews for
674
978
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday and are leaving on a Thursday. It was the perfect amount of time to spend in Tamarindo. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. They helped us picked two excursions that were a lot of fun. We went on the Hibiscus Catamaran and the wetlands at Bolson ( we hired a private guide through the front desk) to see the monkeys and crocs... both great. The daily breakfast was delicious and the restaurant for dinner was great. We had a second floor room facing the beach, and could watch sunsets each night from our patio. Very cool. Beds are comfy, and everything felt safe. The grounds are clean and the pool is beautiful. Right outside is the main street with all restaurants, bars, and shopping Be aware... it is expensive here to buy food and souvenirs!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came to Tamarindo Diria after staying at Nayara in Arenal and we were not pleased.

The second half of our honeymoon started with getting placed in the wrong room. We were given a room with 2 full beds - even though we were confirmed for a king bed. When we called, the manager told us we were placed on a waiting list. Hot and annoyed we called our travel agent to try and change hotels. Unfortunately, the hotel manager wouldn't refund any of our nights so we had to stay and MAGICALLY a room with a king bed opened up. Even more unfortunately, the so called "honeymoon room" was right above the kiddie pool.

The positives - the views were amazing and we were in the best location in Tamarindo - we could walk everywhere. The most important positive was the bellhop Randall - he was AMAZING. He was the only reason we weren't 100% miserable here.

The negatives - customer service was HORRIBLE (we always felt as if we were annoying everyone at the front desk), the breakfast was inedible (we ended up eating at Cafe Tico every morning), our room was above the kiddie pool, the pillows and bed were hard and bumpy, and they made you feel like you were on a compound you couldn't leave.

In the end we spent most of our time away from the hotel and had a wonderful time; however we wouldn't stay here again. We would definitely stay at Capitan Suizo or Cala Luna instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay. The location and grounds are beautiful. The staff is helpful, we got by fine with some Spanish. The breakfast buffet was great. Our room was not huge but the view was fantastic and we spent most of our awake time on the beach or on the balconey. It is not a 5 star resort, but it doesn't pretend to be. We loved it.

Room Tip: Get a second or third floor room in the north wing. Overlooks the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stafford88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This resort has gorgeous grounds, beautiful pools and great rooms! The resort is right in the heart of downtown Tamarindo which makes it easy to walk "the strip." The hotel has property on the beach (the restaurant, a pool, some rooms) and then on the other side of the street their large and beautiful pools and more rooms. The rooms were very clean, looked very new and updated. I would highly recommend staying here! I did not see any other resorts within the main downtown area and this was right in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

First if all, I would like to say that I am prefacing this review as someone originally from a Caribbean country so I understand standards are different around the world; however I consider myself well travelled. We LOVED Costa Rica but were the most disappointed by this hotel. The hotel is in much need of a face lift- it looks like it needs to be reprinted and the decor is definitely not typical for a 4-star hotel. The beach towels were an issue EVERY day of our four night stay. We encountered other guests who had the same experience- the lady at the front desk kept telling us to come back in 30 minutes- we would come back in an hour or so and she would then say she couldn't tell us why the towels were still not ready. Very frustrating. The food at the restaurants was beyond slow. Food was fair but nothing special. The poor cleaning lady looked overworked and bless her heart she kept taking the towels from our rooms. Towels are hard to come by here! Beach was lovely and the most attractive thing about the hotel was the location- proximity to the beach was a plus. My kids are competitive tennis players so we brought our rackets. There is one court, but it's quite a hike in a very unappealing part of the complex- there is no walkway taking you there and on e you arrive you are met with a large padlock nobody told us about when we arrived asking about the court. The larger pool in the complex on the other side of the street looked like it COULD have been beautiful but was not well kept up. There is a bar area that was advertised that looked cool but there was never ever anyone there during the day or evening. The complex looked very poorly occupied yet they placed us all the way in the back of the hotel across the street. We met some other guests who told us they had the same experience but the hotel was only 30% occupied. The lady at the front desk stated we needed to pay for an upgrade to get to the hotel rooms closer to the beach. I would clarify that if you book this hotel. I'm not sure else where to stay in Tamarindo that would be better but just beware of what you are paying for and you will not be disappointed. Despite our disappointment in this hotel it did not adversely affect our time in this lovely city. The people are warm and friendly. The staff are not uncaring, they are just untrained. Relax if you stay here- everything is "Pura Vida" in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Highly recommend this Resort. We stayed on the Ocean sude of resort. Excellent service, great food, right on the beach, air conditioning and center of town! No need for a car :) The resort also includes a complimentary breakfast with fresh local fruit, local cuisine, as well as all of the classics with egg station, pancakes, waffles, pastries, cereal, yogurt, cheeses and so much more. Can't wait to go again!
The pool is beautiful but we only spent a few hours there as there is so much to do and you are on the beach.

Room Tip: Request to Stay on the Ocean Side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing