We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location (within Tamarindo) and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very convenient location. Friendly staff, good service and delicious food. We were upgraded to a Sunset Ocean View room, because the room we had reserved was not ready when we arrived. Our room was in an older building and the AC wasn’t working when we arrived. However, when the bellhop reported the issue, it was fixed while we ate lunch. The Sunset Ocean View rooms are right on the gardens adjacent to the beach and next to the restaurant and lobby. We never crossed the street to see the newer section of the hotel. Lounge chairs in the gardens are free to guests. These are just a few steps from the beach where you have to pay for lounge chairs. The hotel offered a wide selection of excursions in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Hard to get to from San Jose, but what isn't in CR. any problems we had with the room were handled quickly.

Not part of the hotel but our tour had a "sunset dinner cruise". This was a party boat that had to circle the small bay our hotel was in. After taking us to a small grotto to snorkel, (nobody saw anything decent) we left in a hurry to beat the rain,.Well, in our hast the guy driving the catamaran plowed the front end into a wave and splashed the entire boat. About that time I realized we had not been told where the live jackets were. Small safety violation here int he States. We then circled the little bay in front of the hotel for 45 minutes,but the sunset was covered by rain clouds. We were then back in the skiff and taken back to the beach in the cold rain that was falling. Be careful of "sunset dinner cruises" our of here since they tend to be party boats.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badnytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My dream to travel to Costa Rica was fulfilled this past memorial day, 5 day vacation. I couldn't have booked a better Hotel than Tamarindo Diria!! The rooms were phenomenal, great ac, beds, clean towels & toiletries, small fridge, etc. We opted to stay on the first level room 119 and our view was more than what we expected. Literally a 20 second walk to the beach! The hotel itself was beyond beautiful, clean, and the staff was beyond nice to us. Every time they would see us either in the morning or evening everyone smiled, greeted, and would ask if everything was okay. They have 4 great pools, but the best are across the street (the lagoon sized pool with a swim up bar (where Mauricio whipped us great Mojitos, pina coladas, and a spicy shots with cacique, costa rican rum), or the adults only (which was not being used much due to low season)). Their breakfast was amazingly great, more than what we expected. We booked all of our tours the day we arrived with Leo, and oh my was he great!!! Recommended us certain tours per day and all of the tours were so much fun. Everyday we had something different to do. The first day we arrived we booked a turtle watch at night and to our luck, no turtles showed up. The next day, we brought up the situation to Leo, and he was quick to ask if we wanted a 50% reimbursement or re-book the tour, so we decided to re-book and what an experience we will never forget!! Tamarindo has several restaurants outside the Diria. We enjoyed a nice BBQ dinner one night at Longboards. Being a Texan we devour BBQ constantly and I have to give it to them, one of the best BBQ I have ever had. Overall, Tamarindo itself is tiny, safe, and beautiful. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I think it will be sooner than I think!

Thank you Tamarindo Diria staff, you made our stay worthwhile!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaHouTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment and for choosing us to spend your vacations. We are very happy to know that you had an amazing time at our Hotel.

We absolutely hope to see you back soon at the Tamarindo Diriá.

Greetings from Costa Rica, pura vida !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights with an Ocean-Front room. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3 but they had one on the first floor available, so we said sure. Little did we know we'd have crazy neighbors next door to us who woke us up at 3:30am yelling at the staff outside their patio. Granted, this is not the hotel's fault but that ruined a night of sleep for us.

Grounds were pretty, especially the lawn side. I do wish they had chairs on the other side to use. The MAJOR negative to this place is the surfer "teachers" that stand right outside the entrance to the beach. After making the mistake of walking through there once and being hassled to do lessons with them, we climbed over the short rock wall to access the beach. Again, not hotels fault but very annoying they make camp there and smoke their weed in front of you.

Room was tiny and ants were everywhere but we're in our mid 20s and didn't really care. Pillows were uncomfortable but we were so tired by the end of the day we crashed. We started to smoke a cigar at the outside bar and the bartender didn't care and gave us the lighter. Another staff member walked up and told us we had to leave because of the cigar. I found it strange since there were 2 other couples around us that didn't seem to care as well as the bartender. Oh well, we took our money elsewhere at another bar.

All in all, if you want to walk everywhere in town and not worry about taxis or renting a car, stay here. If you aren't picky, stay here. If you want luxury, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Oceanfront View on the lawn chair side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroon810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, your opinion is very important to us since it help us to improve every day.

About the situation with the cigar, I am sorry for the misunderstanding, the non smoking law in Costa Rica is kind of new, but is powerful as it is in many countries around the world.

Thank you again for you feedback, and hope to have you back in our Hotel soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The grounds were very well kept, but for the most part the staff were not helpful and rude. As soon as we checked in the lady at the front desk was pushy and felt like we were being rushed through. After a four and a half hour trip from the mountains we decided to have a couple of drinks and enjoy the the ocean view. When trying to order our second drink the bar tender started giving us a hard time and upset my girlfriend...WTF. Its not like it was our 5th or 6th drink. The lady at the swim up bar at the big pool on the hill was more interested in talking with the security guard and we couldnt even get her attention and ended up leaving the pool and just went to the beach. There were some nice folks that were helpful but they were on the minority. If you want good service go somewhere else. We had also met another couple on their honeymoon a couple of rooms down from us, .they were so upset about the service they received they left two days early. I am not sure if they got reimbursed or not. I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee1955_Dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

As soon as we arrived we opted to pay the extra fee and upgrade to an Ocean view 1st floor room with a walk-out patio to the beach. We did not regret this decision. This was our first vacation with our baby and it was perfect to be able to roll the stroller in and out without any stairs. We also really enjoyed sitting on the patio and watching the surfers and the quick access to the pool and lawn chairs.

Our stay overall was enjoyable, however, the air conditioner did not work in our room the first night, they tried to fix during the day and went out again just as we were going to bed the second night, so we slept in the room next door. The next day we ended up moving rooms which was a pain since we had already unpacked. However, the staff did the best they could to accommodate our needs and since it was "low" season, rooms were available. We also enjoyed the "large" pool across the street and the convenience of breakfast each morning being provided.

Overall the accommodations - decent bedding, large showers, in-room refrigerator, flat screen tv were good and the hotel location is probably the best in Tamarindo. I would definitely stay at the property again if I were to visit the area. One of the little "cons" would be that the beach towels aren't that big - and you only get 1 per person, so maybe bring along your own towel.
Other guests complain about this, but I liked that guests had to wear wristbands so only people staying at the resort are on the property as it would be easy for people to stroll in off the beach.

Room Tip: Upgrading to an Ocean view room was worth the money for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for taking time to make this review, your feedback is very important to us.

We hope to have you back in your next vacations!!!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not only were many of the staff members, specifically the security guards, rude to us while we stayed ten nights at the diria, but they also didn't even tell their guests that they would be hosting a three day TRIATHALON at the resort. Each morning we were woken up by the BOOM BOOM BOOM of the obnoxious bass, but when we complained...nothing happened. There were random people all over the hotel, using all of the amenitities that WE PAID FOR. This hotel is flashy and nice, but if you are looking for good people and true Costa Rican hospitality go next door. We left Diria, annoyed, and checked into the Villa Amarilla, now THERE is an amazing hotel. Great people, great rooms, great location, as well as great security. Check it out.

Room Tip: if you do get a room, the ocean side is gorgeous. Unless youre a pool person, thus, choose the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you liked and what you did not like, your feedback is very important to us.

Regarding to the security guards as you mentioned, there was a two day triathlon at Tamarindo during your visit. We are proud to have a peaceful and safety country but for the security of our guests and their belongings, we did have extra security staff for the event.

As it was a private event of the Costa Rican Athletic Federation, a big part of our Hotel was occupied for their committees and competitors, but we were not organizing the event which puts out of our hands the music they played on the beach, out of our Hotel facilities.

I am sorry you did not feel our hospitality, please accept my apology in the name of our Hotel.


Thank you again for your time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $146 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing