We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th year in a row this coming August!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5th year in a row this coming August!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! The location, the food and the staff make it the place to be. We wake up every morning and stuff our faces with their amazing Breakfast buffet then we work it off surfing right behind the hotel. I'll be back for the 5th year in a row August 2013, can cannot wait to be back to visit my friends in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surferboy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
The satisfaction of our guests make all our efforts worth it !!! Thank you for your comment and we will be looking forward to have back in our Hotel this August !!!!

Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    928
    359
    175
    126
See reviews for
674
978
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a single female traveler, I choose this resort due to great reviews. It is a beautiful resort, location, weather, etc. However(and I did stay 7 nights) I have one VERY important piece of advice!!! Do not complain about anything(even the smallest of things) because you will pay. I said something to a supervisor about an employees behavior with no names mentioned. By the following day, I could not even get a drink nor would any staff talk to me. I STILL HAD THREE DAYS LEFT. Miserable. I made the most of it and rented a car and went to Flamingo Beach where it is beautiful. I also found a local tour guide to take me on a couple wonderful days of Costa Rican fun. Thanks to Gabrielle, my trip was saved. No thanks to Tamirindo Diria! Its a shame, it is a beautiful property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, we took very seriously your suggestions, I am sorry to hear that you had a bad impression of our Hotel.

We were happy to have you as our guest, and appreciate your comments about our service, it help us to improve every day.

We were very concern about your complain and as soon as you addressed to our Management Department and let us know about it, we immediately gave you our must sincere apology, two days of free lunch in our restaurant, and a basket of fresh tropical fruits to your room with an apology letter enclosed.

We really tried to please your dissatisfaction. In the name of our hotel, I want to apologize again for your bad impression. Our only intention is to make all our guests feel uniquely satisfied...
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 days on our honeymoon and we were not impressed. While the beachfront location is great and within walking distance of a nice strip of shops and restaurants, we were continuosly bothered by locals trying to sell us things or make us do excursions.We couldn't walk out to the beach without being hounded every day about surf lessons or to buy coconuts or little carved whistles. The rooms are nothing special. Our room was small and the bathroom smaller. The showerhead had little to no pressure and sprayed out from around the edges making it nearly impossible to rinse off. The toilet didn't flush very well and the soap dish next to the sink was falling off the wall. Forget about ironing your clothes because the rooms do not have an iron. The walls are thin enough to hear much of what is going on in the rooms beside and above you. The wait staff was nice enough is but the service and attention to detail was lacking. Staff seemed unorganized and unless we asked for the check, we were left to sit and wait at our table for 10 minutes or more. Food and drinks were of average to good quality and could have come in a more timely manner. On a positive note, the facility is very pretty. Overall we expected more from a 4 star rated resort... Especially after being spoiled at our previous 5 star location, Nayara.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britney1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment is very important for us to know what you liked and what you did not liked, It help us to enhance every day.

Our Hotel is rated as a 4 star Hotel by The Costa Rican Tourism Board. The rooms thus bathrooms in our hotel have a regular size, unless you book a bigger one, or rather a suite.

We also have 24 hour front desk assistance for our costumers needs, I am sorry to hear that you had problems with the shower and toilet.

We do have irons for the rooms if needed, which you can get with just a quick phone call to the front desk. We also have laundry service.

Thank you for your feedback is very important to us to offer a better service every day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Diria for 6 nights with a few friends and had a great time. I'll get my ONE complaint out of the way which was that the wi-fi was not strong enough to use in our room but was great near the bar (which just meant I had to enjoy a cold beer while checking email!) and was also good out on the beach.
The location of this resort is perfect. Beautiful walkable beach, and the entire resort is set on two sides of the main street of Tamarindo which makes it easy to walk right out into the town to explore. The resort has two main pools, both near a bar, as well as the beach area which is public, so there were vendors selling things on the beach but it wasn't as bad as some places in Mexico where I've been where they just won't leave you alone. You can purchase beach chairs/umbrellas but the hotel offers a grassy area just off the beach where they have plenty of lounge chairs and offer bar service and it's steps to the water in either the pool or beach.
The Ocean View room was small but clean, and who spends time in the room anyway? Cleaning staff were great. Beautiful view of the ocean and an amazing sunset every evening from our balcony.
But as mentioned previously, one of the highlights of this resort is that if you don't do the all-inclusive (which I wouldn't) it is super easy access to so many little shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Easily one of the best overall food experiences in one small area that we had ever had. We even had amazing pizza, which is hard to find sometimes. The restaurants are all within a few blocks and it was great walking around and talking to people who were so friendly in this town.
We pretty much avoided the restaurants that were part of the resort as we always find resort food to not be that great BUT they did have a great breakfast buffet every morning which we took full advantage of. We also had lunch there one day by the beach and everyone was pretty happy with their choices. The restaurants we would highly recommend in the area are: Cafe Tico- cute, small, great iced and blended coffees, great place to purchase little gifts, friendly owner. La Pachanga - amazing pizza/Italian, fabulous bruscetta and capreses salad, had we had one more night we would've revisited this little gem. Patagonia - amazing sangria by the pitcher, Mediterranean food, amazing fresh fish specials. Bamboo Sushi - same owners as Patagonia and fabulous frozen mojitos! FT's - little hole-in-the-wall joint with fresh fish tacos and huge burritos...cold beer. La Palapa- fresh fish, lobster, salads, steaks right on the beach, like, literally in the sand! All of these places are cute, small, and you are outside enjoying the weather. We couldn't believe how great all the little restaurants were.
So overall, great resort, great staff, clean, BEST LOCATION. You really can't beat this little beach town and the friendly people we met everywhere from the staff at the resort to the owners of the shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: Ocean View, maybe closer to the main check-in would have the best wi-fi if you need that
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write this review, our target is to make your vacations unforgettable !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to the Tamarindo Diria for 3 nights. At first glance the hotel is in a great location and the grounds are very pretty. HOWEVER, the staff is awful!! We were not greeted with a nice drink when we checked in, not a big deal but it makes the experience that much more enjoyable. We booked a sunset ocean view room and could barely see the water, everything was all blocked by the enormous palm trees and vegetation that line the beach. The rooms are horribly small and the shower can barely fit a normal size person. The beds are also very small and extremely stiff. For 2 days we only had cold water and was just told sorry by the front desk staff. Our wi-fi did not work in our rooms and no one came up to fix it after being asked twice. We booked a surfing tour though the tour desk and the person was half hour late picking us up. We decided to cancel and what a nightmare!! They totally disregarding my girlfriend by helping other paying customers first. They filled out a letter to mail to our bank that was completely misspelled and the amounts were all wrong. After aruging with them for 2 days they eventually just gave me cash back because I was literally screaming at them. The bartenders are very rude and can not make mixed drinks, please do yourself a favor and just order a beer. Yes the beach is right there, but it's the little things at a resort that make a vacation enjoyable and not just a short walk to the beach. Go somewhere else like Captain Suizo or one of the closer beach hotels for a better time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, we take seriously your suggestions and strive every day to enhance our service at the Hotel.

Certainly our hotel has the most amazing gardens in the area, I am sorry in this case was not a good thing because of the view, asking for another room could have been the best solution.

The rooms thus bathrooms in our hotel have a regular size, unless you book a bigger one, or rather a suite.

Regarding to the surf lessons, the instructor was actually 20 minutes late. I agree they should tell you they need to work according to the tide for this particular tour, since it was the reason of the instructor’s delay. About your refund, it took them a little while to give you back the money because you paid with a credit card, and to make things faster for you they wanted to give you the refund in cash, to avoid the days of waiting with the bank process.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion. We strive every day to give the best service to our clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

There's only 1 hotel that really sits right on the long, flat beach-The Tamarindo Diria, but it is pricey $$$. Some airlines have packages that include the Diria for a good deal. We usually stay in the Sunset wing which is newer & has great sunset views. An enormous breakfast buffet with omelets made to ordered is included. Just walk out of the hotel & onto the beach. There's great shady areas to lounge by the beachside pool. Their pool across the street where the condos are located, is amazing & quiet. You can rent directly from the condo owners online @ vrbo.com or homeaway.com. It's less expensive than the hotel, you have all the hotel privileges & are extremely nice with modern kitchens & designer furnishings.

If you want good surfing & fishing, long, flat beach, & a nice little town where you can walk to everything ( grocery stores, liquor stores, shopping, clubs, etc, Tamarindo Beach is the place. It is only a 50 minute drive from Liberia airport with either hotel shuttles, inexpensive buses or about $90 plus tip for private car to Tamarindo.

Liberia, Costa Rica has a brand new airport. Certain days of the week, depending on the season, you can fly direct, nonstop to Liberia in 5 hours from New York or New Jersey Liberty airports. United Airlines is a good bet for the most nonstop flights. Take some snacks because no food is served. You have to purchase the food on the United plane unless you are in 1st class. If you have to get connecting flights, it may take about 9 hours - a big waste of vacation time. The six month dry season begins in December & the rainy season starts in May. Departure tax from the Liberia airport is about $46 per person. Pay in cash if possible. If you give them your credit card, the tax paid is considered a "cash loan" from your credit card company & you may have to pay a $10 cash advance fee plus interest from your credit card company.

If you want calm water & lots of water sports, Papagayo Bay on the Pacific side is about 30 minutes drive from Liberia airport or Tamarindo Beach.

Entertainment & food: The Best Western is where the surfers stay & has an outdoor nightclub & restaurant. Food is usually good & cheap in Costa Rica. Skip the pizza- it's mediocre at best & expensive. The beef is tough even if they claim it's grass fed from Nicaragua. Seafood & chicken are usually good choices. The seasonal vegetables & fruits are delicious.

TAKE LOTS OF MOSQUITO REPELLENT, especially if you go to the rain forest or by the rivers. You can google therainfall forecast & see exactly how much rain to expect.

Arenal Volcano, zip lining, rainforest, hot springs, 4-wheeling through the mountains, white water rafting, horseback riding, butterfly farms, & coffee plantations are all great things to do. Tours are less expensive if you haggle with the local tour guides rather than book in advance. However, they may only take cash where as the hotel tour companies will take credit cards. Most Tours are expensive - over $100 per person & involve a 1 1/2 to 2 hour van ride each way for activities in the mountains. If you book online, isango.com gives you a discount on all tours & uses very reliable tour companies. I use them all over the world when I travel & have been very pleased with their prices & service.

Don't bother exchanging dollars for Costa Rican Currency (Colones). They like USD dollars. The exchange rate when I was there in February 2013 was about 500 Colones to a dollar. Many restaurants & hotels take credit cards.

Renting a car is expensive & can be quite dangerous. The worst drivers in the world are in Costa Rica. There are a lot of accidents & gas is expensive ($8 a gallon in February 2013). A lot of the narrow, winding, roads are not paved when you get off the newer main roads. Many get washed out during the rainy season, and are poorly marked. Most roads have steep drop offs with no shoulders or guard rails. After doing the rental car experience a few times, we now usually hop on a tour van or bus because it's less nerve racking & cheaper. Just getting from point "A" to point "B" is always quite an experience in itself!

Have a great trip. You'll have an amazing time.

Room Tip: There's only 1 hotel that really sits right on the long, flat beach-The Tamarindo Diria, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tamarindo Diriá Beach & Golf Resort to spend your vacations! Your opinion and comments are very important for us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although the hotel is split in two, one side beach one side pool, it works. We have been staying in the condos located on this property and its really a very pretty property. My only complaint is the series of locked gates you need to go through, however it's not that bad unless they are broken or you forget your card key. The staff is friendly, the location is perfect, the totally dirt road next to the property is a Costa Rican mystery, how can you not have a paved road next to million dollar condos? I don't know ? Although we never ate at the hotel it looked ok, there are too many restaurants within walking distance and we had a full kitchen. My main complaint and this has nothing to do with the property, you are bombarded by vendors on the beach the moment you step out of the gate. What a drag, seriously all day long it's worse than Mexico, you end up being rude to them because after the first hour it's simply harassment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, your opinión is very important.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing