We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great sunset”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is very good, great location, right on the beach. but the room service is terrible, the maids don´t clean it, you have to ask every day. Except for Davi, the bell boy, he is a great guy, very attentive. The wi fi connection is awful. The breakfest is very good, and the pool is great! the pizza place at the hotel is very good also, decente prices! depending where your room is, you´ll get some noise from the street. The air conditioning system does not work very well. you can´t bring your surfboard to the room, that´s absurd!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delegas_Coxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback, it helps us to improve every day.

About your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, I am sorry to know about it after you left our Hotel, because we clean up the rooms every single day as part of our normal service, unless you put the “non disturb” sign on the door and in that case we also have a 24 hour front desk assistance to ask for cleaning when you like.

The problem with the internet service was that for reasons of security we were supplying a WPA password for our clients, which after some time we realized every Apple equipment had problems to connect to, reason why we decided to change it to WAP2 this month. But we also provide our guests a business room with a computer with internet for free.

For surf board and bikes, we have a storage for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you again for your time and review. We strive every day to give the best service to our clients.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    946
    365
    177
    127
See reviews for
694
994
79
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was the perfect start to our trip to Costa Rica. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the Tamarindo strip. We had a sunset ocean view room that was very clean and spacious with a perfect balcony looking over the beach and the ocean. The pools and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. This hotel could easily be an all inclusive resort, but I am glad that it wasn't as it allowed us the freedom to eat at a few of the great restaurants around. The buffet breakfast was a nice touch with lots of items to choose from. I highly recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a little bit of luxury and beautiful views.

Room Tip: I definitely suggest the sunset ocean view room! A gorgeous view of a beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We love to know you enjoyed your vacations, thank you for taking the time to write this review, for us your opinion is very important.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A fairy tale, that's how we would describe our wedding in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. We are extremely, extremely happy that we chose to get married at the Tamarindo Diria. The entire staff at the resort was amazing and their sense of professionalism was unsurpassable.

We had a variety of guests from different countries and with different tastes and the staff worked extremely hard to accommodate all of us. They made it very easy and convenient to book activities right from the hotel lobby and throughout our wedding week there was not one staff member that didn't check with us to make sure our guests were being properly treated. We have gotten some many wonderful comments from our guests since being back home, which is a great indicator of how great a time they had.

Our rehearsal dinner was a Mexican-theme private dinner at Matapalo Restaurant and it was simply amazing. The setup, decorations, food, drinks and service were outstanding and far exceeded our expectations. As for the wedding day, there are no enough words to describe how amazing it was. The staff did an unbelievable job of making sure all details for the ceremony, cocktail hour and receptions were perfect. And they were!

We'd like to give our special thanks to our wedding coordinator, Eunice, for such an incredible, incredible job! She was amazing not only during our time in Tamarindo, but also months in advance. Planning a destination wedding can have its ups and downs, but Eunice made it easy by constantly communicating with us via email, or Skype. Thank you Eunice!

If you are thinking about having a destination wedding or simply a fun getaway in Costa Rica, we highly recommend the Tamarindo Diria, trust us, you will not be disappointed. We are happy to connect if you need to contact us directly for a reference or for more details. Eunice and the hotel have our contact information.

Caitlin & Jose

Room Tip: All rooms are conveniently located in relation to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your unique experience in our Hotel in such an important date. It was a pleasure for us to be part of your love celebration.

One more time, congratulations!!!!!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I thik this hotel is under rated. I stayed there for 5 days and loved it! 'y roon and the hotel is super clean and the location is perfect (right in the middle of the action). I also had dinner 1 night and the food was very good and not expensive. Mauricio and Teylor were the best bartenders! 2 very nice guys... had fun talking with them at the bar! Hope to go back there soon, thanks guys! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien_Lauzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your time and nice comment,
Looking forward to see you back and visit us soon!!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Diria in 2006 and always had fond memories of the hotel. When we decided to return to Tamarindo, the only place I considered was the Diria. The rooms are fine - nothing splendid but the grounds and the location are what make it so special. Honestly, you could review this hotel solely on the ability to sit on the green lawn and watch the waves and give it 5 stars.

Great ample breakfast, central location and everything you need while in town . The Diria seems to keep expanding its empire by building more restaurants. Prices are somewhat steep for food but, again, just look at that view and you'll forget everything else.

Room Tip: Oceanview - absolutely get an oceanview room. Don't get a room that faces the street in the ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback, it helps us to improve every day.

About your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, I am sorry to know about it after you left our Hotel, because we clean up the rooms every single day as part of our normal service, unless you put the “non disturb” sign on the door and in that case we also have a 24 hour front desk assistance to ask for cleaning when ever you like.

The problem with the internet service was that for reasons of security we were supplying an WPA password for our clients, which after some time we realized every Apple equipment had problems to connect to, reason why we decided to change it to WAP2 this month. But we also provide our guests a business room with a computer with internet acces for free.

For surf board and bikes, we have a storage for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you again for your time and review. We strive every day to give the best service to our clients.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights after visiting La Fortuna. After four days of fun but lots of driving it was nice to park our rental and relax. The hotel is on the beach though our room was across the street. No big deal as there is a large pool with a swim up bar on this side. The town of Tamirindo is nice and the hotel is in the middle of the main drag so there are shops and restaurants within a short walk. There are plenty of lounge chairs along the beach and at the pools. The rooms were nice and a refrigerator was brought to our room within minutes of being requested. This is a big hotel that in some ways reminded me of the big mindless all inclusive resorts so popular in this part of the world. This is not a knock on the property, my preference is a smaller more personal property. Overall this is a good place to stay and all of our exexpectations were met.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at our Hotel.

Grettings from Costa Rica!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

First, I know the location of the hotel is the place to be in Tamarindo - but Tamarindo is a small, surf town. Close proximity to everything and directly on the beach, a definite recommendation if passing through.

This is review is based on the service I received from online Reservations department. They are one of the most friendliest staffs I have encountered and this is all via email! Particularly, LOVED my interaction with Margoth. She goes above and beyond anyone's call of duty and makes it a point to respond quickly with as much information as she can pull! When communicating with her you can tell that she's genuine, loves her job and really just puts you at ease. She's absolutely AMAZING - if this any reflection of the Tamarindo Diria...I cannot wait to stay here! Thanks again Margoth!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we strive every day to give the best service to our clients ... We hope to see you soon....

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,219 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing