We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

tropicana needs work. and it appears that they are engaged in making improvements. Priced at $59 per night incl breakfast and taxes it is a deal in pricey Tamarindo. The rooms are very plain and small w/ terribly uncomfortable beds. There is air conditioning and hot water however but over-all the place borders on depressing! There is wi fi but not very good wi fi which worked about 1/2 the time. The pool was awful. Only partially full w/ no landscaping it was about as inviting as a creek bed in death valley. So altho I give it a 3 rating its a weak 3 at best. Mid-range options in Tamagringo are scarce so 1 night here was tolerable tho barely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed at Tamarindo Diria the last week of May and had a great time. Went with 2 other friends to celebrate graduation (we're all 23) and would definitely go back. The breakfast buffet was excellent every morning, lots of different local foods/fruits/breads as well as basics like cereal and omelets. The location is awesome as it is right on the beach, great for going surfing or out for a walk/jog. I can't comment on booking activities through the hotel, we booked all our activities with the locals and got much better deals. Be prepared to negotiate, its not hard but you have to be persistent. If you go fishing, bring your catch back to the hotel and they will cook you the best fish you've every had. We caught 10-12 mahi mahi in only 3 hours and it fed us for 2 solid meals. Also be sure to hit up Banana surf and rent their ATVs, great way to see the jungle/countryside/beaches/other towns. Theres lots of restaurants and bars in Tamarindo that all have great food and cheap beer. One word of advice, don't do the Tenorio river rafting, theres only 4 good drops the rest you could tube down with a beer in your hand- not to mention the 3 hour drive to the river and back. Despite this Costa Rica is an awesome country and if you like to have a good time Tamarindo is the place for you. Also the locals are more than happy to get you whatever you want.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Texans713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went to Tamarindo with our 2 kids (5 & 8) for my sister in-laws wedding. We stayed at this hotel in the condos that are actually across the street from the beach. Other than the walk to the beach (about 5 min) the place was perfect. The property was quiet (we went over presidents day weekend), very clean, and the staff was nice. The condos are on par with other places we've stayed for $600/night in Hawaii and $400/night in Mexico. Not at the four seasons quality, but probably slightly above a Westin level. Lots of kids, but it was never over flowing with them. Everyday my kids found other kids to hang out with and made my job very easy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean views...if you are above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Exactly what we pictured it to be. Great staff. Awesome surfing, gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

amazing trip, its my 2nd time here and it only gets better. i took my son Francesco for his graduation gift and we had a blast. This hotel totally rocks, we booked all excursions thru hotel. Best fishing trip ever, and the hotel chef cooked our mahimahi. took surfing lessons, atv-ed. and boogie boarded right in front of hotel. the staff is world class, Starting with Diego front desk manager is super nice and a true gentleman, the bellman Randall as well. Anthony and Edny in the restaurant deserve honorable mention. The whole staff has the PURA VIDA attitude. i will return.

Room Tip: ocean view suites offer beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfpuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel has beautiful grounds it has the beach property and across the little street is there condos and pool view rooms. My wife and I stayed at one of the first floor beach front rooms. Perfect location, right next to the pool. The room itself had a perfect view to the ocean and steps away from the shore. The room was clean and everything was up to date (It wasnt like the crappy/scary BEst western Tamarindo Vista...). The staff at the front desk were very helpful, including FRANCISCO. Nice people, gave me directions to go every where. The other guys in the front were also great!

One negative is the service in the restaurant we ate at (The beach view restaurant). Very slow and kinda crappy. Diria needs to bump up training also, I believe they over work them. I saw some at night, then i would see them again in the mornings. They must be tired, which affects productivity of the staff.

All in All I still think its five stars because I had a great time and will return very soon!

Room Tip: If you are learning how to surf or want to rent a surf board, kayak, skim board, whatever you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alf079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights across the street and 2 nights beach front! Both were nice, but I'd definitely recommend the beach front! The hotel itself was beautiful, day or night, ...right on the beach w/ gorgeous sun sets! The pools and grounds around the hotel were beautifully landscaped w/ tropical color everywhere you could see! The breakfast buffet each morning was huge and plentiful. The front desk and outdoor bar service was great; the employees seems so genuinly friendly and happy to be there. The only negative was that the rooms were a bit small and the air conditioning was a little noisy. But, the location is perfect for walking on the beach or into town to meander around the restaurants, shops and beach bars! Seemed like the nicest place to stay in the Timerando area if you want beach front! The food? The only meal we ate there was breakfast as there are so many restaurants we wanted to try! Pizza place right next door is great for eating in inexpensively!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 2 in Playa Avellanas
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Langosta Beach
Barcelo Langosta Beach
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 6 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#