We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Hello all,
Just got back from 12 days in Costa Rica, 8 of those spent in the Diria. Based on reviews on the hotel we booked a condo up on the hill since there weren't any ocean front rooms. The condo was great other than the hike up the hill, which we decided was excercise we needed after eating and drinking to much. The staff at the Diria was fabulouis, very friendly and helpful. We were there for New Years Eve and the hotel put on quite a bash. We loved Tamarindo great laid back town. Don't go if waiting on things like food, checking out, towels, or your bill for dinner are something that bother you. Sense of time in CS is differenty than ours. We will definately go back again and have told our friends how much we enjoyed ourselves.
Oh, several people said that the pool across the street is always empty, that is not true. We had to walk by there every time we went to our room, there were always towels on almost all the chairs to save them and several people grouped together. We chose to sit out by the ocean, more going on there and not quite so hot, you do need to get up pretty early and mark your chair though expecially now that it is high season.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robynrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2008

We just spent 4 nights in this resort right after christmas (we have 2 kids below 10 yrs). The hotel is split into 2 - the main part is facing the beach and has a mediocre pool but beautiful grounds and view. The "newer" half is across the road, and has no beach view but a beautiful (and deserted) pool and swim up bar.

We stayed one night in the main part and 3 nights in the newer half because of availability. Both times our rooms were very nice and clean - no carpeting to make it smell musty or damp. The shower was weak and liked to fluctuate, but such is life... i would rather have a clean, crisp room than a great shower in a damp room. The newer room had a balcony overlooking the pool and it was nice.

The grounds and beach were very nice. Breakfast was included and was a pretty decent sized buffet (and like most buffets, does not vary much since you can always not eat the same things twice if you want). We had dinner once in the restaurant and I had no complaints - it was good.

We surfed a lot - apparently this is *the* beach for learning how to surf ($25 for 2 hrs). Rent surfboards for $3 per hour outside the hotel. The location is great- right in the village itself.

We had a great time in "Voodoo Lounge" in the evenings (dont let the name put you off) -we were the only family with little kids in this place but I have stopped worrying about it for some time now. Other dinner places which we went to and liked were Mama's Pizza and Nogui (nogui has very good seafood).

We did not have a safe in our newer room and they could not get one in time so we carried our valuables with us. It was a bit of an annoyance, but in the grand scheme of things, we could live with it. Loud party one night somewhere was intrusive, but well, it was the holiday week.

I would certainly recommend this place to others, and would stay here again. We did drive to Conchal beach based on all the Fodor reviews and the Visitor guide, but it was pretty overrated and I would stick to Diria beach instead.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank avikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My family (wife, myself and 2 teenage boys and one teenage friend of theirs) stayed from 12/21-30/2007 in 2 rooms. The rooms awre amply sized and clean although a bit musty. There were occasional insects/crabs in the rooms. My wife and I stayed on the ground floor with an ocean view which was very nice. Our kids loved the surfing, great location for that. Proximity to town was excellent. Great weather all the time - 85 degrees, cool breezes. Beautiful views from the hotel. Accessible to side trips. People were very friendly and most spoke both English and Spanish. It was a great value, monetarily. We really got to relax, explore and have fun.

Here is the "BUT":

At 8AM every morning the maids come on and talk to each other right outside your room and woke us up each morning, unless we were already awake which was about half the time. They also role their cleaning carts on the stone and cement path making a loud "bom-ba-bom-ba-bom" noise to boot. There were also the mainenance staff on their walkie talkies at high volume also waking us up as early as 7AM one morning.

The rooms were somewhat well-lit, when the power was on - there were frequent power outages. In one instance, it went out when we were about to shower before dinner and we could not shower as there was no water at all. That lasted abou 90 minutes, and came back on just in time so we could make our reservation. Then there was the blinking alarm clock every day we returned to our room, which had to be repeatedly reset.

When we had water, so did everyone else and the plumbing was very noisy. One night, we were awoken to someone taking a shower at 4 in the morning for what seemed like an hour. It was so loud, we could not fall back asleep until 5:30AM only to be awoken by the maintenance men at 7AM with their radios, and then the maids gabbing and rolling their carts.

The cleaning service was very good except that a shower mat was provided every OTHER day. On the days we didn't receive one, we had to use a hand towel. The bath towels were very worn and rough - like sandpaper.

The village is very dirty due to the construction going on (condos being built) and all of the dirt roads - every road except the main road throught town was dirt. The air was smoky from all the dust.

The restaurant played "elevator music" throughout the day. Thank God I brought my noise cancellation headphones and ipod which provided sime relief form this terrible music. We asked to have it turned off and they said they would consider it, but nothing changed.

Then there were the panhandlers selling pottery on the beach - they were relentless. The beach was public, so there was nothing the hotel could do.

The tours were great, but the arrangements were mixed up a few times; we were not sure we got truthful answers as to why. One morning wer were scheduled to go to a One Day Adventure Tour (which was a lot of fun); first we were told we'd be picked up at 7AM; then, the night before, it was revised to 6:30AM; we waited an hour and were picked up at 7:30AM. This was because another family joining us was rescheduled at the last minute to join us (even though they had reserved for the following day); we think this at the whim of the tour operator to fill the tour van.

The lounge chairs at the hotel on teh grounds were uncomfortable: we had to use the cushions from the chairs in order to make them bearable. The lounge chairs on the beach (independent of the hotel) were hard plastic. We never used them because we realized how uncomfortable they would be. There wer plenty of lounge chairs on the grounds which was nice as we didn't have to save them early in the morning in order to get them.

We also did not swim in the ocean - the water appeared dirty - mainly the sand being stirred up from the ocean. So we stayed in the pools which were great. There was no white sand at the beach and despite the lifeguard chairs being present, there were no lifeguards, at the busiest time of year!

DON'T bring traveler's checks they were a huge pain to cash. Best to use a credit card, debit card or cash. They were overly picky about the signatures matching exactly.

The beds were not terrtibly comfortable - a bit too firm. But they were sleepable.

The restaurant at the hotel was limited and expensive, but the 2 meals we had there were good. Breakfast was included each day; it was good, but the selections did not vary much.

There was no voicemail system on the phones, so it was difficult to remain in touch with our kids.

The drinks at the bar werer very well priced and good tasting.

There was no concierge available until 12/26, and until then, we had to fens for ourselves with limited knowledge of local restaurants and limited availability of menus. Once the concierge arrived after Christmas Day, our reservations were well handled and we had some great dinners around town. We would highly recommend Dragonfly, Carolina's, La Vita Bella, and Nogui's.

We initially had difficulties making local phone calls in our room; the operator kept telling to try again. After 5 tries, she told us she would "open up our line", and then it worked OK after that.

There was no on-site retail store in the hotel; a missed opportunity on their part, and it would have been more convenient for us to have one. The in-room mini-bar included a lot of incidentals as well as snacks and beverages, adult and otherwise.

There seems to be no legal drinking age enforced in Costa Rica.

There were no in-room movies - another missed opportunity as the available English speaking TV channels were just "OK". After dinner there was nothing much to do in the evneings.

There was wireless Internet in the restaurant, lobby, and within 100 yds on the gounds, but NOT IN THE ROOMS.

The Tour desk was understaffed, but the woman who was there was excellent; lots of changes in tour reservations at last minute leading to confusion and time wasted, but we managed the Mangrove tour, the Adventure tour, renting ATVs, Kite surfing and the turtle tour which were all excellent.

One evening, there was a very loud party until 2AM south of the proprty adjacent to the hotel on a Wednesday night; it kept us awake.

On balance, we still had a great time, but we would not go back there to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank hjfcfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We expected to be picked up at the airport, which is one hour away. I confirmed the arrangements twice, but nobody showed up. Having had that experience before, we were not surprised; not even angry. Fortunately there were plenty of taxis and they are regulated, so it was safe and fast and cheaper anyway.
We had a great room, on the renovated side facing the ocean. We found out about the other rooms the hard way; the air conditioning stopped working and for the last two nights we stayed across the street. "Street" being an euphemism for the obstacle course that divides some structures from others.
We were shown a room on the ocean side but it was small and not even close to what we had, so we chose the newer and much nicer room on the other side. They praise that wing for its large swimming pool, which was large but a bit on the grimy side. Word had it that the ocean was contaminated as well, but nobody seemed to take heed.
The town had to cut electricity twice, not the hotel's fault, but they were able to continue services to a certain extent anyway. Actually the service in general was very good; the people were very pleasant at the hotel as well as in the stores, the food was exceptional. The hotel offers healthy and tasty meals.
The hotel has a great location on a beautiful beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops, and the town is safe to walk.
Tours booked through the hotel are not that great. We took one to the Palo Verde park that was not too exciting.
Our group rented a boat that took us to another beach for snorkeling; the beach was private so we could not get there and the water was murky. Getting to the boat was an adventure in itself. So make sure you know what you are getting into.
In general the first room we had was terrific, the hotel was very nice, the service was very good, just don't expect the Ritz and don't bother bringing stiletto heals.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MarylandDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

This place was a gem in the middle of a beach town. Our room wasn't bad, again not a five star resort, but it was a nice place. Definitly not a caribean beach, brown water, brown sand. But I took surfing lessons for $25 with a free tee shirt and had a great time. The hotels food was OK, expensive for what you get. We stayed in a beach front room and the sunset was amazing. From walking around the town< I would say it is probobly the best hotel in the area, lots of bars and food around.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adam_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I stayed at the Diria on a recommendation and was sourly disappointed. If the stay had gone as planned then it would have been only a mediocre stay. The room was modest with firm bedding and uncontrollable temperature. The freezing shower matched the freezing pool. The pool was overlooked by a construction site and the “cat calls” that come with a construction site were offensive. The easy beach access gave way to a polluted ocean. The sewage of the street flowed directly into ocean in front of the hotel. The ocean could not be swum in without risk of infection. The hotel did not inform guests of the possible risk but actually encouraged going into the polluted waters. The breakfast was good but not all it was hyped to be. The security was a façade and the part where the trip went wrong. The door in our room did not lock properly. We returned from dinner to a room with money and electronics missing. Upon informing the staff of this it took about 48 hours to get a response. The staff was well trained in American customer service, friendly and accommodating, all except the General Manager. He did not believe anything had been taken and accused us, the guests and friends of stealing from one another. Of course this was all said through a translator since he did not speak English. This a property promoting its staff speaks English. The most the General Manager could offer was a 5% discount after over $1000 had been taken. I have never been disrespected like the General Manager at the Diria disrespected me. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank COsma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

This was an awesome stay. This hotel was exactly the place I was looking for in early December - a hotel on the beach with nice rooms, good location, and great food. The hotel is located in the middle of Tamarindo, but the back overlooks the ocean. The grounds are very well maintained, including the swimming pools. There were many lounge chairs, however none were on the beach itself. The hotel is a busy place but was still quiet and pleasant. The restaurant and bar were excellent, however the prices are more in line with U.S. prices The hotel is within walking distance of several other restaurants. With its central location, the hotel is a good launching point for trips to other beaches. We stayed in a oceanview room (#125). The bed took up the entire room, but most of our time was spent outside the room. Beach access was very easy. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. The breakfast was outstanding and a daily highlight!

Of note, the water pressure in the shower was fine on the first floor but temperature fluctuated a lot! I would like to see some lounge chairs on the beach itself. I have no other complaint!

I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again on subsequent trips to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmille80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $166 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing