We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's a nice place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

This place was a gem in the middle of a beach town. Our room wasn't bad, again not a five star resort, but it was a nice place. Definitly not a caribean beach, brown water, brown sand. But I took surfing lessons for $25 with a free tee shirt and had a great time. The hotels food was OK, expensive for what you get. We stayed in a beach front room and the sunset was amazing. From walking around the town< I would say it is probobly the best hotel in the area, lots of bars and food around.

  • Liked — It was a great setting.
  • Disliked — I'm used to clear waters and white beaches.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adam_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    928
    359
    175
    126
See reviews for
674
978
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2007

I stayed at the Diria on a recommendation and was sourly disappointed. If the stay had gone as planned then it would have been only a mediocre stay. The room was modest with firm bedding and uncontrollable temperature. The freezing shower matched the freezing pool. The pool was overlooked by a construction site and the “cat calls” that come with a construction site were offensive. The easy beach access gave way to a polluted ocean. The sewage of the street flowed directly into ocean in front of the hotel. The ocean could not be swum in without risk of infection. The hotel did not inform guests of the possible risk but actually encouraged going into the polluted waters. The breakfast was good but not all it was hyped to be. The security was a façade and the part where the trip went wrong. The door in our room did not lock properly. We returned from dinner to a room with money and electronics missing. Upon informing the staff of this it took about 48 hours to get a response. The staff was well trained in American customer service, friendly and accommodating, all except the General Manager. He did not believe anything had been taken and accused us, the guests and friends of stealing from one another. Of course this was all said through a translator since he did not speak English. This a property promoting its staff speaks English. The most the General Manager could offer was a 5% discount after over $1000 had been taken. I have never been disrespected like the General Manager at the Diria disrespected me. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff except GM
  • Disliked — Being stolen from
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank COsma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

This was an awesome stay. This hotel was exactly the place I was looking for in early December - a hotel on the beach with nice rooms, good location, and great food. The hotel is located in the middle of Tamarindo, but the back overlooks the ocean. The grounds are very well maintained, including the swimming pools. There were many lounge chairs, however none were on the beach itself. The hotel is a busy place but was still quiet and pleasant. The restaurant and bar were excellent, however the prices are more in line with U.S. prices The hotel is within walking distance of several other restaurants. With its central location, the hotel is a good launching point for trips to other beaches. We stayed in a oceanview room (#125). The bed took up the entire room, but most of our time was spent outside the room. Beach access was very easy. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. The breakfast was outstanding and a daily highlight!

Of note, the water pressure in the shower was fine on the first floor but temperature fluctuated a lot! I would like to see some lounge chairs on the beach itself. I have no other complaint!

I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again on subsequent trips to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmille80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Despite mixed reviews on this website my friend and I booked this hotel on the recommendation of a colleague. The hotel itself is located right in the middle of Tamarindo beach, in probably the best location possible. The whole area is easily within walking distance, and the room we stayed in was gorgeous and had an ocean view over the very nicely kept grounds. I would recommend staying in the ocean view rooms - for only a few more dollars a night the view and the location was worth it. Our room was very quiet and was on the third floor (the highest) and in my opinion we probably got one of the best rooms in the place.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, although we had some language issues including when we requested help to attend church, as we were told there was none (there is a church in the next town for those interested, you just need to take a taxi there). Breakfast was included, and it was a huge, full breakfast with just about anything you can think of so that was great. The restaurant was also decent but there is better food for cheaper prices if you venture away from the hotel.

The pool and the grounds are very nice. The staff takes great care in making sure the place looks gorgeous. The room was quite comfortable as well and we loved the balcony with the ocean view. The other thing is that security is very tight at night and they check everyone to make sure you are staying at the hotel. We had some friends staying at a different hotel and they were not allowed to come with us onto the Diria grounds after 10 pm. So if you're single and looking to make new friends while visiting Tamarindo, this place is probably not for you. Most of the people staying here were families or couples, so it's probably not the best home base for a party crew.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was so convenient and also quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ewcarter36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

After doing a week of adventure travel around Costa Rica we ended our vacation with 6 nights at the Tamarindo Diria for some relaxation and playing in the sand and surf. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient and the location of the resort was in the heart of Tamarindo
and close walking distance to all the local shops and restaurants. This little beach town offers some wonderful dining experiences; if you do a little research in advance you will not be disappointed!
The beach at the Tamarindo Diria is very convenient and lovely and had
an easy surf for beginners or just playing in the ocean. My only complaint might be that the beach-side iguanas were a little too friendly but our daughters are not spooked so easily as myself and they enjoyed feeding them pieces of fruit they saved from brunch! The
large swimming pool is just a short walk across the road from which I have heard complaints in previous reviews (hhmmm, how lazy can you get when it is too far to cross the street?). Our girls had a blast in this swimming pool and it was seldom very busy. My husband and I enjoyed the swim-up bar and our daughters enjoyed swimming at night when the pool was lit up beautifully. We left our room cleaner a tip daily and we always returned to our room in imaculate condition. It was a wonderful place to wrap up our wonderful vacation!

  • Liked — Location, and convenience to the beach, shops and great restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Several friends and I stayed at the Diria in late August and had a great time. We stayed in a room across the small street and had no problem. The walk is only about 2 minutes from our room to the sand. We enjoyed the pool across the street as well. It was mostly empty throughout our whole stay.

The location of the hotel is excellent. You are in the middle of several shops and restaurants. I recommend Witch's Rock (limbo!) and Hotel Pasatiempo (open mike night) for nights out! We had a great time at both places and both places are about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

The breakfast (included in the price of your stay) is really great. It is a buffet style and had something for everyone.

Bring an umbrella! In August, it rained just about every day and mostly around 4 pm. Sometimes it lasted an hour and sometimes it lasted 4 hours.

I recommend renting scooters from Tamarindo Adventures. We rented 6 scooters for about 6 hours and paid around $30 each. We spent all day driving and visiting different beaches and shops. It was amazing!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check-in, staff not very helpful
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ME1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

The Diria is a nice place to stay. The groups and pool areas are nicer than most in Tamarindo. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of town. We walked the whole thing with no problem.

The staff isn't as helpful as some smaller family owned places but we didn't have much problem. The breakfast is fantastic and our rooms were clean and well maintained.

We rented scooters while we were there and this was great. I highly recommend doing this. We rode 6 hours up and down the coast! Great views and really fun. MUST catch the sunset - you won't believe it!

The nightlife is good. We were a group of 25 year olds and we had a blast. The beers are cheap and music is always playing somewhere. Overall, great time ... lots of sun!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank caseant01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing